Sometimes you just need cupcakes

I had a week that made me bring home these as a good way to finish…

1403

Aren’t those amazing?  Cupcakes from Crumbs (brought home at great peril through the crowds of tourists, the overcrowded train, and the start and stop traffic during my drive home).    Yes, I know that I’m part of Spring into Summer (and I’ve been doing pretty well) but this week just called for cupcakes.  I can’t decide between the two in the middle – Hostess or Devil Dog?

I found out on Tuesday that I’ll be having surgery on May 7; its same day surgery, and I’ll be off work until May 18.  I’m actually glad that this is finally scheduled, and that it will be over.  I’m tired of doctors and tests.    And I’m hopeful that it will resolve all the issues I’ve been having.  And I’m sort of happy to have some enforced knitting time.  🙂

I found out yesterday that I made it through the reorg, and that my job is ok (as much as any job is ok).  I was really relieved to get this over with – this has been coming for a year.   I’m really busy at work, and it sounds like I’ll be busier – which is always a good thing.   Not so good when I know I’m going to be out – and when there are less people there to cover for me. 

I’ve been working slowly but steadily on the Aeolian shawl – except for Tuesday.  Tuesday I forgot what row I was on, and knit, tinked, knit, tinked, knit, tinked…until I realized I was on the wrong row.  After that, things got better and I’ve finished the third chart.  I am really enjoying this one – and I hope that I can finish it in time to send to my Mother for Mother’s Day.

I also started some new commute knitting…

1406

This is my April/May sock of the month – Socks That Rock and Monkeys.  Perfect.   I’m finishing up the first sock – I can’t believe how fast Monkeys knit up.  And as always – loving the STR.

This weekend is supposed to be beautiful in the Northeast US; temps in the 80’s and sun!  I’m so tired of cold and rainy weather, and I’m looking forward to getting out and enjoying the warm temps.     Not sure what I’m doing completely, but I have knitting group tomorrow, and then who knows? 

OK, time for dinner and a cupcake…have a great weekend!

27 Responses to Sometimes you just need cupcakes

  1. I hope your surgery goes well! Those cupcakes look fantastic – the Devil Dog in particular. Your monkeys look so colourful and fun!

  2. Rhonda says:

    I’m sure the surgery will be fine. But what a great excuse for cupcakes. The one in the top left corner is for me. I love the monekey pattern, they do knit up quite fast.
    My cheer up today was to stop a a lovely little yarn shop way up north and and I walked out with some wonderful Fleece Artist. Less calories!!!;)

  3. weezalana says:

    Holy crap, those are some serious cupcakes! And I’m very impressed they made it through a train ride! Me, I’d have dropped/smushed/sat on them at some point.

    Monkeys and STR – now that’s a magic combination! What colorway is that?

  4. elspeth says:

    L.A. and NY? Not fair! Those cupcakes look amazing!

  5. Your cupcakes are haunting my dreams…

    Monkeys look awesome! And good luck with your surgery. Lots of knitting will speed your recovery, you know.

  6. Denise says:

    So much stuff going on! I’d recommend no complicated lace during the first days after your recovery from surgery: a responsible doctor should advise you that your ability to count stitches may be impaired by anesthesia.

  7. Oiyi says:

    I hope your surgery goes well. Those cupcakes look divine.

  8. kim says:

    Well, it sounds as though you can put some worry to rest in a couple of different areas. It’s sad, but everytime I hear that someone is going to be out of work for surgery, I’m just the tiniest bit jealous. I would be thinking about the knitting time too! I wish you the best. Those monkey’s look amazing. That is by far one of my favorite patterns. Have a great weekend!

  9. Chris says:

    Hostess. I hope you had the Hostess one. Glad the week is over for you and your ok. Have a great weekend!!!

  10. Rachel says:

    I hope the surgery will go well and forced knitting time is always welcome!

    It is great you survived the reorganization – I always hated those when I was in the corporate world.

  11. shea says:

    Those cupcakes look truly evil. I don’t think I could stop at just one.

    Glad to hear you got your surgery scheduled and that you survived the reorg!

  12. hakucho says:

    Those cupcakes ARE really amazing looking. Hope they tasted as good as they look. Makes me want to go and bake some cupcakes although mine would never look that good. Not sure if I want to put the oven on as it’s getting pretty hot outside.

    Your monkeys look great. I’m going to make a pair of socks for my son’s girlfriend’s birthday and have been thinking about what pattern to use this time. Hmm maybe I should try the monkey pattern again?

    I’m sure after you have your surgery, once healed, you’ll feel much better 🙂 Have a great rest of your weekend….happy knitting 🙂

  13. Pixie says:

    I agree about Monkeys being such a quick knit! I was so suprised when they just fell off the needles in all their glory!

  14. katie m. says:

    YUM! I hope the cupcakes were the perfect finish to a busy-sounding week. The Monkeys look great!

  15. Robin says:

    MAN-O-MAN! Those cupcakes look fantastic! Will be thinking of you on the 7th — hope everything goes well and then we can have some more cupcakes!

  16. Valerie says:

    You’re giving me serious yarn (and cupcake) envy here. You always knit with the nicest yarns… I like reading just to see what you’ll knit with next.

  17. Steven says:

    Mmmm….as the Cookie Monster says, “Cuppycakes!” Those look yummy. As does that yarn in the last picture — kind of like sherbet. I think browsing your website is one of the activities that should be added to the list of things NOT to do when you’re hungry (like grocery shopping)!

  18. Kim says:

    I know those cupcakes! I try and stay away from Crumbs. Too many cupcakes make for a large flabby muffin top. But yum yum.
    Speedy healing for your surgery. Hope you get lots of bonus knitting time whiel you are recovering.
    Yeah! Monkeys!

  19. tiennie says:

    Cupcakes are one of my favorite desserts! Yum! I’m glad your job is safe and that your surgery is scheduled. Best wishes!

  20. Ren says:

    i hope all those cupcakes were as fabulous as they look! i’m glad that your job is safe… it must have been stressful waiting to see. also, the STR is really pretty!

  21. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I would have a hard time choosing, so therefore would have to eat them all.

    So much for Spring into Summer!

  22. Rebekah says:

    Oh those cupcakes look scrumptious!

  23. Lynne says:

    Oh, thanks, Jeanne! Now I need cupcakes! But, you know what? Surgery is never something to look forward to, but I always looked forward to the recovery time after!

  24. Anna says:

    Good luck with your surgery Jeanne. Man, those cupcakes look like no cakes I’ve ever seen before! Now I’m hungry…

  25. rhoda says:

    wow. i could stare at this picture of cupcakes for days and feel the lbs coming on. lol. okay, just went to their website and then realized that there are some shops nearby me!!!!!!!!!! gosh, not only do you bait me with yarn but cupcakes too?? 😉 the monkeys look great-love the colorway. will be thinking of you on the 7th! oh and glad to hear your job is safe too.

  26. Opal says:

    oh those cupcakes look so divine yet so evil.

    i love how your monkeys are knitting up!

  27. Wanda says:

    Those monkeys are gorgeous! Socks that Rock and Monkeys are a match made in heaven.

    Cupcakes=yum! And at least with Spring into Summer, you are being more active than just eating all of the cupcakes, period.

    Good luck with the surgery and hope that you recovered without problems.

Leave a Reply

