A Chair

I haven’t been spinning lately – in fact its been months – because I just couldn’t.  I was using a little chair from a small desk set that my sister loaned Cieara.  My sister had the desk since I was a little girl, and it was so nice of her to give it to Cieara.  I borrowed the chair a while ago to use for spinning, and it was just the perfect size.  But in the last redecoration of her room, Cieara decided that the desk didn’t fit, so we gave it and the little chair back to my sister.  And that was months ago – and I haven’t been able to spin because none of our chairs were right – and I just couldn’t find the right chair when I looked at stores.   Everything was too big, too tall, or had wheels.  And I just didn’t like how they looked. 

There is an antiques store across from the gym, and I look at it all the time while I’m working out and wonder if they have something that would work.  So this weekend, Larry and I stopped in on the way to the chocolate store for chocolate bunnies, and they had the perfect chair.

  1358 1359

I don’t know what the bottom is made of – it almost seems like paper.  And the finish is sort of blistered.  And I really love it.  It is the perfect size for spinning, and I love how it looks.

1360

Nipper apparently agrees that it is a perfect chair…

1375

I really am glad that I found it…and I did a little spinning this weekend…

1361

It really felt so good to spin again – I have to admit though – it did take a few minutes to get back into it.   But I finally got it going, and it was so nice to be back at the wheel.  I really need to get through some of my roving stash.  Maryland Sheep and Wool is coming up, and although I’m not 100% I’m going, I didn’t go last year, and I don’t know if I want to miss it two years in a row.  And if I go to Maryland, I know I’ll be buying more roving  – so I really need to get going!

This weekend wasn’t all about spinning – I also started the Aeolian shawl yesterday – and I’m loving it.

1377

It took me a couple of rows to figure out how to do the beads (and I probably lost at least 25 somewhere in my chair/family room on those two rows), but I finally got it and I’m clipping along.  I’m making the shoulderette, not the shawl, and I’ve finished the second chart.  I was a little worried about gauge – I am using a US 4 for this, and wondered if a US 3 might be better -but I don’t have a Knit Picks Harmony in that size, and I don’t think I could do lace, beads and metal needles.  But the more I do of it, the more I think the 4 will be fine.  I really do like the pattern so far, and I love working on it.  I feel like I finally found my knitting exitement again – its been a while since I’ve been this happy with a project. 

I had a really nice long weekend, and tomorrow I’m back to work.  But the weekend was so nice, and I’m all relaxed   – we had such a good time this weekend with the kids, and had lots of good food, a little golf, and a nap or two. 

OK, off to spin (if Nipper will let me have the chair back!).  Have a great week!

21 Responses to A Chair

  1. Rebekah says:

    Maybe that is what I need, a chair to get my spinning interest back. I left it somewhere, and haven’t been able to find it yet.

    About your previous post, I find myself in similar circumstances. I do okay with net decreasing my stash for a while, in fact I went nearly 11 months without buying any yearn, then I go and buy enough yarn for a bedspread, blanket, etc. I may never conquier the decreasing of the stash.

  2. Robby says:

    Goldilocks, I’m so glad you found the ‘just right’ chair so we can see more of your spinning. I hope your kitty is a ‘chair warmer’ not a ‘chair hog’ type. Enjoy!

  3. tiennie says:

    That is a great chair! I’m glad you’re spinning again. 🙂

  4. weezalana says:

    Very cool chair! Aren’t antique stores the best? I’m going to guess the seat is woven from reeds.

  5. Valerie says:

    If that was my chair, the cat wouldn’t be sleeping on it, he’d be ripping it apart. I can’t have anything wicker or wicker-like. Tux immediately thinks it’s a scratching post for him, and no amount of scolding or discipline will change his mind. Can’t wait to see the shawl finished

  6. Oiyi says:

    That is so great that you found the perfect chair. I can’t wait to see your spinning.

  7. I like the looks of your chair! And your cat likes the feel of it, apparently.

    The shawl is pretty! I want to knit something with beads, soon. Beads have caught my magpie eye…

  8. Fantastic find! As a non spinner I’ve always wondered how people spin sitting on a regular chair, I guess you don’t. The shawl is going to be beautiful.

  9. Steven says:

    Nice chair — and kitty approved. As to what it’s made of, it looks kind of like raffia to me. Shawl is coming along well, too.

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- The seat is probably “rush” or reeds- it is a terrific find.

    I hope to go to Maryland or Rhinebeck some day. I’ve heard the food is terrific (sorry, one track mind)

  11. Kim says:

    So happy you found a perfect chair and are able to spin again. I’m finding the Aeolian moves quite quickly. You will be finished before you know it!

  12. hakucho says:

    So happy you found the perfect chair…happy spinning 🙂

  13. Cookie says:

    What a cute little chair. I’m so glad you were able to find something that works for you. Love the spinning, btw, and the lace!

  14. Kim says:

    Great chair! I love antique and vintage stuff. And the spinning is lovely. If you go to MDSW, let me know. I’m going so maybe we could meet up.
    I haven’t spun in ages but the only excuse is I’m lazy & have no spinning mojo. In fact, I’m thinking of selling my wheel (maybe)

  15. Opal says:

    i’m so excited for you! you got a chair! woohoo!

  16. lorent says:

    Chair height is definitely an issue for me with spinning, because most of the chairs I can use leave me with a sore back. I need to find something better.

    MD Sheep and Wool! I’m pretty sure I’ll be there, too, trying to stay frugal and probably failing badly.

  17. kim says:

    Spinning too? Oh, wow! That chair is so great; it’s no wonder the kitty loves it too.

  18. Kathy says:

    oooh pretty shawl! That one is on my to do list too – can’t wait to see your progress 🙂

  19. Christianne says:

    Wonderful chair – that’s definitely a Rush seat – originally rush was made from cattail leaves but now I think it’s heavy brown paper – very similar in appearance – and comfy! It’s tough to find the right chair – mine got “misplace” and I’ve yet to find another. Wonderful shawl – love the beads!

  20. vanessa says:

    great chair find!
    the enchanted knoll laceweight from your last post is gorgeous!

  21. rhoda says:

    pretty chair!

Leave a Reply

