Contradictory

Its that time of year here ….the days are getting warmer, I’m wearing a light raincoat to work, and thoughts are turning to knitting summer sweaters and shawls, and bailing on more winter focused projects (which looks pretty much the same as it did in that picture).    It is also that time of year when people think about shorts, tanks and bathing suits.  And diets.  So when I saw this over on Kim’s blog, I had to join.

springintosummer

This just seemed like a good idea – 12 weeks, and I can do whatever I want to try to get a little healther, a little lighter.  I can do that.  Just not tonight – homemade pizza.  But I’m going to the gym tomorrow, so I’ll just make it up then.   It is always nice to have some company on the path to being healthy, and I’m looking forward to doing this.   I’m trying to eat healther, and go to the gym more often – and get ouside and move.   Maybe that’s yarn shopping, maybe golfing – but its not just sitting around eating M&M’s.

But before I go completely heatlhy, and not to be contrary, I thought I’d share a recipe with you.  We made it last weekend, and it was amazing.  Completely unhealthy, and so so good.  Cieara had a piece and promptly told me it was her favorite dessert  – ever!  No pictures (we really ate it that fast!)..but how about a link – English Sticky Toffee Pudding.  Its not really a pudding (as Americans know it), – it is cake – with toffee sauce.  And really amazing – and pretty easy to make.  Just not on any diet that I know of since it has so much butter.  I really recommend it – and then I recommend you feel sort of guilty and go to the gym (just like I did!).  And now I’m trying to resist making it again. 

1324

I took a break this week from my lace scarf  (I can’t believe how long it is taking to make this – damn!  I’m so bored with it!).  This is a Waffle Knit dishcloth – and it was a nice, fast knit.  And in very spring-like colors.   And it satisfied my need (for now) to start something new – so back to the knitting basket projects for now.  I’ve been distracted from knitting by Facebook, and I need to stop logging into it and get some projects done…especially the lace scarf.

Its going to be a rainy weekend here – and I don’t have many plans but Larry and I are going out to dinner tomorrow night.  Today is the anniversary of the day we met – 14 years ago.  I forgot, he remembered (oops!).   Seems like so long ago – and like just yesterday. 

OK, pizza is ready – have a great weekend!

17 Responses to Contradictory

  1. Stacy says:

    Good for you for joining in… I need to start doing some training myself. I think I’m going to walk that marathon with my friend in the fall.

    Isn’t facebook addicting?

  2. I’m impressed with Larry’s memory – there is no way I could pin point the day I met my boyfriend. Love the dishcloth, the colour is perfect for spring.

  3. weezalana says:

    Butter makes everything better!

    I feel your lace scarf pain – I’m on the sleeves of my Tatami Kimono and wanna poke my eyes out. I can’t let myself cast on anything new, though. The only way I’m gonna get through it is to make it my only wip!

  4. Oiyi says:

    I have been a very bad eater lately and definitely have packed on some pounds. But I love fresh baked bread with butter!

  5. brokeknits says:

    Wow, that dessert sounds very yummy. I’m not even going to click on the link, though … too buttery and dangerous. Good luck with the lace scarf.

  6. Stephanie says:

    It’s funny, I had no appreciation of the change of seasons until I moved places that actually had seasons. Now I completely agree with you: I’m totally ready to forget about the winter knitting projects and figure out some spring and summer ones. Which doesn’t work all that well, since in spring and summer I like to start wearing as little as possible. No knits. Hmm.

    And yes, I too have been thinking about taking up some fitness like thing. With the weather warming up, I kind of want to take up running or biking, just to enjoy the outdoors. So beautiful outside.

  7. tiennie says:

    Pretty stitch pattern!

    Good for you for doing Spring into Summer. I would be more motivated if it weren’t still freezing/raining/snowing here. 🙂

  8. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Sticky Toffee Pudding is to die for. But it doesn’t make you less fluffy!

  9. Valerie says:

    Good luck, I’m going to try to get in better shape.. but not until tomorrow 🙂

  10. Opal says:

    what a great way to get over startitis! a dishcloth. it’s quick and dirty and you can get back to what you really need to finish in a flash. 🙂

  11. Elysbeth says:

    Mmnn, That’s a great recipe. Thanks for it.

  12. Steven says:

    Totally understand about the anniversary seeming long ago and recent at the same time. I’ve decided to read that as a good omen for the future. I love the texturedness of that dishcloth picture. And good for you for getting out and moving. We have very mild winters, but I still revert to a slug-like state from mid-November until February. Here’s to good health and long lives!

  13. elizabeth says:

    Mmmm…homemade pizza! I’m not even LOOKING at that recipe!

  14. vickiknit says:

    Like the stitch pattern and the color is perfect!

  15. hakucho says:

    Love your waffle dishcloth. Beautiful color 🙂 This pattern makes a very nice towel, too.

    The toffee pudding/cake sounds awesome…I haven’t baked anything in awhile…you are making my mouth water….

  16. rhoda says:

    oh gosh! I forgot to comment on your previous post about how you’re going to do your sock of the month club every other month. that sounds a bit easier to keep up with! okay, now for this english toffee pudding. i’ve bookmarked it and hope to try it out soon. 🙂 the waffle stitch dishcloth is glorious. 🙂 you always give great dishcloth. 😉

  17. Jennygirl says:

    It is tough to be healthy in the winter, between the cold and the darkness…ugh! If you at least get your body moving doing something you’ll feel better.
    The dishcloth is cute!

Leave a Reply

