Saturday

I don’t have any knitting today – I’m just about done with one of the Retro Rib socks, but I don’t think you want to see yet another picture of that…so I thought I’d tell you what I’ve been up to non-knitting wise.

Andrew came home yesterday for spring break – and today it was finally nice enough to golf, so we went today with Dan and Andrew.  Just for a quick game, but it was so nice to spend time with them and be outside for a change.

1314

I did pretty well considering that we haven’t golfed in months – and in fact, I even beat Larry.  Total fluke, and I don’t necessarily count things the same way he does, but still..!

Andrew brought us home some beer from Franklins

1307

We ate there the last time we visited him, and I loved the Twisted Turtle beer so I asked him to pick me up some.  (It is a whole new relationship when you ask your kids to buy you beer!).     And tonight Larry made the perfect dinner to go with it.

1309

Twisted Turtle and home-made calzones.  Perfect way to end a very nice day!

I’ve decided that I’m only going to do my sock club every other month – I don’t seem to be knitting as much as I used to, or I’m knitting slower…but things are taking me longer (I think its sleeping on the train, blogging, Ravelry and Facebook…) and I want to work on other things and not just the socks.    I have so many projects I want to work on – did you see the new Knitty?  Or how about this shawl?   I really need to either knit more, or knit faster!

It looks like I’m going to have a little extra knitting time soon – I found out that I need to have surgery  – I dont think its major, but I go this Friday for a MRI to find out the whole scope of it.    At a minimum, I think I’ll be off work for a week or two, so I’m hoping to get some projects done.    See?  knitting is the silver lining in any situation! 

Well, hopefully I’ll have some finished socks to show you next time – or maybe a new project if I just can’t resist…but have a great week!

22 Responses to Saturday

  1. Mar says:

    YAY…finally went golfing…and Dan looks very professional the way he is standing.

  2. Denise says:

    Ah golf! I am hoping to get out to hit some balls tomorrow. I haven’t played since October, when my golf buddy Brendan’s six year old daughter beat me by a mile.

  3. TheBon says:

    I’ve had an astonishing amount of spring start-itis. Not enough knitting time at all to finish everything I keep starting!

  4. donna lee says:

    I hope it’s nothing major. Surgery is as good an excuse as any to sit around and just knit. I thought I’d get a lot done last year when I had my gall bladder out but I ended up sleeping most of the time.

    I’ve always been a slow knitter. I just accept the fact that someone has to be slowest and it might as well be me…..

  5. Rebekah says:

    I’m drooling over the beer and calzones. Not a good sign for a Sunday morning.

  6. Cookie says:

    I feel you on the socks. I keep looking at the calendar and wondering if I can get them done in time.

    I hope the surgery is a simple thing that gives you lots of extra knitting time.

  7. Jeannie says:

    That looks and sounds like a yummy dinner. I’ve just finished another pair of socks, but I’m having a hard time picking a new project. I’ve cast-on and frogged many things and just don’t like anything right now. I hope the surgery goes well.

  8. tiennie says:

    Who cares about knitting when you get to spend some fun time with your family? I hope all goes well about your surgery. Wishing you the best!

  9. Steven says:

    Wow. Beer and calzones. Can there be a more perfect meal? Looks great! Best wishes on your surgery. Here’s to coming through it fine and getting lots of knitting done.

  10. Valerie says:

    Oh those calzones are makin’ me hungry! They look so good!

  11. Suzanne says:

    That beer and those calzones sure look good! Good luck with the surgery – knitting time!

  12. weezalana says:

    Dude, nice jug o’ beer!

    Hoping the surgery isn’t for anything major!

  13. Wanda says:

    I like the line where you say that you have crossed a line when you ask your kids to pick up alcohol for you, too funny! Sorry about the surgery, but I guess the upside is that you’ll have knitting time!

  14. Kim says:

    I hope the surgery goes easily and you heal quickly and get lots of good knitting time. Knitting is the silver lining! Where di dyou go golfing? My DH is a golf maniac. He goes to The Knoll (?) and someplace out near Flanders and another place called Spooky Something in Somerset County.

  15. Stacy says:

    Oh, I’m envious of the golfing!

  16. Opal says:

    oh those calzones look heavenly! they’re a little hard to find here, but i really love them. i’ve never had homemade. those look delicious.

    good luck with your surgery! may it be uncomplicated and full of pleasant recuperation time.

  17. Anna says:

    Your weekend looks lovely! Good luck with the MRI scan.

  18. elspeth says:

    Interesting – I didn’t know they had their own beer in Hyattsville! I’ll have to check it out!

  19. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne-Calzones- you are so lucky.

    It’s true- knitters are probably the only people who look forward to some recovery time- it gives us an excuse for guilt-free knitting.

    Good luck with that.

  20. Lynne says:

    I’m not sure about the shawl, but the beer and calzones sure look good to me!

  21. rhoda says:

    i agree it is a new relationship indeed when you ask your kids to buy beer. homemade calzones, you lucky girl you!

  22. Jennygirl says:

    Mmm calzones. I haven’t had one of those in a long, long time.

Leave a Reply

