Just what I need

Sometimes knitting gives me just what I need…

1291

Sometimes I want things to be hard and complicated, and sometimes not so much.  I needed easy and simple this time.   So instead of this, I decided that the yarn needed some thing less complicated.  And I needed something less complicated.  So I switched to something much simpler…

Pattern:  Gloria cowl
Yarn:  Handspun, 100% merino from Three By Hand 
Started:    February 28, 2009
Finished:  March 1, 2009

This has been in my Ravelry queue since last June…and I’m really happy that I finally made it.  This pattern is very easy – obviously – and I think its perfect for handspun.  I think it lets the yarn stand on its own.  The other pattern was just too much for this yarn…

1296

We had snow today, so Cieara was home from school (and I worked from home – yea!) so she agreed to model.  I really like the cowl – I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it though – definitely not my colors.  And although it looks great on Cieara – she doesn’t like things like this.  So I guess it will just have to wait until someone comes along that likes yellow and green…

Larry left on a business trip yesterday – he hardly ever goes away, and he’ll be gone for a week.  It has been such a long time since he’s done this, and I miss him.   But once again, knitting gave me just what I needed….

This is my March sock of the month yarn.

1289

Sophie’s Toes, Old Flame colorway.  And the pattern?  Retro Rib.  And who are they for?  Larry.  So although I miss him, this makes me miss him a little less because I know he’ll be happy that his yarn was picked this month.  And it makes me feel better to work on a pair of socks for him.   I started this afternoon, and like the yarn nad pattern  – so I don’t think that this will end up like last month’s socks…

I’m not going to show pictures of the snow – I’m so sick of it.  Dan, Cieara and I went out and shoveled out the driveway this afternoon – and the wind blew it all back.  Ugh.  Its so cold and snowy and crappy here – I am so ready for spring!    Dan and Cieara were glad of the day off – and I was grateful to work from home – but really – enough already!

OK, off to knit my socks…have a great week!

26 Responses to Just what I need

  1. Christianne says:

    Wonderful Cowl – the colors remind me of the ocean. The sock yarn is very nice – have fun knitting those socks for Larry!

  2. Old Flame, looks cozy! I’m confused by your first two pix; the second is clearly the green and yellow Gloria cowl (go Ducks!), but the first looks orange/black (go Beavers?!). What *is* the first one? Mystery!

  3. Valerie says:

    While Im not to fond of the cowl colours, it does look nice. The sock yarn … however…. that is stunning!

  4. Suzanne says:

    The cowl is really pretty and so is your March sock yarn. I am also really sick of the snow!

  5. Oiyi says:

    The cowl is a nice bright spot during this horrible weather. Handspun is just so gorgeous in any pattern.

  6. donna lee says:

    Half the fun of spinning is the knitting afterward. I like to find patterns that lets my (admittedly amateur) yarn shine. I’m knee deep in a stockinette sweater and it’s perfect for now. When I first saw the pattern, I thought, “ugh, all that stockinette” but somehow right now, it’s ok. I just picked March’s yarn even though Feb’s socks are still on the needles.

  7. Denise says:

    Love the colors, but cowls make me look like a turtle.

  8. Kim says:

    The Gloira cowl pattern rocks and a perfect foil for your handspun. Perhaps Ciera will grow to become a cowl person? Old Flame rocks. It really does look like colors you see in a fire.

  9. Stephanie says:

    The colors on that yarn for your sock of the month are trying to knock me off my feet. Whoa. Why haven’t I tried Sophie’s Toes yet?!?

    (Oh yeah, student budget…)

  10. Lorraine says:

    Love the sock yarn- I covet all your things.

  11. Your Gloria is so pretty. It’s sometimes nice to have a few things already made up for the day when you need them. Later you’ll be able to give someone a present that you made from beginning to end without any worry.

  12. Lisa says:

    Beautiful handspun – you really made the most of the roving! Perfect for that cowl – it looks so nice and cozy. The sock yarn is also great – perfect for guy socks.

  13. weezalana says:

    It’s a shame those aren’t you colors, it’s so bright and happy and pretty! But it would be a great gift for someone! Pack it away and bring it out for the holidays or a last-minute birthday gift!

  14. tiennie says:

    That is cute! I agree, sometimes you want an easy project on the needles – a no-thinking, no stress project. 🙂

  15. Robin says:

    OK. I LOVE green and yellow or more like pea green which is yellow and green mixed. My bedroom growing up was yellow and green. I LOVE green and yellow! Trade you for it!!!!????

  16. Mrs MJW says:

    Thanks for your comment Jeanne. Your cowl is lovely and so are you! Cheers!

  17. elizabeth says:

    I think you’re right – the beauty of variegated handspun gets lost in a pattern and is so gorgeous on its own. Your cowl is so pretty! I’ve had that pattern in my queue for a long time too, I’ll try to remember it the next time I need a quick, therapeutic knit!

  18. Pixie says:

    ::We had snow today::

    Oh, what I wouldn’t give for a snow day right now! It’s odd that I’m in Colorado, it’s March and I’m in flip-flops sitting in the sun with the temps in the high 70’s.

    Yes, I said high SEVENTIES.

    Weird.

    I want snow.

  19. misa says:

    Cieara is a great model. It’s nice that she’s so cooperative. I think the colors are nice, wear it for a day it might grow on you. The sun is shining today and it makes me feel like spring may possibly be coming. I hear the weekend will be warm, hooray!

  20. Rebekah says:

    Its perfect for handspun, if I ever get back to spinning I’ll have to put that on my queue. Those are the types of things I love, don’t like scarfs, don’t like hats, but that would be perfect, you could even pull it over your ears if you need be.

    I love that previous picture of the dog and kitty, so comfy. Its an ahhhh picture.

  21. Wanda says:

    I wear my Gloria cowl all the time, well, when it was colder here. Now, we’re having the unseasonably warm winter weather here. The stockinette was very soothing and nice to use up.

    Good job on using up some of your own handspun! I hope you find someone who loves the colors soon.

  22. Opal says:

    the cowl looks fabulous. i’m so envious of your sock of the month project! i’m still on my february project. /sigh

  23. Ren says:

    what a gorgeous cowl. : ) i hope your weather gets better!

  24. lilypily says:

    The new sock yarn is scrumptious! A perfect solution to missing Larry – make socks for him. 🙂 I hope Spring appears soon for you. It should – I can already feel the changing seasons in the air here, and I am SO over the heat and really ready for autumn with its rich colours and textures. Keep warm. 🙂

  25. kim says:

    Oh, that cowl is lovely. There is something about handspun that is just so satisfying. Nothing more is needed but the beauty of the yarn itself. And a gorgeous model, of course! 😉

  26. katie m. says:

    The cowl looks great in handspun. A mindless project is always welcome … especially when it turns out so lovely.

Leave a Reply

