Yarn and more yarn

I have been working on my three projects all week – a little time on the February socks, a little time on the shawl, and very little time on Acer.    And I’ve been just very bleh about all three.  I like all of the patterns and the yarn, but I can’t say that I’ve been to excited about any of them.  I love other people’s finished Acer’s, and I like the yarn I chose but I haven’t gotten into really working it.  Same with the shawl and socks (the socks are complicated by the fact that I seem to really not knit well first thing in the morning – I’ve tinked back more rows on these socks than any I can remember). 

There is nothing to cure knitting blehs then a little yarn shopping…so I wandered over to The Loopy Ewe on Wednesday.   Actually, I think its Opal’s  – fault – she had posted a link to some yarn on Monday.  Of course I had to look – gorgeous.  It took 24 hours for me to give in and place an order. 

If you haven’t used the Loopy Ewe, I really recommend it.  I ordered the yarn on Wednesday and it was waiting for me when I got home on Friday night.  Isn’t that amazing?   This is the second time I’ve ordered from them, and I will definitely be using them again – the whole thing was easy and painless, and getting the yarn so fast is just what you need when you need a little yarn pick me up.

So this is the yarn that Opal linked to – not the same colorway, but the same dyer.  This is Dragonfly Fibers, and the colorway I chose was Dragon’s Breath.  Gorgeous, eh?  This will make a great pair of socks for Larry – he immediately picked it up when I opened the box and asked what it was for – that’s his sign that he hopes I’ll say they are for him.  Gorgeous yarn – thanks for the link, Opal!

1240

But since I was shopping for yarn, I decided to pick up some yarn that I’ve been wanting for a long time…

1244 1242

ShibuiKnits Sock in Pagoda….this is a gorgeous colorway, and I can’t wait to use it.  Heather left a comment that Ann Budd had a good article about doing toe up socks in the Summer 2007 Interweave Knits.  I found the magazine the other night and read it – and it was a great article – explained the whole thing in a really easy way.  I think I’m going to use the article to make a pair – and I think this yarn will be perfect for it.  Gorgeous color – and hard to get right in a picture.

Since I was buying things I’ve wanted for a while, I had to one one more skein…

1249

And I couldn’t resist using this one right away!  Malabrigo Lace in Verde Adriana.  Gorgeous.  The picture really doesn’t do justice to this gorgeous yarn – I’ve seen Malabrigo Lace in stores and always was sort of iffy on it (most stores seem to stock light blue and pink).  But this green is just so pretty – I couldn’t wait to wind it up and start using it.  The yarn is very soft  – its softer than any laceweight I’ve used before.  It has a really pretty sheen to it as well, and knits up so nicely.  I will definitely be buying more of this….

1245

The pattern is On the Vine by Susan Lawrence  – I really enjoy Susan’s designs, and this was in my queue for a while.  I thought the yarn was perfect for the pattern as the color is a beautiful green…just like tomato vines!    I’m really enjoying this project – between the yarn and the pattern, I’m just having a lot of fun, and think I’ll enjoy this all the way through.

I realized, when I was casting on, that part of my problem lately is that I miss having the excitement of starting new projects, and that only focusing on finishing projects makes this seem a lot like work.  I got the new Interweave Knits last night, and as a funny coincidence, there was an article by Vicki Square called “The Thinking Knitter:  Start as Many New Projects as You Can” that said basically the same thing.   So I’ve decided that I’m going to work on what I want, and start new things if I want – but I still will try to keep it to a reasonable level – I do like finishing things too, so if I start 20 projects, I’m not going to get a lot actually finished.   But I’m not going to try and limit myself – if I want to start something, and I’m happy about it – then I’m just going to do it.

As far as the new IK – there is a gorgeous shawl pattern…and you know, I do have a skein of Helen’s Lacein the stash that I’ve been trying to find a pattern for the longest time…hmmm…there were a couple of other patterns in there that look interesting, but I need to take another look as I mostly skimmed it.

This is a three day weekend for me – Monday is President’s Day in the US, and my company is closed.  I really thought about adding a vacation day to either side of that to make a four day weekend, but then work intruded and I have meetings (or had) on both days.  But that’s ok – three days off is really nice and I’m looking forward to some down time.    Lots of knitting, napping, and spending time with family and friends, and maybe going to the movies.  Boring, but nice.

Today is Valentine’s day – I won’t go on about what a commercial holiday this is – but I will say that we are making calzones for dinner and I’m really looking forward to them  – homemade is so good!   I did buy Larry a Valentine’s gift – samosas that a co-worker bought at a store near where he lives (no store where I live would have anything like this).  Larry loves them, and I think he’s going to be excited about it.  How is that for a non-traditional Valentine’s gift?

OK, I’m off to get my day started – I hope you have a nice weekend!

23 Responses to Yarn and more yarn

  1. Steven says:

    Good for you for already thinking about toe-up socks again. I think you’ll like the Shibui — I’ve never used it but a friend has and it was gorgeous. Like the Dragon’s Breath, too!

  2. Denise says:

    Glad you are filling up your stash bin again! Nothing sadder to me than the thought of a house not knee deep in yarn.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Wow, that ShibuiKnits Sock looks like my pumpkin-colored ShibuiKnits Sock. I don’t know what colorway it was though. I love the color!

    I’m glad you stopped worrying about finishing things. I think you finished more when you didn’t worry about it so much. It’s really about enjoying what you’re doing, in my opinion. Anyway – thanks for pointing out that Dragonfly Fibers yarn; I should check it out sometime, too. Pretty and variegated, what’s not to like!

  4. Christianne says:

    Really nice yarn – I have made socks out of the shibui pagoda – it’s really nice yarn. Have fun with your projects!

  5. Ren says:

    i love that dragonfly fibers yarn. the color is just beautiful. : )

  6. Opal says:

    i’m still resisting the yarn! i’m glad you got some DFF though! yours is beautiful. and pagoda is one of my all time favorite colorways in shibuiknits!!

    ahh. such lovely eye candy. thanks. 🙂

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne-I have some of Kate’s yarn in my stash- she’s an amazing dyer.

  8. Suzanne says:

    I love all your yarn! That Dragonfiber is really cool! I have not knit with the Shibui yet – I think I need to!

  9. Rebekah says:

    I agree with that philosophy whole heartedly. When I start putting rules and guidelines on my projects, they aren’t fun any more. Of course, realizing this I also realized tht on things that do have a timeline, I have to give myself tons and tons of room, say 3 years to finish it, so that I can do other things in the meantime. Like knit a scarf from quivit and a shawl from cashmere. 🙂

  10. Oiyi says:

    I love calzones and I am sure home made makes it even better. Do you use pizza dough for the crust? And I can over indulge in Samosas! They are too good.

  11. katie m. says:

    lovely yarn! i can’t wait to see it knit up!

  12. punkin says:

    I like the colors you have chosen. Very pretty.

  13. Anna says:

    What scrummy yarn you got! The shawl looks like it’s going to be a beauty – I look forward to seeing more of it as you progress!

  14. lorent says:

    Homemade calzones, yum.

    Is Shibuiknits Pagoda a colorway or a type of yarn? Is it different than the Sock yarn? I’ve knit one pair of socks using Shibuiknits, and I have some more in stash. I really liked it.

    I’m kind of meh about my current projects, too, and buying new yarn hasn’t helped. Maybe I just need to buy more?

    Yes — the Loopy Ewe is a magical, money-sucking place 🙂

  15. Kim says:

    Nothing like some new yarn to get you out of the projects blahs. Love all the new yarn & especially that Malabrigo lace. MMMMMMMmmmm.

  16. vickiknit says:

    Beautiful yarn! The shawl looks really interesting. I read that article too and I know it works for me, although I do feel good when I get some older projects finished.

  17. misa says:

    You give good yarn pron. 🙂

  18. Lucinda says:

    That’s going to be a gorgeous scarf! Hurrah for new yarn & new projects!

  19. tiennie says:

    Hope your weekend was fun! Those are beautiful yarns and I like what you’ve got started. You know, knitting should make you happy so find that balance between new projects and finishing projects! 🙂

  20. rhoda says:

    wow, look at that shibui! i love it..and the malabrigo lace you picked up–i went right to the loopy ewe to gaze and drool over it! 😉

  21. Lynne says:

    Well, sounds like you found the cure to your blahs! I ordered new yarn this week too! Just to get me through the endless seedstitch of my coat. It helped!

  22. Missy says:

    Shopping for yarn fixes everything doesn’t it? Hope you have a great weekend!

  23. Jennygirl says:

    All of these are so pretty and squishy!
    I am actually going to do my first lace project this summer. I’ll keep you in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

