Woos

The Urban Dictionary defines woos as

  1. someone who is a wimp; afraid to do something that he should do
  2. Afraid, scared, fearful of something or someone.

I’m going to skip the third definition as I don’t think it applies to this situation. 

So I have to admit that based on the definition, I am a woos.  I just couldn’t get the toe up thing.  I avoided the project for a few days and then tried to cast on – I tried the way called for in the pattern, and then I tried a cast on that several people on Ravelry recommended – Judy’s magic cast on.   And I just didn’t get it.  I finally thought how stupid it was to be stressed out about a project, and not be knitting this great yarn, so I made a small change. 

Cuff down.  First pattern on my Ravelry queue (queued on 7/1/07!).  One of the most popular sock patterns – but no one knows how to actually pronounce it – Pomatomus

1231

And I’m glad I switched.  Firestarter is a really gorgeous pattern, but socks are commute knitting for me and I just can’t have it be something that is a lot of work and that requires reference checking online.  Maybe I’ll look for a toe up class, or try again when I’m on vacation this year and have some real time to sit down and figure it out.  But as soon as I started these socks, I felt so much happier.  And that’s what it is about, right?

The yarn is amazing to work with – I love the colors (the colors are a little deeper than shown), and the stitch definition is really good.    I have had this pattern in my list forever, but always thought it was complicated.  But it is actually pretty easy, and so far its going pretty fast.

1232

I’m glad that there isn’t any pooling – some of the Wollmeise socks I saw online were pretty bad, but this seems to be behaving.  I am really happy with the project, and think I’ll have these done fairly quickly.

Mary Catherine nominated me for an award on her blog – thanks!   If you don’t know Mary Catherine’s blog check it out – she takes beautiful pictures, and creates amazing projects…

6a00d835507b5f69e20111685294dc970c-800wi

The official rules are as follows:

  1. Copy the award to your site
  2. Link to the person from whom you received the award
  3. Nominate 7 other bloggers
  4. Link to those on your blog
  5. Leave a message on the blogs you nominated.

It is always so hard for me to pick a small number of blogs – there are 317 blogs in my Bloglines (some are cooking, most are knitting) and I like them all.  But I’ll try and pull out 7 for you…

  1. Shut up and Knit – Cookie finishes beautiful projects so quickly, and always makes me laugh.
  2. Knitting Sweaters & Sitting Still – Steven does beautiful work, and I always enjoy reading his blog.
  3. PDXKnitterati – Michele always is working on something interesting, and has a great pattern for an entralac cowl!
  4. Sheriff of Knittingham – Lorraine probably always makes these lists of mine because she is an amazing knitter.  And designer.  And she traded with me for Wollmeise!  Check out her designs at Twisted Traditions – I have several in my queue and if I weren’t such a woos, I’d start them today (I haven’t had good luck with sweaters lately so I’m a bit hestitant to start another one).
  5. Chronic Ennui – I love Kim’s blog – she has beautiful projects, takes beautiful pictures and has the cutest model for baby knitwear.
  6. Craftivore – I usually read my blogs in Bloglines, and only go over to the actual blog to comment – but I always pull up this blog (even if I don’t comment) because its one of those blogs that is just beautiful.  She does gorgeous work, in a number of areas, and is always inspiring.
  7. Visualise Peace – Lucette’s blog is always inspiring – gorgeous pictures, gorgeous knitting.
  8. Yarny Old Kim – I don’t know how I found Kim’s blog, but I’ve been reading it for a while.  She does gorgeous work, and makes me laugh.  And she’s a fellow commuter to NY.

(I know the rules say seven blogs, but I cheated and did 8.)

I really had a hard time just pulling out 8 blogs – I have so many favorites.  But these 8 are ones that I always make sure I make time to read, so go check them out!

It is warm here today – in the 50’s!  So we are going out to breakfast, and then I think we’ll take the dogs for a walk.  After the 14 degree days of this week, 53 seems like summer.  I almost want to wear shorts!

I hope you have a great week – and that its warm where you are!

28 Responses to Woos

  1. Chris says:

    I think the socks look great – you should enjoy your knitting, not stress over it!

  2. Bridget says:

    The sock is looking so pretty! I’ve been considering trying that pattern, but it seems like it might be difficult. Maybe I’ll keep track of how you are doing for inspiration.

    Thanks for the links to some new blogs – I already know Lorraine, and love her to death, but the others were ones I’m off to visit now.

  3. Rachel says:

    And we have heavy rain for a big change! After the 86 degrees we had here this week the 48 we have right now feel almost like winter 🙂

    Lovely socks of the Month!

  4. Valerie says:

    Very nice! You seem to have a great eye for colour!

  5. Cookie says:

    Good lookin’ sock so far. I really need to give that pattern a go. I tried a couple of years ago, but just didn’t have the skills at the time. Maybe now is the time.

    Thank you for the mention. It’s very kind of you. I’ll get you for this, of course.

    xo

  6. Stacy says:

    That yarn looks super soft! I’m liking them thus far.

  7. travellersyarn says:

    I’m with you – I’m deeply afraid of the top-up sock. I have some handspun that I want to use, and not waste an inch, but the thought of top-up is really scary…

  8. lorent says:

    I like how that yarn is knitting up! I started a Wollmeise sock today, too. Toe-up isn’t so bad at all! Getting the cast on right is the hardest part. Once I learned Judy’s Magic Cast On, I never looked back. But I admit that I sometimes have to look it up to do it if I haven’t done it in a while.

    I always spelled it “wuss.” Hmm.

  9. tiennie says:

    Congratulations on your award – very deserving! The socks are just lovely! I like that little stripe!

  10. Anna says:

    The pom looks great so far. Good for you for switching – sometimes it’s great to work out a new technique, but sometimes it’s the last thing we want to do.

  11. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- I can’t get the toe-up thing either- so don’t worry about it. One day.

    Thank you for the nomination- I am so unworthy.

  12. Steven says:

    Your post made me smile. Of course you should use beautiful yarn like that for a pattern you’ve wanted to try (and it’s looking quite nice, I might add). There’s always time to learn/study/practice later. It took me nine attempts to get past the toe of my first toe-up sock!

    And what a great shout-out, Jeanne. I always enjoy reading your blog, too.

  13. Opal says:

    i’m so glad you’re working on the pomatomus! that is one of my all time favorite patterns! it looks gorgeous in that yarn.

  14. Robby says:

    First rule of knitting… it should be fun! If you want a helpful article about toe-up socks, Ann Budd did one in IK – Summer 2007, I think. And she gives really helpful charts so you can knit any size with any gauge. But loving what you’ve got going there, too. ANd yes, I thought it was ‘wuss’, too.

  15. Stephanie says:

    It amuses me a little bit that for you, Pomatomus is easier than knitting toe-up. Because I always associate toe-up knitting with “stockinette stitch foot” (not sure why), Pomatomus seems a lot more complicated to me. It’s all good though–it’s a fantastic pattern and when I first made a pair I thought I’d make a zillion more after. I never did though. I’ll get back to that pattern… someday. I’m sure you’ll love those socks!

  16. Kim says:

    I feel guilty – all of the sock patterns you knit have been on my ‘list’ forever. I’ve begun to wait for your difficulty report to see if they will ever fly off of my needles.

    Your Pomatomus looks great.

  17. brokeknits says:

    Congrats on the award — and on starting the socks!

  18. Oiyi says:

    It’s such a great color!

  19. Lisa says:

    I’m glad your Wollmeise is not pooling, been there and understand. Congrats on your award!

  20. Rebekah says:

    Beautiful colors for those socks.

    I love award tingys like that for one reason, it introduces me to blogs I’ve never read! Thanks.

  21. Kim says:

    Aawww, thanks so much for the award! It made my day! I never knew how to spell woos (I thought is was wus). And that sock, damn it’s gorgeous!! Keep those photos coming!

  22. Heather says:

    Your socks look great! The yarn you chose is gorgeous and perfect for a February knit.

    I recently knitted my first pair of toe up socks. I used the On Your Toes Socks pattern by Ann Budd from the summer 2007 Interweave Knits. (If you do not have a copy of the magazine, the pattern is available for download.) The most difficult part of the sock was the eastern cast on, but it was clearly diagrammed and not difficult to do. I actually substituted this cast on for the prescribed on in a second pair of toe up socks. If you ever decide to attempt toe-up socks again, I would urge you to try this pattern!

  23. misa says:

    Awww, how nice of you, thank you!! I love to year your blog too!

    I always thought it was spelled wuss. Pomatomus is looking great and knitting should be enjoyable, so I’m glad you abandoned the anxiety making toe-up. I’m sure at another time the toe-up cast-on will suddenly click.

  24. Missy says:

    Wow, that yarn caught my attention. Very bright. I’ll have to go check out some of those blogs. Have a great weekend!

  25. Congratulations on your award, and thank you for mine!

    And yes, I think it’s “wuss.”

    And I like the way the fuchsia is spiraling through the blue sock.

  26. rhoda says:

    wow, your february socks are beautiful so far! you know, i couldn’t do the judy magic cast on either so don’t feel bad. have you tried a crochet cast on? there’s another toe that i’ve used before called the rectangular toe too.

  27. hakucho says:

    I know I’m a little late, but if you should ever get up the courage to try another toe up sock check out this video:
    http://www.knittingatknoon.com/provisional.html

  28. Nice blog…Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

