Charade Socks (Finally)

You will have to forgive some of these pictures because my camera battery was dying and I just couldn’t get the lighting right (even with the light studio) but I wanted to get the pictures up because these socks are finally done!

1227

Pattern:  Charade (January Personal Sock Club of 2009)
Yarn:  Treadsoft Sock Yarn, Ruby Sapphire Yarns
Started:  January 7, 2009
Finished:  February 3, 2009

Well, what can I say other than these seemed to be really eternal.  I think almost a month is probably close to the longest time I’ve taken to make a pair of socks.    I got this yarn for Christmas a few years ago – I like the yarn base itself, but I think I don’t like this much varigation.   I would try this dyer again – but I would stay with a solid or semi-solid (and they do have some gorgeous yarns!).   The yarn really knit up well, and the yardage was great – I have a lot left (not that I want to do anything with it – eternal!).

1229

It was very hard to find a good pattern for this type of varigated yarn – I had originally planned to make Twinkleberry but it just got lost in the varigation.  I think Charade is a meh choice as well – nice pattern, but I think it really got lost too.  I think I should have either stuck with a plain sock, or done something really lacy.  But by the time I decided that I was meh on the pattern/yarn combo, I was done with one sock.  And there was no way I was going to rip it back.

But I’m done – and I used stash yarn.  And they are going to a friend who likes them – so all in all, I’m pretty happy. 

I knew last night that I’d finish these today on the train, so I took the opportunity and picked my February project…I was a little concerned that I’d pick a yarn or pattern that I wasn’t completely excited about and that I’d bail on the personal sock club.  I know that I actually picked all of the yarns and projects, but the January was such a slog, I was really worried what February was going to be.

I didn’t need to worry…

782

I picked the perfect yarn to restore my excitement in this….Wollmeise!

1224

Isn’t that gorgeous?  It is the Miss May colorway, and I got it from a very generous Lorraine.  I was so excited when I opened the bag and saw the yarn.  And the pattern?  Firestarter.  Gorgeous.  I’m very excited and a little nervous though – this is my first toe up sock.   I read the pattern at lunch today, and it walks through every step, so I think I’ll be able to figure it all out.  I thought for a bit about trying to do it cuff down, but this year is about stretching my knitting skills, so I’m going to do it toe up.  

I’ve been working almost exclusively on the Wool Peddler’s shawl at home – Acer isn’t getting any time (is that a bad sign?).   Its such a great soothing pattern, and I’ve really enjoying all the garter stitch.

It snowed here again today – I am really really ready for spring.  Although I love my mittens/hats/cowls/scarves/shawls, I’m ready to not be all bundled up and sloshing through ice and snow.   I spoke to my mother yesterday who very nicely told me about the nice weather in California.   So nice.   OK, I’m off to figure out how to start these socks…have a great rest of the week!

30 Responses to Charade Socks (Finally)

  1. lucette says:

    Your socks are perfect to cheer up a winter day.

  2. Jeannie says:

    Yay for finishing those socks! That’s great that they’re going to someone who loves them. I can’t wait to see how you get along with toe up socks. I love knitting socks from that direction and most of my socks are knit that way (unless I’m doing a Cookie A pattern).

  3. Congrats on getting them done! Sometimes finishings things that were a slog is almost better than the easy knits. The Wollmeise is beautiful, it’s sure to make wonderful socks.

  4. Punkin says:

    Wollmeise! Oh how lovely. I look forward to see how it knits up.

  5. I love the new yarn; I wasn’t sure about it in the skein, but in a ball it is drop dead gorgeous!

  6. Opal says:

    the charade socks are beautiful! and the wollmeise is to die for. also, fwiw, i think your photos are gorgeous!

  7. misa says:

    Your socks turned out beautifully, good work on powering through the pain. Hopefully your next pair will be a joy the whole way through.

  8. kim says:

    You did it! Yay! I guess sometimes you just have to push yourself. I’m glad that your February project is one that will excite you a bit more. I’ve had enough of the Winter wonderland myself!

  9. Missy says:

    I love the new socks and the colors in the new yarn are just beautiful. I can’t wait to see how they work up.

  10. donna lee says:

    I saved the firestarter pattern for some hand painted yarn I have somewhere in my brown bags! I didn’t put patterns with them (too much work at the time). I’ll choose the patterns after I surprise myself with the yarn. I’m still working on January’s…….

  11. weezalana says:

    They turned out great! I dig the variegation, but you’re right, it’s difficult to pick a pattern that doesn’t get lost in the colorway or isn’t so mind-numbingly dull you wanna poke your eyes out with the needle to end the pain.

  12. Rhonda says:

    Cool socks! I just checked out Firestarter, love em’.

  13. Stephanie says:

    I don’t know, I kind of envy you your snow and cold. Where I am right now it’s just cold enough to stay inside more than out and for the sun to not exist, but not really cold enough to get all decked out in knits. And I miss my knits! And thinking about sweaters! A lot!

    I love the color combination of the socks, by the way. The pair and the Wollmeise that you wound up. Pretty purples and reds.

  14. Cookie says:

    Congrats on finishing the socks!

    I hate it when socks become a slog. I hope this month is easier on you.

  15. Shea says:

    I need to get my sock mojo back. I’ve been working my way through sweaters and mittens lately. You can always over dye the socks if you really hate the yarn variegation. I personally think they’re lovely though.

  16. tiennie says:

    Those are great socks! How fun to have wollmeise next to work with!

  17. Suzanne says:

    I love the socks! I am so tired of winter! Didn’t that large rodent the other day say we had like six more months of winter???? It warmed up to 10 here, guess I shouldn’t complain…

  18. Kim says:

    ohhhh a finished pair of socks! Stash yarn and a gift – you are wonderful.

    Can’t wait to see your firestarter going. If you have tips to begin, please post them. I’ve been too scared to start.

  19. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I have yet to do a toe-up, so I’m interested to see how you make out.

    Yay! Wollmeise!

  20. Kerry says:

    Lovely yarn for a fab pattern. I did Firestarter last year and love the heel set up on it. I started La Digitessa from the same designer in December and I am still plodding along with it. It isn’t as much fun because it takes a lot more concentration.

  21. socksformum says:

    I ‘semi-bailed’ on my first brown bag .. the pattern didn’t work with the yarn, so now I’m behind, too. I’m glad you persevered! And, I’m happy your second bag had something you loved in it. I haven’t opened mine yet!

  22. Mar says:

    I love those socks!!!! and I can’t wait to see the finished product for your next project…the yarn is beautiful!

  23. lobstah says:

    I’m not usually a huge lover of variegation either, but I think the colors/variegation of that yarn are very pretty. Jealous of your wollmeise!

  24. Ren says:

    i really like the charade socks! i started a sock in that pattern a while back, but it ended up being way too small and i had to frog it. i loved the stitch pattern, but i haven’t had the courage to go back to it yet. : )

  25. I just nominated you for an award over on my blog 🙂

  26. Wanda says:

    I liked how the Charade socks turned out. Sometimes when you try patterns, they don’t always work out. I’m really uninterested in learning toe-up, so I haven’t even bothered.

  27. brokeknits says:

    The socks look great! Too bad they were such a slog … the Wollmeise is looking good, too.

  28. rhoda says:

    well, i think your charade socks came out wonderful. glad the recipient loves them!

  29. hakucho says:

    I love your charade socks…the colorway is quite lovely, but bright 🙂

    Good luck on your toe up sock…I know I only want to do toe ups from now on…I think you like them 🙂

  30. Jennygirl says:

    I think these are adorable! Just enough pattern to keep you busy, and the colors are cute.

Leave a Reply

