On a roll…

1202

Get it?  Was that a really bad pun or what!  Larry and I actually made this last weekend – it was a recipe from Bon Apetit  – or Cooking Light – of course, I made it a few days ago, and now I can’t find the recipe.  Which is going to drive me crazy because they were amazing.   They are made with whole wheat, oatmeal, flax meal – all that good for you stuff but they were really delicious (even the kids liked them!).   We had such a fun time making them – I haven’t made yeast bread in a while – that we ordered a bunch of flour from King Arhur Flour to make rye, pumpernickel and other good stuff.  But I do hope I find the recipe for the rolls. 

So the title actually referred to the knitting going on, not just the baking…..because my basket was empty, and I was in the mood for lace, I just had to start something…

1204

This is the Adamas shawl, and the yarn is Claudia Handpaint Silk Lace

1205

This is a terrible picture of the shawl, but it really is a good one of the yarn.  I tried four different shawls, and two other yarns before I decided on this.  I was going to do Honeybee Stole, but the whole provisional cast on was a drag (204 stitches!) – I am a lazy knitter sometimes.  So I poked around Ravelry, and saw this shawl – gorgeous, right?  Its the same colorway so I thought I’d be a lemming and do the same shawl.  I had a false start – I started it with the needles the pattern called for but didn’t like the fabric so I started over on a smaller size.   And so far so good!

And because the knitting basket had some more room, I also started Acer.

1208

I love this yarn – it just has a great wooly feel, and the color is really beautiful.     

I got all this knitting done because I was out sick yesterday – I had something wrong with my eye, so I had to go to the doctor.  So I sat and watched TV and knit – and switched from lace to sweater when the lace started hurting my eye.  Today it  is snowing/sleeting, so I worked from home  – so I’ll be able to pick them up again after work – skipping my commute really adds to knitting time! 

Well, lunch break is over, so I need to head back to work…but I thought I’d leave you with a little bit of spring…the Paperwhite Narcissus Larry gave me for Christmas just started blooming…

1209

Have a great rest of the week!

18 Responses to On a roll…

  1. Cookie says:

    Yummy!

    You really need to find that recipe.

    How’s your eye today?

  2. Rhonda says:

    You really are on a roll. What about some socks?

  3. lorent says:

    Those rolls look incredible! If you find the recipe…

    It’s a snow day here, so I made my sinfully good chocolate and peanut butter chip cookies. Mmmm.

    Love the color for the Adamas, hope your eye feels better soon.

  4. Kim says:

    Damn that roll looks so delicious. Now I’m hungry. Way to go filling up your empty knitting basket!

  5. Steven says:

    The rolls look good enough to, well, EAT! And I really like the shot of the flowers with the snow in the background. It makes me feel warm and cold at the same time.

  6. Both of your new knits look great. If you figure out where the roll recipe comes from please share, they look yummy.

  7. Christianne says:

    You can make the rolls for me instead of the scones 🙂 Adamas looks wonderful – and I hope your eye is ok!! That sounds a little bit serious!

  8. Oiyi says:

    The Roll takes the show. That is all I can think about now. It looks so good. Be sure to let us know when you find the recipe. Now, I gotta look for something to nibble on.

  9. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- It all looks yummy- the rolls and the lace.

    I have paperwhites in my kitchen, and let’s just say that not everyone likes the scent. I do, but dh does not.

  10. donna lee says:

    I love a good roll. The colors you chose for Adamas are great. I want to try it again. I’m less than thrilled with the one I made. I love the way paperwhites look but I cannot stand the smell. One year my daughter grew some for me in school and I couldn’t leave them in the house.

  11. Opal says:

    oooh! i love how adamas is knitting up!

  12. tiennie says:

    That roll does look yummy. We are going gluten free, dairy free and egg free in my household so I will be missing those!

  13. brokeknits says:

    Lovely knitting! I hope it makes up for the loss of the recipe …

  14. Missy says:

    Yum that roll looks good, and your flower is beautiful. Can’t wait to see progress on your projects. Your always making something really neat. Hope you have a great weekend.

  15. jennygirl says:

    That roll does look delish!
    Caought up on everything: Sorry about the Aleitha shell, but at least you realized before you completely finished it. Gauge swatch? ha-ha
    The hats look great and glad you found a home for the large one. Tell Dan he wears it well.
    And last bu not least, glad last weekend was a lovely time. Weekend get a ways are great.
    Enjoy this weekend too!

  16. rhoda says:

    acer is going to be beautiful. what a great color! sorry to hear your eye was bugging you. hopefully everything’s fine. 🙂

  17. hakucho says:

    What a delicious looking roll…I so love homemade bread of any kind 🙂

    Lots of wonderful projects in the works and thanks for a little touch of spring…I needed that 🙂

  18. Wanda says:

    That bread looks very tasty! I really like the Acer pattern, but can’t use Peace Fleece. Which is a bummer, because it looks like such nice yarn. Darned mohair allergies.

    sounds like you enjoyed your day off. Sorry about your eye and hope everything is better now,

Leave a Reply

