Speechless

I have never seen this since I started knitting, and I’m sort of speechless about it, but this is my knitting basket….

1199

Isn’t that scary?   What happened?  Well, do you remember the Aleita shell I was making?   I started knitting it again today after a long break, and here is it now…

1197

Yep, frogged.  I honestly don’t know what happened, but as I started knitting it, I really started looking at it – and then I tried it on – and it was too big.    I started thinking and I’m not 100% sure I did a gauge swatch – ok, well, I guess it is safe to say that I didn’t.    So I don’t have anything the the basket, and the only thing I actually have on needles is a a pair of socks on the needles, but commute knitting is never in the basket…so I have an empty basket, and no idea what to do now.  I’m a little scared to start a sweater today – I think I probably should take a day or two to recover and get my good knitting mojo back. 

There is another reason my basket is empty – I did finish something, rather than frogging it.  I haven’t blocked this yet, but thought I’d share something a little happier…

1192

This was a great project – and I was really happy to finish it.     I used this project to get a little better at Fair Isle, and I learned how to knit Continental so I could hold a yarn in each hand…

1193

Pattern:  Three Tams, Tam A
Yarn:  Cascade 220 (White), Noro Kureyon (colorway #233)
Started:   January 16, 2009
Finished:  January 25, 2009

This was a great pattern – and I may try one of the other charts.  It was really sort of fun to knit both ways – but I do need to practice a bit with knitting continental – I found it hard to hold the yarn with  consistent tension.  I also hard a hard time with purling continental but eventually got it.  Having videos on YouTube really helps!   I’m going to block this later, and will post pictures to Ravelry once it is dry.

I went to knitting group yesterday, and Lauren (blogless) brought the Swallowtail shawl she had finished (beautiful!).  It really got me in the mood for lace – but I can’t find anything that is really calling to me.  How sad is that – I have a bunch of yarn, a million patterns – and I’m just not sure what to do next.  I think its a case of having too many choices.    I was thinking maybe a rectangle vs triangle – but again, can’t decide on anything.  But I’m sure Il’l find something soon – and then I’ll cast on for that, and for Acer.  Just maybe not today – just in case my good knitting mojo is still on vacation.

Well, I’m off to look through  patterns and stash – I hope your knitting is going better than mine!  Have a great week!

33 Responses to Speechless

  1. That’s a beautiful hat. I learned to knit continental style to do two color knitting (I was pretty pleased with myself) and then Anna Zilboorg, in her chart knitting class at Stitches, taught me to carry both colors in one hand. I like that even better!

  2. redfear says:

    The hat is beautiful! and uh… wow, an EMPTY knitting basket – not sure I’ve seen one of those before!

  3. misa says:

    Whoa, empty basket!! I am in awe. Your hat looks fabulous, a total success.

  4. Stacy says:

    The tam looks wonderful! But, an empty basket? (The horror, the horror!!) I hope you find a project(s) that inspires you to fill it again.

  5. socksformum says:

    Oh my, how I wish my knitting basket(s) were empty. Good for you! It must be wonderful to focus on one project at a time. Someday soon I hope to say the same thing! And, sometimes frogging is a good thing………….

  6. lilypily says:

    Well congratulations on your empty basket. I know you were aiming to finish all your projects there a while back, so that’s great that you have. It’s a good feeling isn’t it. Mind you it doesn’t usually last long. I think I’m worse than ever since I finally found the bottom of my basket. I’ve got several things on the go right now. Well done too for persevering with the continental knitting. I’m full of admiration. 🙂

  7. Denise says:

    I was so shocked by the thought of anyone, anywhere having an empty basket, I went out and bought some yarn (and I am not kidding).

  8. Walden says:

    The tam looks lovely! See, the empty knitting basket never happens to me, because half the time I have to remember where I put the bag that holds a certain project. Is it in my backpack, the craft closet, on the wire shelves, did I loose it somewhere . . . etc.

  9. Mar says:

    Wow, that is really beautiful…you did an awesome job. Sorry you lost your knitting mojo…I know it will come back soon as maggie needs some slippers. 🙂

  10. Steven says:

    The hat is awesome. I’ve done a little fair isle, and I’m with you on the two-handed knitting — although it’s my right hand that always seems like it’s had a few too many. It eventually comes around, but once the project’s over, the dullness returns.

    Here’s the return of the knitting mojo. Don’t worry — it always comes back!

  11. Jeannie says:

    I can understand the frogging. I recently frogged a project that I simply stopped liking in order to work on something that I wanted to do. The tam looks great!! I hope you find some knitting inspiration in your patterns in order to fill your basket again.

  12. weezalana says:

    Who are you and what have you done with Jeanne?

    Gorgeous hat! My mojo is on vaca, too. Maybe they’re off somewhere together, lying on a beach picking up island locals.

  13. dawn says:

    The hat’s lovely, I do like the colours you’ve chosen. Don’t you find it a dangerous time, between wips? I don’t know how you can resist the urge to cast on 10 new things! I can’t wait to see what you’ve chosen to knit.

  14. Christine says:

    An empty yarn basket? My husband would love it if I ever got there..lol.

    I can totally understand the frogging as well. I’m looking at a few of mine that need it.

    For lace, try Anne Hanson of knitspot.com. I got into lace through her–her patterns are well written, varied (socks to scarves, to mitts, etc.), and trick you into the fun of lace. You’ll not be disappointed!

  15. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I have never seen my baskets empty- that’s really cool.

    You did an amazing job on the hat. Your tension looks great.

  16. Denise says:

    goodness, an empty basket is no good! I do hope you can think of something you want to knit soon. Love the hat, can’t wait to see it on.
    🙂

  17. kim says:

    Oh, that stinks. But at least you can use the yarn for something else. I’m not loving the sweater I’m wearing today. But I spent so much on the yarn that I’m committing to liking it. At least that’s what I’m telling myself. Great hat!

  18. lorent says:

    I can’t imagine ever having an empty knitting basket! Alas, I frogged something this weekend, too. The socks were done and the ends woven in, and I still frogged. I just didn’t like them as much as I wanted to, and the yarn was too nice not to salvage. Pretty hat! I have the opposite problem with lace — way too many projects I want to make.

  19. Diane says:

    I love your tam! I made the same one in a class I took. I’m not too good at the continental knitting either. I need to do another fair isle project so I don’t forget how it’s done. Love the yarn that was formerly a shawl, so pretty.

  20. Cookie says:

    I’m glad you took a picture of that empty basket because you may not see it looking that again for quite some time. ;^)

    I love the tam. I really need to work on my color work skills.

    I feel ya. I get like that, too. So many patterns and different kinds of yarn to chose from. Too much pressure at times. Hope you find something soon.

  21. Opal says:

    an empty knitting basket! oh! the horror!

    great lookin’ hat. 🙂

  22. Wow, that’s so inspiring! Your tame is wonderful, I need to learn how to knit Continental.

  23. Arleta says:

    Whoa! I’ve never seen an empty yarn basket. Too bad about the frogging, but that hat is gorgeous!

  24. Kim says:

    Srsly gorgeous yarn. If you start another sweater, you should make a simple top down raglan. It will be the workhorse of your wardrobe. I am a shameless cheerleader for this kind of sweater. And I love the tam!!! What a coincidence that I printed out the pattern last week. I have the colorwork bug.

  25. Kathleen says:

    Fun Hat!
    Continential knitting, not even sure what that means. I just pick up the yarn and follow the pattern and never even know what those terms mean.

  26. tiennie says:

    The hat is awesome! An empty knitting basket must be filled immediately. 🙂

  27. Ren says:

    i’m sorry to hear that you frogged alita. i know that sometimes you just have to, but i sure have a hard time ripping out my work!

    your hat looks great, too. : )

  28. VickiKnit says:

    I like the way the colors are placed on your tam. I have learned that sometimes frogging just feels right and you will find the perfect project for that beautiful yarn.

  29. hakucho says:

    My tongue is hanging out…I can believe your basket is empty 🙂 It won’t be for long, I’m sure 🙂

    Love you Fair Isle hat…it’s gorgeous!! Good for you conquering continental knitting. I’ve tried it before, but I ‘m stuck on my old way of knitting…can’t teach an old dog new tricks 😉

  30. rebekahsyarn says:

    Love, love, love the Tam!

  31. Missy says:

    Love the hat. Very cute. It’s always nice to finish off some projects. Have a great weekend.

  32. rhoda says:

    wow. an empty knitting basket. i don’t think i remember what one of those looks like! the hat looks cute. can’t wait to see it blocked.

  33. Wanda says:

    Nothing in your knitting basket? Well, it doesn’t look like it took you long to fill it back up again.

    Very nice hat too!

Leave a Reply

