Just a little big…

You know, I really need to start reading Ravelry posts BEFORE I start a project….

1186

What do you think?  A little big?  Yep – and this was mentioned over and over on Ravelry.  Which I would have seen if I had looked instead of just jumping in.    How about some details to distract you from what a mess this is?

Pattern:  Turn a Square
Yarn:  Cascade 220, Midnight Heather and Noro Kureyon , Colorway 233)
Started:  January 19, 2009
Finished:  January 21, 2009

I really did like the pattern, but man, this was a big hat.  But fortunately, everyone has different size heads…
1189

So Dan got a blue hat, and not the green one I planned for him.  He was pretty happy about it  – I even got to see it in action on the train tonight (sorry for the blurry iPhone picture – it is hard to take a picture on your iPhone when the train is moving!)….

IMG_0166

This was a really fast knit, and I enjoyed it – so I was really disappointed it didn’t fit.  I need to figure out how many to decrease so it fits Larry.  And now I’m not sure what yarn to use to make him one since I don’t think he and Dan will want the exact same hat (although I definitely have enough yarn left).   Good thing he has another hat to wear while I figure this out…

So now I think I’ll go back to my Fair Isle hat, and then I have a decision to make – start a new sweater or finish the Aleita shell.   I’m really torn – I just have the top of the shell to go, and I’d love to have it to wear to work, and I could probably get it done in a few weeks.  But the call of a new sweater, new yarn….so hard to resist! 

This was a fast week – I really do love a four day work week.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have it all the time?  Have a great Friday!

22 Responses to Just a little big…

  1. Julie says:

    I can so relate! I used the small sized needle throughout on my second attempt, and skipped the increases after the ribbing altogether. Even then I thought it was a smidgen too big but got no complaints from the recipient.

  2. Mar says:

    YAY…DAN GOT A NEW HAT! Looks good on him…little big on Larry….unless of course he is incognito.

  3. When I start a new project, the old one is cast aside. Poor Hey, Teach. If you’re anything like me, you should use finishing Aleita as the incentive plan before you start the new sweater!

    That Acer is really cute, though….

  4. Cookie says:

    I’m so glad it fits Dan.

    Once you finish that top, you could get more to celebrate. Just trying to be helpful. ;^)

    xo

  5. weezalana says:

    Glad you found someone to fit it, it turned out great! (Somehow Larry doesn’t strike me as the slouchy beret type. ;))

  6. Susie says:

    It looks great though! I hadn’t read that on Ravelry either so I’m glad I read your blog. This is one of my future projects…for my eleven year old!

  7. Kim says:

    The hat looks great thank goodness for different sized people.

  8. kim says:

    This made me laugh. I think we’ve all been there….

  9. Missy says:

    Sorry it didn’t work out, but at least your hat found a good home.

  10. Steven says:

    I have two hats that fit me exactly like that. You’d think it would be so easy to figure out how big to make a tube, but amazing how easy it is to mess up.

    Congratulations for the quick repurposing turnaround!

  11. misa says:

    I love picture #2, what a reluctant model. The hat looks great on him though. I haven’t done turn a square yet, but I will definitely keep the big thing in mind if I do.

  12. brokeknits says:

    Sorry about the hat … at least you had an emergency back-up big headed person available. Good luck on battling startitis … although the Acer cardi looks really good!

  13. Lynne says:

    Doesn’t that just get you? I’m glad someone with a big head was able to wear it!

  14. Kim says:

    That’s the good thing about hats. If they don’t fit, there’s always a head nearby that it will fit. And hats are so quick it’s easy to whip out another. I’m going to keep my eyes peeled for Dan in his TAS hat on NJTransit.

  15. hakucho says:

    Good thing you have different sized heads in your family 😉 Love Dan’s hat 🙂

    Can you go down a needle size or two? That might do the trick without too much figuring.

  16. valerie says:

    Big or not it still looks good!

  17. tiennie says:

    Great hat! Glad that you had someone that could wear it. 🙂

  18. Ren says:

    i’m glad there was someone else around who could wear the hat! it would have been really sad to have to frog… it’s such a nice hat!

  19. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Ravelry has become the source to go to before you cast on.

    It all worked out in the end.

  20. Opal says:

    that hat looks great on dan! i’m glad you could find a recipient for it. i love those blues.

  21. Wanda says:

    Too bad it didn’t fit Larry, but it worked for Dan. At least the hat didn’t go unused.

  22. rhoda says:

    thanks for the tip! I’m going to have to remember to check out rav when I finally decide to cast on for this same hat. It looks great on Dan though. I love how it knitted up!

Leave a Reply

