A hat for Larry…

Wow  – it is getting really cold here.  And its supposed to be even colder in the next few days.  So since I spent last weekend making myself some warm things, and since Larry didn’t have one – I decided to make him a hat…

1162

Pattern:  The Boyfriend Hat (Ravelry)
Yarn:  Cascade 220, Colorway Midnight Heather
Started:  January 11, 2009
Finished:  January 13, 2009

I really like this pattern – I made the same hat for Andrew last year.   I probably could have finished this Monday, but I am really tired this week for some reason, and seem to just putter out knit-wise by 9:00 p.m.  Anyway, its a great pattern, and I enjoyed making it again.  The yarn – well, Cascade 220 is one of my favorites so it was nice to use it – and this was stash yarn, so all in all, I felt pretty good about the project all around.

1168

I think Larry likes it – and really – its done just in time.  I think tomorrow its supposed to be 20 degrees – as a high.  Brr!    But I’m really looking forward to tomorrow – because it is my Friday!  Yea!  I took Friday off – we have Monday off  (love working for a bank!), so I decided that a long weekend was in order.   How could I resist?  Especially since Larry and I are going away for the weekend!  We are leaving Saturday, and going to Delaware – we are staying at a cute B&B  and going to Winterthur, the Brandywine Museam, and whatever other things we find to do.  I love seeing old estates, and although its not a great time of year for Longwood Gardens, we just needed to get away and think we will find enough to do there to keep us busy – plus a little relaxing time together.    We are staying until Monday, and I’m really happy we are doing this.  I may even try to squeeze in a quick yarn stop.   So I thought that I should start my weekend on Friday so I’m nice and relaxed  (plus Andrew is going back to school on Friday, so we are going out to lunch and grocery shopping). 

I’m going to start a new project tomorrow (tonight I’m really hoping to catch up on blogs) – I’m very excited about it and hope that its a quick one so more on that next time.  Happy Thursday (and keep warm if you are in the cold!)

25 Responses to A hat for Larry…

  1. valerie says:

    That’s a cool pattern! Have a great weekend

  2. lucette says:

    That is a great photo at the top. And is is very cold here too, but at least the sun was out.

  3. Lauren says:

    So jealous of your gardens tour. The winter has a quiet beauty all of its own. Enjoy!

  4. Elise says:

    Have a great time. You deserve a long weekend to relax!

  5. weezalana says:

    Excellent man hat! Have a great weekend away!

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Have a nice time with your “boyfriend”.

    A new project?- do tell us more.

  7. Have a great weekend!! Larry looks great in his new hat.

  8. Oiyi says:

    The hat is perfect timing. It’s so cold!

  9. donna lee says:

    Longwood has wonderful conservatories so there is always something to see. And of course, the crowds will be minimal. I love the hat.

  10. Kim says:

    Great hat! Enjoy your long weekend away! I have to work Monday, so sad.

  11. Vicki says:

    Hope you love it here in Delaware this weekend! I work at Winterthur and just wanted to let you know that if you love textiles, there’s a special tour option that you can request that focuses on the textiles throughout the Winterthur house.

    P.S. Hope you aren’t planning to travel by train as the Wilmington train station will be closed for midday on Saturday due to inaugural activities.

  12. Missy says:

    ooh Love the hat. Men are so hard to knit for. Does he like it?

  13. Opal says:

    i love the hat and larry looks great in it!

  14. Steven says:

    The hate looks great — can’t beat a great pattern and Cascade 220. It’s the workhorse of my stash (such as it is!)

  15. hakucho says:

    Nice hat 🙂 I just finished another hat for my eldest…now I have to figure out what to do next….?? fun 🙂

  16. MB says:

    Have a great trip and keep warm…hope to talk to you soon

  17. tiennie says:

    That hat is very cool! I like how the crown looks. Have a fun weekend!

  18. Denise says:

    Looks great, I like the first pic showing the top of the hat too.
    Have a great weekend, stay warm

  19. misa says:

    I love the top of the head shot, that looks like a good hat. It was -3.5 here this morning, ugh.

  20. jennygirl says:

    have a wonderful time! bundle up it sure is cold!

  21. kim says:

    Have a great time. I’ve heard that Winterthur is awesome! Love the hat too!

  22. Anna says:

    It’s great! Have a great weekend!

  23. Kathleen says:

    Nice hat. The ears may get cold in the temperatures we are having lately.
    I used the Cascade 220, Midnight Heather on some Christmas knitting and loved the results. My Midnight Heather looked more blue though.

  24. Ren says:

    the hat looks great and i hope you had a wonderful long weekend!!! : )

  25. Wanda says:

    That’s a great hat for Larry! I should make one for my bf too. I’m sure you had a great time on your long weekend.

Leave a Reply

