Snow day knitting

I finished my So Called Scarf on Friday, and I realized that I still had two skeins of Malabrigo left…I found myself on a snow day enforced knitting roll…so today you get three FO’s instead of just one…

1150

Yeah, I know – a little overboard and very pink and bright, but I just couldn’t help it.  So let’s take them one at a time…

Scarf

Pattern:  My So Called Scarf (Ravelry)
Yarn:  Malabrigo Worsted, Little Lovely colorway
Started:  November 18, 2008
Finished:  January 9, 2009

Love  this pattern – and I think its perfect for the yarn.  I used two skeins and this is a nice, long, light but warm scarf.     This was definitely my “I’m tired and don’t want to pay attention to a complicated pattern” knitting project – I would drag it out on nights and watch TV and not pay too much attention. 

1152

Hat

Pattern:  Last Minute Purled Beret (Ravelry)
Yarn:  Same
Started:  January 10, 2009
Finished:  January 11, 2009

I liked the pattern – but I must have not measured things correctly, because this is supposed to be a beret – and you can see from Cieara’s picture – it really isn’t.  The pattern says to steam it in shape, and I’m not sure that it would help – I think I must have just sort of cut it short – I was really eager to get this done, and stop using this yarn – this was the third project and I was really tired of it.  So its possible that I could have been stretching it to make the measurements…but I like the way it looks on me, and it will be warm, so its a keeper.  I may try this pattern again, though, and see if I can get it right. 
)1154

Mittens:

Pattern:  Peekaboo Mitten (Ravelry)
Yarn:  I think you know
Started:  January 9, 2009
Finished:  January 10, 2009

1157

Well, I think these are ok – I wore them out today, so I know they are warm.  But…I think next time I make mittens, I need to make them a little longer from cuff to thumb gusset, because these pull up a bit.    And I think I’d make the cuff longer next time too – I added a half inch, but probably would have been happier with a full inch, or even an extra inch and a half.  And these seem a little loose around . But really – I do like them, and think they will be pretty convenient on my commute because…

1158

Yes, they have a little opening so I can get my fingers out to get my train ticket, coffee money or whatever I’ll need fingers for.  I was afraid the opening would let in the cold, but as I mentioned – I wore them today, and they were pretty warm.   

1149

So there you go – my snow day yesterday turned into obsessive knitting and I’m pretty happy with the results.  I’m not sure that I’ll ever wear them all together – I’m a bit worried that the color and sameness will seem a bit…overwhelming.  I’m not sure why I bought this colorway – its pretty bright, and I’m more of a black/dark colors for things like this.      I still have about a skein of the yarn left – but I think I’ll put it aside for now.    

I did enjoy getting these fast projects done, and I think I’m going to make myself some more mittens and hats from the stash  – I have some single skeins of things and it would be nice to have a choice (this is my only hand knit hat!).    And I think I might make everyone some mittens – so easy and so fast!

I’m having problems with my January sock of the month – I didn’t like the first pattern I had selected – the yarn is too varigated and the pattern was lost.  The second try just seemed too big, so I frogged it.  I’m going to try again and I’m hoping that the third time is the charm – I don’t want to give up on the yarn since I feel like I should commit to using it up.   So cross your fingers!

OK, off to watch the rest of the game with the boys – have a great week!

30 Responses to Snow day knitting

  1. Oiyi says:

    Wow, look at all that Malabrigo goodness! Beautiful! And you are so fast.

  2. Lauren says:

    The mitten-less pic of Cieara should be famous. The pink is shocking but in a good way and she looks like an absolute bombshell. Sorry. Mom, I know you don’t want to hear those things said about your daughter but might as face the truth!

    So sorry we missed each other yesterday. Glad you enjoyed the day anywho.

  3. Rebekah says:

    Oh so cute! I think that is just about the right amount of pink, and I don’t even wear pink.

  4. valerie says:

    Beautiful! I love the colour of the yarn!

  5. kitkatknit says:

    More beautiful pictures of Cieara, she’s looking so grown up! mmmmmm Malabrigo – yum.

  6. tiennie says:

    These are wonderful!

  7. lilypily says:

    Well done! You could wear two together at any one time. The hat and scarf look great on Cieara too.

  8. Jeannie says:

    Very pink and very pretty! I don’t think all that pink will be too much if you wear them with a darker color. They look fabulous on Cieara all together.

  9. Donna says:

    My Em would say that there is nothing overboard or too pink about that set!

  10. Susie says:

    I love all the things in this post. I’m big into pink so this suits me just fine. I’ve been looking for a mitten pattern EXACTLY like this for my first mittens so, thanks to you, this will be my next cast on!

  11. Missy says:

    OOOOH I love the pink very eye catching. Those mittens look really nice and warm. =)

  12. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Ciera looks incredible in that color- alot of people can’t get away with it- but it suits her perfectly.

  13. The mitts look so warm and cozy!

  14. Kim says:

    You are a knitting machine! Gorgeous all and in Malabrigo too. Mmmmm. I have the same issue with berets. They never seem to turn out floppy enough even if I block them on a pie plate. However, it doesn’t seem to matter because the hats fit & looks awesome just like Cieara’s.

  15. lorent says:

    OK, I’m totally jealous, because a) snow day knitting time; b) beautiful FOs; c) you got into the Wollmeise sock club; and d) more beautiful FOs.

    I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, too, but Cieara is just gorgeous!

  16. Cookie says:

    Love!

    If you wear them together, people will be able to find you in a snowdrift or blizzard. ;^)

  17. Rhonda says:

    Wish I had snow days like that one. Great ensemble.

  18. chris says:

    Wow – you’re a knitting dynamo! Well done!

  19. Ren says:

    wow, those look great! i have a bright pink scarf, but i’m always too shy to wear it! hopefully you’ll do better than me. : )

  20. Jennifer says:

    Lovely FO’s and in Malabrigo too! I love that shade of pink too.

  21. kim says:

    Yummy pink Malabrigo! Isn’t it fun to take a day to just knit and knit and knit?

  22. hakucho says:

    Such a beautiful set! I LOVE love the color 🙂 Why didn’t I find that pattern before I made those nasty convertible mitts. I wonder if my son would have like those? Live and learn…there are just too many pattern out there to find 🙂

  23. Anna says:

    Oh my goodness, you’ve been knitting up a storm! I actually LOVE all three items together, especially with the plain top you’re wearing with them – don’t you look cute!

  24. Opal says:

    love the pink! *fingers crossed* for the january yarn!

  25. weezalana says:

    I LOVE the pink! (I’m a big fan of bright, in case you hadn’t noticed. ;)) All three are fabulous, and in Malabrigo, mmmmmm.

  26. misa says:

    Wow, those are all fabu! Particularly the scarf. And since when is there such a thing as too much pink?

  27. brokeknits says:

    Lovely pink! Everything looks so cozy and warm. Perfect!

  28. adrienne says:

    VERY CUTE! I LOVE the hat!!!

  29. Wanda says:

    very cute ensemble! I like the pink you chose as well.

  30. rhoda says:

    teehee..i wondered that if you would wear all three as an ensemble piece while out and about! the mittens look great. might have to check out that pattern!

Leave a Reply

