Last FO of 2008

I’ve been working on a quick project as a present for someone – and so I have one last finished project to show you for this year – I finished it last night, and wanted to blog it before the new year so you will have to forgive the pictures (and once again, a very uncooperative model!).

1096

Pattern:  Forest Canopy Cowl (Ravel it!)
Yarn:  Handspun – DK weight
Started:  December 26, 2008
Finished:  December 29, 2008

I wanted to make a cowl for someone – and I wanted to use handspun out of the stash.   I found this pattern on Ravelry, and just couldn’t resist it.  I loved making the shawl – and I absolutely loved the cowl.   In fact, I just may make another one.  The only modification I made to it was I didn’t use the right size needle on the border – I used a size smaller.  Just because I couldn’t find the right size – I think they all must be on projects.   But I think it turned out ok, and I sort of like it this way – its not as big at the bottom as some I’ve seen.

1097

The yarn was out of my stash – handspun all the way from 2006!  I bought the roving at Maryland Sheep and Wool, and spun this up pretty shortly after.  It was definitely thick and thin , but I think it works for a cowl.  The cowl only took about half of the yarn I have  – so I just may make a pair of fingerless gloves too!  The colors are accurate in the pictures above…but I wanted to show the pattern a little more..

1100

Isn’t that nice?  And so fast!  I really enjoyed making this, and probably would have had it done sooner had I not been knitting on Larry’s socks half of the time (I had to rip them back half way on the foot because I thought they were too loose). 

1101

I really did like the pattern, and I think I’ll make one for me – maybe out of the Malabrigo Silk that the pattern calls for – wouldn’t that be nice? 

So that’s it – that’s my final project for the year.  I finished 24 projects this year – 8 pairs of socks, and 16 projects ranging from lunch bags to sweaters to shawls.    I’m not going to do a listing of them – you can see them here or on Ravelry.  I’m pretty pleased with the projects I did finish – I’m especially proud of Cobblestone and Cleite – not to sound too full of myself, but I think those are the best that I did this year.    I was looking at what my knitting goals were for this year:

a) Knit from the stash more than I buy new yarn (ahem…well, probably didn’t make this one!)
b) Knit a large, triangle lace shawl (done!)
c) Knit a fair isle sweater (not yet – definitely on the plan for 2009!)

I’ve started thinking about what my knitting goals should be for 2009 – but I’ll post that later this week.

It is hard to believe that tomorrow is the last day of 2008  – time is going so fast!  We don’t really have plans – I have to work but I’m hoping that we get the snowstorm that is predicted so I can work from home.    Then it will be a quiet night with Larry and whatever kid(s) are home.   And I’m off until Monday, so I am looking forward to spending some time catching up on the other knitting projects in my basket.  And spinning – I’ve found my spinnning mojo, and will have some to show you this weekend.

Ok, I’m off to rummage through the knitting basket.  I want to close by thanking all of you that visit me here – you are all an inspiration and motivation for me.  I wish you all a very happy New Year and hope 2009 is a great year for you – knitwise and otherwise!

26 Responses to Last FO of 2008

  1. Rhonda says:

    You and I must be on the same wave length. We both finished cowls at the end of the year. All the best to you and your family in 2009.

  2. TheBon says:

    Happy Almost New Year! May 2009 bring you nothing but the best and most happy days you could ask for.

  3. Cookie says:

    That’s a lovely cowl! It looks wonderful in the snow.

    I’m very proud of you for finishing Cobblestone this year.

    xo

  4. The cowl is your own handspun? Gorgeous! Both the spinning and the knitting.

    We have to have knitting goals? I’m just going to float along, and see what the year brings. This has been a huge knitting year for me (to the detriment of the piano), so I’m not too worried. I have *piano* goals for 2009! Like, to actually start playing again…

    Happy new year!

  5. Lauren says:

    Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaappy New Year! Hope to see you soon! Hugs.

  6. Rachel says:

    Very pretty cowl!
    Happy new year to you and yours:)

  7. Oiyi says:

    Happy New Year! That is a beautiful handspun knitted cowl.

  8. Suzanne says:

    Very pretty cowl! Happy New Year’s! It was 10 below here today!

  9. lorent says:

    Beautiful cowl! I love the colors. I had moved away from the desire to knit a cowl or smoke ring, but now you’ve got me wanting one again…

  10. Kim says:

    So so pretty! I’m going to queue that one.

  11. Kim says:

    Beautiful!

    You’ve done well on your goals – it would take a strong…really strong…person not to purchase a little fiber!

    Happy SAFE New Year!

  12. Kim says:

    Oh…forgot to change my e-mail…

  13. Opal says:

    what a glorious cowl! it’s just gorgeous!

    happy new year, jeanne!

  14. weezalana says:

    That is just beautiful! Love the pattern and the colors are stunning!

    Happy New Year to you as well!

  15. kim says:

    You have one of the prettiest models. Lovely cowl. Happy New Year!

  16. misa says:

    Lovely cowl and the handspun makes it priceless. I’m with you on the wanting to knit a fair isle sweater goal. I started one last year and then abandoned it when I didn’t like the way the pattern was hiccuping at the sides and I think I was worried it wasn’t going to turn out nicely despite all the effort. Happy 2009!

  17. Kathy says:

    lovely cowl! Good luck with your goals 🙂

  18. Anna says:

    It’s lovely! Gorgeous colours. And a Happy New Year to you too!

  19. Jennifer says:

    That cowl is gorgeous in handspun!

  20. Steven says:

    You sort of made progress on goal one by using the stash yarn for that cowl — a step forward! It looks great.

  21. dawn says:

    Happy New Year! Some impressive knitting. Isn’t it nice that we can put it all in one place? I’m about to start this cowl over the weekend, it’s lovely!

  22. rhoda says:

    that’s beautiful!! must. add. to. my queue. thanks a lot. 😉

  23. Susie says:

    Beautiful cowl but a much more beautiful model, even if she was reluctant. I have two reluctant models…maybe they should form a union, huh?

  24. tiennie says:

    This is very pretty!

  25. Wanda says:

    Beautiful cowl! Your handspun is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

