Just a little something..

We had a very nice Christmas – Andrew let us sleep in a bit (usually he’s up by 5:00 a.m. on Christmas, but this year we got up at 7:00 – a record!).  We had a nice time unwrapping gifts, and I got very nice things from everyone, and I think everyone was happy with their gifts.  We bought the kids Guitar Hero Rock Band this year as our family gift, and we have been playing it ever since.  I found out that I’m really terrible at drums, and I like playing the bass best – so much easier!  We watched movies, ate, napped, and spent time together having fun – all in all a very nice, relaxing Christmas. 

I didn’t get anything knitting related for Christmas this year (oh, well, I did get Creative Spinning in my stocking and I’ll review it after I read it) but I figured as much, so I bought myself a little something before Christmas and it arrived yesterday.  I have been stalking this yarn ever since Lorraine mentioned how wonderful it is.

1076

Enchanted Knoll laceweight – colorway is Esmeaalda.  I’ve been checking out the site for a long time – she always has sock yarn (also gorgeous) but I really wanted laceweight.  So the minute this came on her site, I bought it – even though I’m trying to stay away from blue since I have so much laceweight in blue. 

1075

I love the colorway – blues, brown and a bit of green.    I’m thinking a pretty lace scarf – I just bought four patterns for scarves and shawls – and maybe one of them would be nice in this colorway – maybe the Iris or Hydrangea.  I haven’t knit much with beads (just a pair of socks) but I think this yarn would be really pretty in a beaded scarf. 

I had to start a new commuting project – I didn’t have a lot of time to plan, so I just picked yarn out of the stash that had been balled up already.  This is Koigu (colorway P46022).  I really love knitting with Koigu (surprised?  Is there any sock yarn I don’t like?), and although this is a sort of weird colorway, I really like it.  I love how it sort of stripes, and the quick color changes keep me from getting bored.

1078

The pattern is mine – I was in such a rush that I didn’t have time to look for a pattern – so I cast on with a 4×2 rib, and just started cabling every 5 rows.  I’m doing the cables without a cable needle, so this is really the perfect commuting (or getting my hair cut) project.  These are for Larry – he’s been such a great guy lately that I wanted to say thanks with a new pair of socks. 

1079

We are going to the movies today (we are taking Cieara to see Twilight), and I don’t have much else planned other than relaxing, knitting – and I’d really like to get some spinning time in.   Maybe a nap too.  And maybe more Rock Band.  Can you see its just going to be one of those weekends?  The best part about the time after Christmas is that its always sort of slow – just what we all need after such a crazy year. 

I have another new project, but I’m just about done, so I’ll post it next time as a FO post.    And I may have something else new to show…or maybe a couple of things.   🙂

I hope everyone enjoyed their holiday(s), and I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

20 Responses to Just a little something..

  1. Rachel says:

    Lovely sock and most delicious lace yarn!

  2. weezalana says:

    Pretty laceweight – and sock! Sounds like you have a wonderful, relaxing weekend ahead of you!

  3. Rhonda says:

    I love the colours in the laceweight. Can’t wait to see what you pick. I think either pattern would be perfect.

  4. Denise says:

    Twilight! I saw that twice in one week, with two different sets of 15 year old girls. Will I still be invited to these movies when they can drive themselves to the theaters?

  5. Susie says:

    Sounds like you’re having a wonderful holiday season. And some great yarn to boot! Doesnt’ get much better than that does it? Hope you continue to enjoy it!

  6. Anna says:

    Love the Lorna’s Laces – what a gorgeous colourway! And the Koigu socks are lovely too – the yarn is working well with those cables!

  7. Opal says:

    Oooh! Enchanted Knoll! Now that’s a really special treat.

    Can you let me know how you liked Twilight? I’ve been hearing strange things about that movie. Like maybe I need to be 15-years-old to truly appreciate it. 😛

  8. Jennygirl says:

    Lovely yarns.
    And the Koigu socks look great in that “pattern” Just enough to keep you busy, yet simple enough fir the colors. Hope you had a lovely weekend!

  9. lorent says:

    That yarn is stunning! I’m NOT going to look, I’m NOT going to look…

    We got Guitar Hero Rock Band, too. There’s no more knitting in my family room alas. I was surprised at how hard the drums are, even on the easy setting!

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you 🙂

  10. That Koigu works so well with your improvised pattern – wish I could do that 🙂

  11. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous laceweight!

    What did you think of Twilight?

  12. Oiyi says:

    Oh 7am!!! Sounds like you all had a nice Christmas.

    My DH got Rock Band last year for Christmas. Everyone that coems over always wants to play. The most that I have ever done is sing. He got a wireless guitar, so now we can have someone play bass.

  13. Robin says:

    Love the Esmeralda colorway and the Koigu you’re working with. Great Christmas cookies and knitting ornament from past posts. Best of all, I love the snow falling on your blog and the pictures of your big storm! Send it my way!

  14. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- That’s one color I don’t have- but you can’t go wrong with EK- her dying is really special.

    I love the socks- totally cool and funky.

  15. tiennie says:

    We forbid our kids from waking us before 7am. 🙂 So glad you had a happy Christmas!

  16. kim says:

    What is with the Twilight craze? If I see one more book or t-shirt or soundtrack or poster, I think I’m going to lose it….

    That yarn looks like it will be really yummy to work with. Enjoy!

  17. katie m. says:

    Gorgeous yarn! And great looking socks.

  18. rhoda says:

    ooh, love your commuting project! 🙂 the esmeralda is beautiful. can’t wait to see what you decide to make with it. yikes…5am?? rock band? we did a bit of rock banding ourselves and like you, I’ll stick with the bass. the drums require too much coordination. lol.

  19. Wanda says:

    That is a pretty colorway of Koigu.

Leave a Reply

