Snow day!

I used to be able to work from home just about every week.  Then we had a change in management, and all of a sudden no one could work from home except in special cases.  I formally applied to do it on a regular basis, but never got an answer.  But yesterday, when the weather forecast called for a big snowstorm, I went to my boss and asked him what I should do if it snowed.  I live pretty far away from where I work, and it was supposed to be bad.  He told me to use my own judgement and that if it was going to be bad, to work from home.  Yea!

So last night, I read all the weather alerts, checked the news, and decided that it would be terrible and that I’d just work from home.  So I slept in and woke to this. 

1058

Great.  No snow.   It was too late for me to catch a train, so I started working and kept on looking out hoping to see snow – because I was getting worried that it would never snow and that eventually my boss would call me and say “hey, are you coming in”?

But finally, the big storm came….yea!

1064

It is snowing pretty steadily here, and we are supposed to get somewhere between 4-6 inches.  But I think it may be more because its just snowing – and not raining or sleeting like they said.  And it is so pretty, and its so nice to be here at home, working and not worrying about a nasty commute. 

And its also nice to be able to blog a bit during the day and show you a finished pair of socks!  (This is a Christmas gift, so if you know you are getting these socks from me, stop reading!)

1068

Pattern:  Tidal Wave Socks
Yarn:  Socks that Rock, Bella Coola cololrway
Started:   November 13, 2008
Finished:  December 18, 2008

OK, not a great time on finishing.  But I really haven’t been knitting a lot.  I have been working a lot, and sleeping when I’m not working.  And doing Christmas shopping.   I’m hoping that once I’m done with Christmas shopping, and work settles down a bit (I’m not off during the holidays but everyone else is so it should be slow), I’ll have time to get back into knitting regularly.    I want to finish what is in my knitting basket because I found my next project, and I want to cast on…

Anyway, back to the socks – I modified the pattern to reduce the number of stitches – this is medium weight STR and I just didn’t like how loose they were with the cast on in the pattern – so I reduced it by 16 stitches.  Other than that, knit as written.  I really like the pattern, and would make it again.  I didn’t really need to look at the chart beyond the first repeat, and I actually enjoyed doing the feet just plain stockinette.    Usually my socks have the pattern down the foot, but I went with the pattern on this and really liked it – so soothing.   I love the yarn – I really do like Socks that Rock, and this colorway is so pretty. 

1070

I am looking forward to this weekend – tonight because of the snow, we’ll stay in, light a fire, watch some TV, and just relax.  And knit.  Tomorrow I’ll be (hopefully) finishing up my shopping, and then going to my sister’s house to celebrate my niece’s 21st birthday (Happy Birthday, Allison!).  Sunday will be wrapping, shopping for Christmas dinner, napping, and knitting, and maybe a dog walk if it doesn’t snow again. 

OK, I better get back to work – have a wonderful weekend!

25 Responses to Snow day!

  1. Cookie says:

    It’s snowing so hard there that it’s showing up on the blog! ;^)

    Very nice socks. I really like that colorway.

    Happy weekend!

  2. Anna says:

    I love your snowy blog! Sounds like a good thing that you didn’t go in (and not just because you got a lie-in…)

    The socks look great, beautiful colours!

  3. Punkin says:

    Your socks turned out great. The yarn and pattern were a good match.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  4. Rachel says:

    Oh snow,,,, why does it never come here is my only question! 🙂

    Your socks are lovely, whoever is the recipient she is very lucky.

  5. Leigh says:

    Love those socks! I’m off to add that pattern to the queue now. 🙂
    Thanks for the suggestion about the personal sock club… I think I have a plan. As soon as I finish one sock, I can cast on another one in a different yarn. Then when I finish that one, I’ll go back to the first sock and knit it’s mate. I hope this works….. 😉 Stay warm!

  6. Susie says:

    It’s so beautiful there. Looks like you’ll have a white Christmas. At the rate things are going here we’ll have a slushy one! Oh and I love the socks!

  7. tiennie says:

    Those are great socks! We try to work from home as much as possible. I love it.

  8. weezalana says:

    Pretty pretty socks! They have sort of a Pomatwhateveryoucallitish look about them, and love that colorway!

    WOW, I can’t believe it went from ground to that much snow so quickly. Good call on working from home!

  9. Jennygirl says:

    I would have been nervous too with no son on the ground. Great socks. I think there’s another storm coming this week also.
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

  10. Ren says:

    oooh, i really like those socks! the colors are great. : )

  11. kim says:

    Don’t you just love the “use your own judgement” phrase? Well, if I do that, I’m sure as sh*t going to stay home! I used to have an hour+ commute and be terrified driving the Merritt Parkway. Now it’s ten minutes and I still don’t want to go in. Great socks; I was never able to finish a pair of those.

  12. Elise says:

    So glad it snowed for you! Good luck with all you shopping too.

  13. Opal says:

    I just love those socks! Such pretty blues.

    I’m glad you got to work from home. 🙂

  14. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Lovely socks. I have alot of STR but no blues for some reason. Those are pretty.

    DH works from home, and with the phone ringing, kids in and out and animals, he thinks it’s quieter at work.

  15. Kim says:

    I went throught the exact same thing on Friday. Woke up too late to take the train and felt so lame calling in when there wasn’t a flake in the sky. So glad it snowed a lot! Yeah snow day! Sledding & knitting. Love those socks too!

  16. Steven says:

    Brrr! Looks like you got those lovely socks done just in time!

  17. donna lee says:

    I’m jealous of all the snow! We got rain,rain and more rain. It made the shopping wet but doable. Now the shopping is done and the wrapping has to happen.

  18. Valerie says:

    I try to work from home whenever possible. I wish I could do it everyday! The socks look lovely

  19. Rebecca says:

    Micromanagement stinks sometimes. My hubby telecommutes all the time and supports his employees that want to do so. In fact, he is on his way home at lunch because the weather is looking pretty ominous. I love having him home. So glad it did end up snowing for you 🙂 And……pretty socks!

  20. chris says:

    Have a Great Holiday!

  21. Kim says:

    Your socks look great – someone is getting a fantastic gift! Glad you like the snow – I am grateful to have escaped it.

  22. Snowy_Myst says:

    How awesome and gorgeous!!! I’m snowed in, too!! Have been all week. It’s rare for Portland, OR to have snow like this! Where I live, just south of Portland, we got 18 inches!! Makes me all warm and fuzzy inside.

    Happy Knitting!! I’m doing the same!!

  23. Lauren says:

    Socks look super-awsome! They *almost* make me want to knit them… except that they’re socks! 😉
    Happy Holidays! Hope to see you soon,
    L

  24. Rebekah says:

    I just love snow days, I never get them here in St. Louis, it just never snows enough to justify staying home.

    Beautiful socks!

  25. Wanda says:

    Those socks turned out well. The colorway is very nice.

Leave a Reply

