Boston and a birthday

1029

Cieara and I had a great time in Boston this weekend.  We stayed at a very nice B&B, My niece’s concert was beautiful, and Saturday we met one of my nephews for breakfast and then took a trolley tour of the city.  We went to the Old State House …we liked the stairs…

1010

And the whalebone and wood knitting needles!    Aren’t these amazing?

1003

We really had a great time touring, and ate at some amazing restaurants.  I wore Abby too – it worked out perfectly – it was comfortable and kept me very warm.  It was really nice to spend time with my sister and niece – and we really liked seeing Boston – what a great city – the history, the sights – I can’t believe its taken me this long to visit.  I think we’ll be back to spend a little more time there.   

Unfortunately, Cieara caught a cold and it got worse overnight.  But she woke up to some gifts from my sister, and a pair of earrings from me. 

1048

Aren’t those pretty?  Opal made them for me – I saw them on her blog, and she very nicely worked with me to make the perfect pair for Cieara.

Tonight it is a special dinner for Cieara, cupcakes, and then tomorrow its back to normal life.   I’m so glad that Cieara and I had this break (and I did get one sock done knitting at the B&B!).

Have a great week!

18 Responses to Boston and a birthday

  1. Rebecca says:

    I’ve only been to Boston once and it was only for a day of sightseeing. I would love to go spend more time there. It sounds like you had an enjoyable weeked. COOL staircase! And, those knitting needles are incredible….wouldn’t you just love to give them a try? Happy birthday to Cieara again!

  2. Christianne says:

    Sounds like a great time – Happy Birthday Cieara!

  3. Lauren says:

    Glad you got a break! Love Cieara’s earings.

  4. kim says:

    Ah, Boston, my favorite city! We were just there the day after Thanksgiving. It was rainy, but still great. It makes me want to pack up all of my things and move there!

    Hope Cieara is feeling better!

  5. Elise says:

    I loved my one trip to Boston many years ago. Happy belated birthday Cieara!

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I went to Boston a few years ago, and I plan to go back, and maybe get as far as Cape Cod.

    Salem was amazing, and worth a trip to, just to check out the Witch Museum.

  7. Rhonda says:

    Sounds like a great weekend. I envy you!

  8. kristin says:

    I LOVE the snow on your blog!

  9. misa says:

    The snow was freaking me out a little, I thought my browser had the pox. I love the way those earrings spiral.

  10. Ren says:

    those stairs are amazing! i love cieara’s earrings, too! glad to hear htat you had a good weekend! : )

  11. Denise says:

    Sounds like a fun trip. We are planning a trip to Boston during the xmas holiday break, and I had seen that B& listed and thought of it as a possibility. Was it close to public transportation? Was it chilly in the rooms? We have family Boston and have been there a lot, and this time we are planning to see the new contemporary Art Museum if I can get it all together.

  12. Valerie says:

    Boston looks liek a beautiful city!

  13. rhoda says:

    it’s snowing!! 🙂 love cieara’s earrings! those are fantastic. 🙂 the staircase is super cool! and those knitting needles!

  14. Jennygirl says:

    Happy Birthday wishes for Cieara!
    What a lovely weekend. Glad you had a good time. Never been to Boston either, but it’s on my list 🙂

  15. tiennie says:

    Sounds like a fun time. Happy birthday to Ciera! Hope she’s feeling better.

  16. PrincessPea says:

    I love Boston – it’s one of my favourite US cities. Your b&b looks amazing!

  17. kitkatknit says:

    Your stairs photo is amazing!!!

  18. Wanda says:

    Happy Belated Birthday to Cieara! Those earrings are lovely.

Leave a Reply

