Abby

965

I had a very uncooperative model tonight, so you will have to excuse my pictures.  Cieara was in one of those moods, and Dan was encouraging her to fool around, camera battery was dying….all of this didn’t make for a normal blog picture session.  But this has been finished for days, and its time to post it.

956

Pattern:  Abby from Knitty, Fall 2008
Yarn:  Handspun from Cherry Tree Hill roving, colorway Jewel
Started: November 22, 2008
Finished:  December 1, 2008

I really liked this pattern, and it really was a good knit.  Easy to memorize, but not boring so I didn’t feel like it was a slog to get done.  I really enjoyed using my handspun – I had 975 yards of laceweight(ish) – and I think I used a little under half.   I left this yarn as a single and it was sort of thick/thin and I think that really adds something interesting to the cowl.   The colors went from the bright magenta at one end to more muted tones at the other – I suppose I can switch it from bright to dark depending on my mood!

968

This fits me very well, and I think it will be great to wear this winter.  Light enough not to mess up my hair, but I think it will protect my ears from cold wind.    A very nice quick project, and I recommend the pattern – especially for handspun.

I sold some of my stash on Ravelry this week, so now I have a little bit of money in my Paypal account that I’m trying to decide what to do with it.  Some Woolen Rabbit sock yarnSereknity sock yarnSocks that Rock (they are having a sale!).  Or should I save it and wait.  So hard to decide. 

I haven’t been knitting much this week – just a little on the Tidal Wave socks.  I really need to finish them up as they are a Christmas gift – the only gift knitting I’m doing this year.    I also want to get back to the sweaters I have going – its getting cold here and I would like a nice warm sweater to wear!.  I’m also very behind on blog reading but I think I’ll catch up by Sunday night…maybe…because….

Cieara and I are heading out tomorrow with my sister to go to Boston for the weekend.  We are visiting my niece at college, and its a girls weekend to celebrate my blog model’s 17th birthday on Sunday!  We are going to see my niece in a concert, and Saturday we will be touring around Boston.  I’m not actually sure what we are doing – my niece planned it all out, but I’m looking forward to getting away.  I’m driving, so no good knitting time, but maybe I’ll have a chance to check out some yarn stores!  I did buy Cieara a special gift to open on her birthday in the morning – hopefully she’ll coopearate so I can take some nice pictures of her with it.

Have a great weekend!

17 Responses to Abby

  1. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne-Oh, my vote is for Woolen Rabbit!

    Happy birthday to Ciera- and enjoy Boston- Wollcott & Co in Cambridge is a great shop.

  2. Punkin says:

    I have been looking forward to seeing this. It turned out great. I like how the colors flow.

  3. Oiyi says:

    A beautiful accessory for this Winter! Don’t mention yarn sale!! Socks that Rock!!! Drool…

  4. Rebecca says:

    Nice pattern! I’m going to have to check that one out. I’m like you – I don’t like the smooshing down of the hair, so this may be perfect for me.

    Have a wonderful time in Boston with the girls!

  5. Elise says:

    Have a great time in Boston. We’ll miss you on Saturday! I need to make myself a sweater too 🙂

  6. kim says:

    Aw, she doesn’t look that unwilling. She looks so pretty in it!

  7. Cookie says:

    Next time, get Dan to model if he can’t be helpful behind the scenes. ;^)

    It’s lovely. I need to do some spinning, so I can knit that pattern.

    Happy Birthday, Cieara!

  8. Shea says:

    Dan would have been lovely in the cowl. You definitely should’ve made him model. 🙂

    Tell Cieara Happy Birthday for me!

    Shea

  9. Sereknity is so vibrant but I think I’d go with the Woolen Rabbit too.

  10. weezalana says:

    STR sale! STR sale! STR sale! Because then I ca live vicariously through you. 😉

    Lovely Abby! And in your own handspun, which makes it extra special!

  11. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful knit! I love the colors!

  12. rhoda says:

    abby looks great! it’s hard being a model, you know? 😉 hope you all have a fantastic time in boston!

  13. Rachel says:

    Mazal to Cieara 🙂

    Your cowl looks great and the photos too, I don’t know what do you want from the model! 🙂

    And as always I am for the woolen rabbit of course.

  14. brokeknits says:

    Abby looks great! I hope it helps you stay nice and warm in Boston.

  15. misa says:

    A lovely lovely cowl. Bonus money too? This is a good day indeed.

  16. tiennie says:

    It’s very nice! I love the snow on your blog!

  17. Lynne says:

    Reeeaaaaaly nice. Love the colors. I ‘ve never knit a cowl…I just may have to do something about that!

Leave a Reply

