Back to normal

It feels like its been years since I’ve been online – the house was full, and I didn’t get a chance to look at anything online until today.  But now the guests are gone, and the house is quiet, and we are sitting here on a cold rainy Sunday with a fire in the fireplace…and although it was nice to see family, I have to admit that I’m happy that its getting back to normal.  We had a really nice Thanksgiving – it was great to see my mother, my brother and my nephew (not to mention Andrew home from school!).  The meal was good and I think everyone had a good time.

One of the nice things about having a knitter visit was that I got a lot of time to sit with Mom and do a little knitting…

953

Yes, I started a new project – Abby.  I am just about done, and I think it will be perfect for a day like today.  I really enjoyed using my handspun, and my mother liked it so much she started one in Koigu from my stash! 

We also took a break from the whole family on Friday to run to the yarn store –  we went to Down Cellar – I really love this store, and was glad to have a chance to show it to my mother.  She bought Cascade 220 in a gorgeous shade of blue and I bought some Malabrigo Silk.  There was so much gorgeous yarn there that it was hard to resist buying more – but I was reasonably good.

Now it is time to for back to normal – back to work, back to school for the kids, and back to knitting my other projects.  I hope you all had a wonderful holiday and weekend – and now I’m going to catch up on blogs and knitting!

20 Responses to Back to normal

  1. Rhonda says:

    I liked Abby too, but right now I’m working on Aibhlinn from Knitty. It’s just seems like other knitting has to get done first.

  2. Lauren says:

    Glad you survived the holiday, too!
    Hugs.

  3. Bridget says:

    Sounds like a great holiday weekend. Your Abby will be beautiful in that yarn!

  4. Rachel says:

    Your Abby looks really pretty!

  5. Lorraiine says:

    Jeanne- I really like your handspun.

  6. Rebecca says:

    How nice to have a Mom to go to the knitting store with and to sit and knit with! My family groaned when I asked to ‘drop by’ a knitting store on the way to a movie. 🙂

  7. katie m. says:

    Gorgeous colors! I can’t wait to see the finished piece.

  8. lorent says:

    Beautiful! I love the rich colors. I’m trying to design my own smoke ring right now, and not getting very far.

    Sounds like you had a nice Thanksgiving 🙂

  9. Oiyi says:

    That is going to be lovely.

  10. bonitapita says:

    Really beautiful! Glad you had a nice holiday. Wish my mom knitted.

  11. tiennie says:

    Happy belated thanksgiving to you!

  12. Shea says:

    Your handspun is beautiful. I love the colors that you used and they look great with the pattern you chose!

  13. Anna says:

    How lovely to be able to knt with your mum! Sounds like a lovely weekend.

  14. misa says:

    I like Abby and the handspun is gorgeous. I wish some of my family knitted too. I’m working on something similar right now: http://ilgaleja.com/collection_mythicforest_balsam.php

  15. Valerie says:

    That’s beautiful yarn. I love the colours!

  16. Opal says:

    Gorgeous yarn. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

  17. adrienne says:

    Glad you had a good holiday!

  18. Jennygirl says:

    Glad you had a great holiday. Abby is sure going to come in handy soon. It is getting cold out there!
    Love the colors as usual 🙂

  19. Mrs MJW says:

    What lovely colors!

  20. chris says:

    Glad your holiday went well.

Leave a Reply

