Planning

941

I’m a planner.  And a list maker.  I just can’t help it.  Even when I try to be spontaneous, I plan it out and make a list of what I need to do to be spontaneous.  So I finally accepted it and keep a pad of paper in the kitchen, notes on my iPhone, lists on my computer.  And today is all about making lists and planning.

My mother is visiting from California for the holiday – she gets in tomorrow, and is staying with my sister until I pick her up Monday after work (I was one day short on the vacation I had left).  And my brother and nephew are coming on Wednesday.  I haven’t seen my brother or nephew in a really long time (12 years!) so I’m very excited.  So I have to plan meals, and snacks, and desserts, and activities and make sure we have enough pillows, sheets, blankets, and all that.  I need to make sure that we have things to do that everyone will like.  Oh, and I need to plan how I’m going to sneak in a little work too.

I thought I’d start by planning Thanksgiving dinner – we have the typical stuff (turkey, potatoes, etc) but I thought this year I’d also try a new cranberry sauce, and new dessert, sweet potato casserole (my brother said my nephew likes sweet potato casserole but didn’t say what kind – but I hope that this is what he meant!) – I might even try a new stuffing.  All of this looking at food makes me hungry – I love Thanksgiving dinner – I look forward to it for months.  I grew up in a big family, so I just love big family holidays – its been just the 5 of us for a couple of years, so I’m excited that its going to be more family this year – even if it means more planning! 

After I plan dinners and food, it will be time to start cleaning.  But I’m hoping to get a little down time today to knit – I definitely have startitis and starting looking at making a new cowl out of some handspun laceweight.  But I’ve resisted so far – but I think I may give in this afternoon and start it. 

 It is a beautiful day here – but so freaking cold.  The picture above is our ornamental grass – this is the first year that its changed like this – last year it just looked like grass, but this year it changed to a beautiful amber color and now it looks like this.  I thought it was so pretty – especially with the beautiful blue sky.  I’m glad that I will be staying in today, planning, cleaning and working – but its nice to look out and see blue sky and pretty grass.

OK, off to write my lists…have a great weekend!

18 Responses to Planning

  1. Sounds like it’s going to be a great holiday! I’m a planner, too. I’d say you have your priorities in order: plan for people, plan food. Start new project. Because if you clean now, it will just get dirty again, and you’ll have to do it again. Definitely leave it for a little later!

  2. nestra says:

    Your homespun laceweight is beautiful! As a newbie spinner I am competely in awe.

  3. Rachel says:

    Hahaha,,, I like how you plan your being spontaneous too! I am a big planner myself!

    You must knit that cowl it looks so nice.

  4. Missy says:

    I’m a planner too. Sometimes I think planning for an event is more fun than the actual event. =)

  5. weezalana says:

    Oh honey, I have a completely schedule *timeline* for Thanksgiving! Plans please me. 😉

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Sounds like you’re going to be busy, but in a good way. It will be great to have your family together.

    I am an incurable list maker, it’s a sign of intelligence.

  7. misa says:

    When I make lists my stress level definitely goes way down. I would say that I’m a spotty list maker, but when I do it I love it. The grass is pretty, it might make a nice centerpiece for Thanksgiving dinner.

  8. Kim says:

    How exciting for your family to visit! They are going to be very lucky to have all of that wonderful food. Have a wonderful time.

  9. kim says:

    What a lovely photo. I hope you have a wonderful week and enjoy your time with family.

  10. Mar says:

    I’m jealous….I hope all goes well….give Mom a hug from me….

    Love the grass…almost looks like it is frost covered…pretty.

  11. chris says:

    sounds likealot of wonderful food and good times. Have a wonderful holiday!

  12. tiennie says:

    It sounds like you’re going to have a wonderful family filled thanksgiving!

  13. Opal says:

    It sounds like this holiday season is going to be a winner!

  14. donna lee says:

    I make the same foods for Thanksgiving dinner every year and I still make a list. I love cooking that meal. Even if it’s only my family, I still make all the dishes and we enjoy the familiarity of it all. I make lists of when things need to get done or I forget. It’s that getting old thing!

  15. Anna says:

    I’m with you on the planning! For me, if I haven’t written it down, it’s just not going to happen – there are so many things to do that I can never keep them all in my head!

    Sounds like your weekend is going to be lovely – I hope you have a great time!

  16. Kim says:

    It’s good to have a plan. Whenever I feel like too much is happening and I am out of control, I make a list. It helps. I love Thanksgiving too. This year I am bringing fudge pie to my sister’s house (whole family goes there) then Friday I’m making a sweet pot casserole to bring to a neighborhood pot luck.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  17. rebekahsyarn says:

    I don’t think I could live without my lists and plans. Even if I don’t ever look at the list again, or I throw it out, just writing it down feels like an ccomplishment and helps me remember what I’m doing.

    Hope you have a lovely time with your family.

  18. rhoda says:

    teehee. i’m a planner and a listmaker too! such a good feeling to be able to cross things off that list. i’m sure everything went off without a hitch.

Leave a Reply

