Keeping warm

I haven’t blogged in days because I was waiting for Andrew to send me the pictures from the weekend – I forgot my camera so I had to use his.  I’ve reminded him, nagged him…and still no pictures.  So I can’t show you anything about the weekend – but we had a very good time.  The game was a lot of fun (but a little rainy) – I’ve never been to a college game, and we sat in the student section so it was very loud and um….spirited.  We really had a good time – its too bad that we haven’t gone before – I think we’ll definitely go again!  We went to a really good brew pub for dinner where I had very good beer (I’m normally more of a wine person but the beer was great!).  All in all, a very nice weekend, and a nice get away.

It has beem so cold here this week – it was 32 degrees the other morning when I was walking to work from the train.  I have a new scarf – but I really need some mittens.  I decided that I’d make Peekaboo mittens (Ravelry link) – the opening will be convenient.  The pattern calls for either DK or worsted weight.  I had both – but nothing that went with the new scarf.  So I thought about it and decided that I’d make a scarf to go with the mittens.  Went to the stash, went to Ravelry – and I finally found the right pattern for this yarn – only took three tries

This is My So Called Scarf and it is the perfect pattern for Malabrigo.  And it is the perfect pattern for train knitting.  And I love this scarf.

938

I started it last night, and it was hard to put down.    I’m going to make this and then make matching mittens – I think I may modify the mitten pattern to use the stitch pattern from the scarf because I think it would look nice – and I love the pattern – I wonder if this would make a good sock pattern?

939

Isn’t that nice?  It is so soft – and it will keep me warm.  I can’t wait for this to be done so I can start the mittens.  And I’m really looking forward to having warm hands in the morning!

Work has been insanely busy – but I’m taking some vacation next week because my mother is visiting from California (I think the cold weather is going to be a shock for her).  I have to work on my vacation, but hopefully that will be kept to a minimum, and I’ll have a chance to finish some knitting. 

OK, off to knit the scarf – have a great rest of the week!

25 Responses to Keeping warm

  1. That’s so pink! And I love it. Is there a name for that stitch pattern? It really shows off the yarn.

  2. Emilee says:

    Very pretty. That really shows off the color variations in the yarn.

  3. Suzanne says:

    OOOOhh!! Malabrigo!! The scarf is beautiful.

  4. Jeannie says:

    It looks so soft and squishy. It makes me want to try out some Malabrigo and knit one of those scarves.

  5. TheBon says:

    I just knit a “Herringbone Neckwarmer” which is basically a short my so-called scarf with a short garter band for buttonholes. It is definitely a great stitch pattern for malabrigo!

  6. Rachel says:

    Lovely scarf and stitch pattern!

  7. Terrye says:

    I really like the colors, but the stitch is neat. I tried to figure it out from looking at your pictures, guess I’ll have to go to the original pattern source.
    Nice! Your set will be eyecatching!

    Terrye
    Knitting Editor
    http://knitting.craftgossip.com

  8. donna lee says:

    I need new mittens, too. I made myself a scarf but I have old quilted mittens. I think I’ll wait until my last bit of christmas knitting s done and then treat myself to some mittens. Maybe I’ll get good and spin some yarn myself. That would be very satisfying.

  9. Elise says:

    At some point I’ll have to try this Malabrigo thing I keep hearing about! Love the colors

  10. Opal says:

    Mmm. The Malabrigo looks great in that pattern. I just gave in to the temptation and bought some myself. It’s on sale at Diva Knitting!

  11. hakucho says:

    Love your scarf! I started the same pattern (I’ve been wanting to try it forever), different type of yarn of course, a few days before I got started with the mohair socks. Hated to put it down, but will resume once I get the socks sent to my sister. Cute mittens…I’m looking for a pattern for the rest of the mohair…will have to keep that pattern in mind when I try to decide on a pattern.

    Stay warm 🙂

  12. Lauren says:

    I have the pattern on my list of things to do. So simple but I love it. Looks beautiful! Hugs!

  13. weezalana says:

    So pretty! Hmm, I wonder about socks – they’d be very thick and warm, but might not be very stretchy…

  14. chris says:

    It is coooold out now! I love that scarf – I gave mine away but always planned on another – someday!

  15. dawn says:

    That’s so nice. This shade is lovely, the pinks are just pink enough and variable enough to make the pattern pop. I’m about to hunt out some malabrigo to make a ruffled scarf, saw one on Thursday and it’s gorgeous.

  16. Missy says:

    ooh I love the new pink scarf. Great pattern and color. Can’t wait to see it done.

  17. Ren says:

    i’m working on a ‘my so called scarf’ right now, too. i knit one with malabrigo before — it is definitely a good pattern for that yarn. : )

  18. Susie says:

    This is gorgeous! I love the colors too. I just copied it and hope to make one of these for myself.

  19. rhoda says:

    ahhh, the ubiquitous my so called scarf! 🙂 it looks lovely!

  20. tiennie says:

    I love your version of this scarf. Love the colorway!

  21. jennygirl says:

    Mmm…warm and wonderfully pink. How about a matching hat too? It definitely got too cold too quick here in the NE.
    Have a great weekend!

  22. lilypily says:

    I love this pattern too. I made three of these scarves in all and was still not sick of the pattern by the end of the third one. Now that’s a good pattern! 🙂

Leave a Reply

