Raha Scarf

As promised, I have a few more pictures of the scarf – unfortunately, it was dark last night when I got home, and I don’t have time this morning to do a full photo shoot…

930

Pattern:  Raha Scarf, from Knitted Lace of Estonia (Ravelry Link)
Yarn:  Hand dyed yarn Lori Lawson by Capistrano Fiber Arts Studio
Started:  November 7,  2008
Finished:  November 12, 2008

My last post said I finished this in two days.  I’m not sure why I thought that, but maybe because it just felt like it was a fast knit.  But still – 5 days isn’t bad, and I know that I didn’t knit a couple of those days (now I feel like I’m arguing with myself about whether ir was a fast knit).

I love the pattern – and could absolutely see making another one.  This is a great way to use special balls of fingering weight yarn.  Although the pattern in the book uses a solid, I think it looks good in a varigated because the pattern is so big. 

933

I had Cieara modeling the scarf, but Dan wanted to try – I think he got into it a little too much.  But you can see the length of it – this made one very nice long scarf.  I’m going to really like wearing it – I hate when scarves are too short.

I bought the yarn at La Petite Knitterie in California a couple of years ago –  I’d link but the link goes to a bad page – I wonder if they are still in business?  I was visiting my mother, and thought we’d go on a yarn crawl.  The store was really nice – but a bit pricey.  Anyway, I bought this yarn there and just loved the colors and softness.  I’m glad to see Lori has a Etsy shop…

937

All in all, another good project.  Now I just need it to get cold here again so I can wear it!

The reason I can’t take better day time pictures is that we are leaving in a little bit to go visit Andrew in Maryland.  We are going to a U of Maryland football game (yea for the weather forecast of rain and thunderstorms all afternoon!), and then taking him out to dinner – maybe even a movie.  We are staying over and heading back tomorrow after breakfast.  I’m looking forward to seeing him – plus all that knitting time in the car!  I did figure out the socks – same pattern (Tidal Wave), less stitches = more striping.  All is good.

OK, time to go – have a great weekend!

24 Responses to Raha Scarf

  1. Elise says:

    Beautiful Scarf! It wouldn’t surprise me if you finished it in two days – you are superspeedy.

  2. Lauren says:

    Love the pattern+color combo. Nice choice!

    (And I miss you!)

  3. katie m. says:

    Looks great! Now I’m even more intrigued by the Knitted Lace of Estonia book …

  4. Cookie says:

    Beautiful scarf and what a fabulous model!

  5. theresa8888 says:

    Loving the scarf and have a great weekend!!

  6. Valerie says:

    Like I said before I love that yarn! And the pattern is beautiful too.. I love scarves but I was recently going through my closet adn I think I may have too many… is that possible?

  7. weezalana says:

    That turned out lovely! And it um… looks… interesting… on your model…

  8. adrienne says:

    HAHAH LOVE The scarf and the model! LOL

  9. Awesome Mom says:

    Beautiful! I love the expression on your model’s face, priceless!

  10. Suzanne says:

    I love the scarf. Nice model!

  11. Anna says:

    It’s gorgeous! I love how the lace pattern sets off the lovely yarn so beautifully! Great model you’ve got there too!

  12. hakucho says:

    Yay for Dan…he’s one awesome scarf model 😉

  13. Lauren says:

    Ha ha I like Dan’s pose. What a good sport and what a BEAUTIFUL scarf!

  14. lorent says:

    Your model is exhibiting the right amount of attitude, too 🙂 The scarf is gorgeous, no matter who’s modeling it! Hope you have/had fun in Maryland this weekend. Saturday was definitely not a good weather day.

  15. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Yes, that is model attitude! Enjoy your weekend.

  16. Kim says:

    Dan is NJ’s Next Top Model. Gorgeous scarf! Hope you got lots of car knitting done this weekend.

  17. tiennie says:

    Very pretty! You can guess whether I mean the scarf or the model. 🙂

  18. Debbie says:

    Thanks for sharing the link for the scarf. Very pretty!

  19. Ren says:

    what a great scarf! 🙂

  20. Sourire11 says:

    beautiful scarf! Nice model, too!

  21. Opal says:

    *L* Dan looks fabulous in the scarf! He should consider a modeling career!

  22. jennygirl says:

    Beautiful scarf and tell Dan he wears it well!
    The yarn is so yummy.

  23. rhoda says:

    i love everything about this scarf–colorway, pattern, and Dan did a great job standing in for Cieara! 😉

  24. susan says:

    Oh very nice. The yarn looks scrumptious and Dan is a natural at the modeling.

Leave a Reply

