Moving on

Thanks for all the nice comments on Cleite – unfortunately, its been very warm here, so I haven’t had a chance to wear it.  Hopefully the weather will turn soon (I know – I should be grateful that its warm, but I want to wear my shawl!).   But now that I’m done with the shawl, it was time for new commute knitting…

As soon as the shawl was done, I made Cieara one Fetching to match the one she had lost…

912

I really love this pattern – this took me a day.  The yarn is Studio Sport from Neighborhood Fiber Company – the colorway is Cooper Circle.  I think I have enough left over of this yarn to make another pair for me.    I really like the yarn – very squishy soft and the color is so pretty. 

After I finished that, I started a pair of socks…

918

The color definitely is off – this is Socks That Rock in Bella Coola.  It has dark and light blues/greens and its just gorgeous.  The pattern is Waving Lace from Interweave’s Favorite Socks.  I really like the pattern – memorizable, easy yet fast and interesting.  The problem, though – is that I think they are too big.  The yarn is mediumweight and I just think its too loose.  And yet…I keep on knitting.  I was going to frog them, but I didn’t have anything to do on the train tonight, so I did the heel.  These aren’t not me – so I need to sit my sister down and see how they fit.  The cast on is 64 stitches – and I think it would be better with 16 less.  Maybe 8.  We’ll see.  Or maybe I’ll just keep the socks and make her a pair in another yarn (I think are bigger than hers – or maybe I really just like these socks!)

Last weekend was wash the non-superwash socks day –  I really try not to use yarn that can’t be machine washed for socks, but somehow I end up with a bunch.  It is a drag since we have cats/dogs/fur – so we wash them and then lint brush them (really – don’t enlarge the picture!  You will think I never vacuum). 

906

I had such a busy week this week – so I’m so glad its Friday (you know, I think I say this all the time).  I got home to a box, though – always a nice way to start the weekend.  I ordered Knitted Lace in Estonia.  And wow.  I know I said I wanted a break from shawls but wow.  I want to make every single thing in the book – and I don’t know that I’ve ever had that happen – usually there are a couple I don’t like.    Amazing designs – if you have a chance to get the book, you should.  Beautiful shawls and scarves.  There is a part in the beginning about the history and all that – I’ll read it tonight but of course, I immediately just looked at the patterns.  I think once I finish the sweaters I’m working on, I’m going to start one of the patterns.  Some of the scarves would make great gifts.  (I really want to run upstairs and look for laceweight and start one!).

OK, its time for dinner, a glass of wine and a episode of Criminal Minds.  Have a great weekend!

19 Responses to Moving on

  1. Oooh, I like the Fetching in a tone on tone yarn. Mine have all been solid color. Yours are more interesting!

  2. Christianne says:

    The fetchings are really nice. I’ve got that book on my wishlist, too – I’m glad to hear there are so many nice patterns in it. Glad your long week is over – Have a good weekend!

  3. dawn says:

    Nothing like a pair of socks and Fetching after finishing the shawl, it must feel like you’ve knitted them super fast! I’ve ordered this book too, can’t wait.

  4. weezalana says:

    Nice new Fetching! And I really like how that Bella Coola is knitting up!

  5. Anna says:

    The Fetching is lovely! I agree with pdxknitterati – the looks beautiful in the variegated yarn.

  6. lucy says:

    Isn’t it a nice relief to move on to something or finally get excited about a new project? I can’t wait to see what you hatch up from the new lace book!

    Nice array of socks. I promise I didn’t enlarge the photo!

  7. Oiyi says:

    I love the yarn for your Fetchings!!

  8. hakucho says:

    You are so fortunate that you still had enough yarn to replace the lost fetching. So pretty…great save 🙂

    Love your latest socks…I can see why you can’t stop knitting them. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that they will fit 🙂

    have a nice weekend!

  9. rhoda says:

    the socks are nice! they remind me of the lace ribbon scarf a bit! well, you keep on knitting because the pattern and the yarn go so well together. nothing wrong with that. 😀 love the fetchings!

  10. Jennifer says:

    Fetching is such a great pattern. Every pair I see is so pretty.

  11. kim says:

    Love the Fetching mitts; the color is gorgeous.

  12. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I get a strange satisfaction out of seeing handknit socks drying- so pathetic.

    I got the book, but haven’t had a chance to look at it.
    More projects to add to the queue.

  13. Ren says:

    don’t worry… pet owners understand the fur problem! i swear our dog should have no hair left with the amount she sheds! but we love her just the same. : )

  14. Steven says:

    LOVE the picture of the drying socks. I get such a sense of accomplishment when I see row of handknit socks hung up to dry — both for knitting them AND for getting around to washing them!

  15. tiennie says:

    You always do such pretty work. Love the bella coola!

  16. Lynne says:

    Just look at all those socks! Isn’t it fun to see them all lined up?

  17. Lisa says:

    I saw your Cleite on the Twist blog! Stardom awaits!

    I love those socks too…pretty socks all in a row!

  18. rebekahsyarn says:

    I want that book so bad! And everyone is backordered on it. I may break down and see if they have it at borders or barnes and noble, and pay full price just to get it. Of course, I don’t really need it right away as my current knitting is booked for at least 3 months.

  19. jennygirl says:

    These do look a bit big. Hopefully they will fit your sister.
    love Criminal Minds. One of the best shows on TV in my humble opinion.

Leave a Reply

