Cleite

Friday night I finally cast off the last stitch and Cleite was finally done…

905

Yesterday, I soaked it and blocked it out on my bed – it was too big for my normal place on the floor in the hall.    I must say – although this got to be a little tedious to knit, it turned out very well…(Please excuse the hair – I hadn’t showered yet – and my normal model is at a friend’s sleeping over and I was too excited to take pictures to wait for either a shower or for her to get home!)

896

It really is a big shawl – and this is without one repeat of the pattern!  I am really happy, though with the size  – I think this is the biggest shawl I’ve done so far and it just feels good on the sizing – not too small, and big enough to really be able to wrap it around me easily.

898

Pattern:  Cleite from Twist Collective
Yarn:  The Woolen Rabbit Merino Laceweight, Morrocon Spice colorway
Started:  August 3, 2008
Finished:  October 31, 2008

As I’ve mentioned, I like the pattern and think it is very different than the shawls I’ve made so far.   It did get a little boring towards the final repeats – it is the same 24 row repeat all the way through – and within that repeat I think at least 8 of the rows are the exact same pattern (not counting the wrong side which is just knit/purl) – for the most part I didn’t really need to look at the chart except at the beginning of the row to make sure I was where I thought I was.   I’d recommend the pattern simply because the results are worth it – and I think it would actually make a good beginner shawl.  Miriam is an amazing designer – I have several of her designs in my queue to make.  But I do think I need to try a shawl that has various patterns throughout next time.  I got a little bored with this so it was hard to choose this over sleep on the train.

894

The yarn – wow.  I love this yarn.  There is something about it – I loved the way it feels – sort of a soft crunchiness.  The colors are gorgeous too.   There is a subtle variation in this colorway – not enough to obscure the pattern, but just enough to give it depth and interest.  The very first picture reflects the colorway the closest.   I do love Kim’s yarn – obviously liked it enough to ask for more for my birthday!  I’ve been looking at her sock yarn lately – her colorways are just so pretty…

Overall, I’m really pleased with the shawl.  I think its going to be a nice addition to my shawl collection.  I do think that I’m ready to take a break from shawls for a bit – I think I’ve been making them non-stop since the spring.  Maybe I’ll focus on socks and sweaters until after the holidays (and I’ll stick with that until I look at my laceweight stash and see something I want to use!)

893

Its been a nice weekend here – I got to work from home on Friday (yea!) so I had a productive work day and yet was home early so I could start the weekend early.  Yesterday I got my hair done (you wouldn’t know it from the pictures!) and then Larry and I ran errands.  We are painting the kids bathroom – prep for family visits for Thanksgiving.  I didn’t know the color so I thought I’d start with a shower curtain – we found one we liked so we’ll be painting the walls a very nice shade of teal blue.    Last night we made an amazing pasta dish with some of the roasted tomatoes from the garden last summer – so good!  Today Cieara and I are going to my sister’s house  – my sister is teaching Cieara how to quilt.  I’ll sit and watch and knit.  Just a nice relaxing day – a great way to end a nice weekend. 

Have a great Sunday!

37 Responses to Cleite

  1. brokeknits says:

    Beautiful! Definitely worth a bit of tedious knitting. Great color, too!

  2. Kim says:

    Cleite turned out so well. I love the finished shawl even more and you chose the perfect yarn! This does seem to be a great size. I like to wrap up in a shawl and not worry about it falling off of my shoulders.

    …just beautiful!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous, stunning shawl!

  4. Cookie says:

    You did a wonderful job on that shawl. It’s lovely. Well done!

  5. Rachel says:

    Really beautiful reward for a little bit of boredom.

  6. Christianne says:

    It’s really beautiful. I felt the same way about Icarus but it was so worth it. Sounds like you had a very nice weekend!

  7. Opal says:

    Gorgeous! I love the color and the stitch definition is unbelievably crisp!

  8. weezalana says:

    Beautiful! I can’t believe it’s that big without a repeat, too!

  9. dawn says:

    It’s absolutely beautiful, and I love the colour you’ve chosen. I resisted the shawls on twist this time around, but I’m so tempted to download this pattern.

  10. Anna says:

    Wow – that’s stunning! I love the yarn you chose!

  11. Rebekah says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!

  12. melanie says:

    The yarn and the pattern are perfect together, and your knitting – I’m envious! Congratulations.

  13. hakucho says:

    Your shawl is gorgeous! I bet you are happy that it’s finished. Now we’ll have to just wait and see what you make next…

    happy knitting 🙂

  14. Jeannie says:

    Beautiful!! The strong geometric lines make it totally worth the tediousness of the pattern. It looks like a great size too.

  15. Ingrid says:

    Fabulous as usual. Congratulations!

  16. Valerie says:

    Absolutely beautiful! And I love the yarn you used!

  17. Ren says:

    how beautiful! your shawls are always so gorgeous. : )

  18. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- It’s stunning.
    I understand what you mean, I get really bored with repeating the same pattern, but what I like about this one is you just cast off- and it creates it’s own edging.

    And you really did justice to Kim’s yarn- which you know is one of my favorites.

  19. donna lee says:

    It’s gorgeous. I like the size. One of the things that turns me off about a lot of shawls is their small-ish size. I like the more substantial size.

  20. Missy says:

    OMG that is really beautiful. I love the color!

  21. lorent says:

    That’s just gorgeous! I love the color, too. Have you seen the new Estonian Lace book? It’s got me drooling to start some more lace. Well, I need to finish the current sweater first, but then…

  22. tiennie says:

    This is just gorgeous! Beautifully done!

  23. jennygirl says:

    Yea! Ahh just soak in this beautiful finished project. Feels good doesn’t it. This truly is beautiful.

  24. nvrenough says:

    Just gorgeous!! Love the color. Great job!!

  25. rhoda says:

    it is absolutely stunning. there aren’t enough adjectives to describe how beautiful it is! I can understand you wanting to try a pattern in the future with a bit more variation. Though this one is truly great!

  26. Lynne says:

    Beautifully done, Jeanne!

  27. Robin says:

    Jeanne, this is gorgeous!!! I like a big shawl, too. Gorgeous pattern! And, love the color!!!

  28. Cece says:

    I’m a big shawl fan myself – yours is beautiful. Perfect to wrap up in!

  29. Shea says:

    That is one beautiful shawl. I love the color – I’m big into coral shades right now for some reason. 🙂

  30. Terri says:

    Truly beautiful.

  31. kim says:

    Your shawl is incredibly beautiful. I don’t think I have the patience for this type of knitting. I try, but it never seems to work you. Your work is just lovely.

  32. Sourire11 says:

    It’s so beautiful!!!!

  33. Miriam says:

    Followed the link here from the Twist Collective’s blog. It’s really lovely! I am a big fan of Kim’s yarn as well and have quite a few skeins in my stash that I take out and pet when I’m feeling low.

    Well done!

  34. Miriam says:

    Oh, also wanted to say… I bet yours is so huge because the silk it was originally worked in doesn’t stretch when you block it, but Kim’s yarn definitely does.

Leave a Reply

