Stress Management

Usually I don’t take a lunch – I eat at my desk, and work.  Which can lead to a bit of overload, and a bit of grinchiness on my part.   I mentioned it to a co-worker who also does the same thing, and we decided that we would start walking at lunch time.  A combination of trying to lose weight and trying to maintain perspective in a stressful environment.  So we mapped out a route and today we did it. 

It was a gorgeous day out – cold but beautiful.  We walked down to Battery Park – there and back was a mile.  I hate to admit that after working in New York for a year now, I’ve never really seen much of the area I work in.  I know how to get to my office, where my coffee cart is, where Godiva is, where Starbucks is, where the good cart for chicken is, where the yarn store is – and that’s about it (ok, so maybe I know the area a little).  So it was nice to walk around, and see some of the area.  We both ended up taking pictures on our iPhones and acting just like tourists. 

IMG_0142

Battery Park was really nice – but crowded.  Ignore the line of people  (in line for the ferry to Ellis Island or something) and isn’t that a pretty picture?  I couldn’t get them to move aside so I could take a better picture…

IMG_0146

The Stock Exchange – it was quiet today – lately there have been TV crews all over this area (unfortunately, eh?  I’m scared to look at my 401K).   Just a very NY picture, though, isn’t it?    It was a great walk, and we had a nice time.  I was much more relaxed in the afternoon, and we plan on doing this a couple of times a week.   Its just too bad we didn’t start this when it was warm out!

I’ve also been spending time at night with something that also helps with reducing stress …

887

I love this yarn – this is the yarn I got at Rhinebeck and it is so sock and silky and wonderful.

888

I love the way it is knitting up – and the feel of it in my hands just takes all my stress away.    This is going to be a wonderful sweater (I still can’t show you the pattern because the pattern pictures on Ravelry are so bad that you will think I’m insane for making it).

I have 3 rows to go on the shawl – I’m hoping to be done by tomorrow night.  I can’t wait – it is time for new commute knitting!  I have to replace one of Cieara’s Fetchings  (she lost one and I have more of the yarn in the stash), and then I’m going to start a pair of socks.  I feel like I haven’t knit socks in years – so I’m pretty happy about it. 

Have a great Friday – and I hope you do something fun to manage your stress!

18 Responses to Stress Management

  1. hakucho says:

    Glad you are enjoying knitting your sweater. Isn’t it a joy to knit with something so heavenly? I bet you are glad you did come home with it now 🙂 That is very fortunate that you have more yarn to knit another fetching for Cieara!!

    Happy Halloween and enjoy your weekend 🙂

  2. melanie says:

    The colours are intoxicating – what an artist to create that yarn!

  3. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- It’s a great idea- sometimes we need to force ourselves to get outside and enjoy our surroundings- but you always feel better after you do.

    Happy Halloweenie!

  4. Rachel says:

    Lovely stress management tools!
    I knit cowls,,, 🙂

    Your knitted yarn looks delicious.

    Have a great weekend.

  5. Cookie says:

    At least, you’re not out walking in heat and humidity.

    Beautiful yarn! I’m looking forward to seeing the sweater.

  6. Opal says:

    You’ve got some great stress management going on there! I think if it were less humid and hot, I’d be out walking about myself!

  7. Robin says:

    What a blue sky at Battery Park! Sounds like you’ve got a great plan for managing your stress and you’re lucky to have a coworker to walk with. I want to come to New York — see the sites, a play, the museums, the yarn shops. Would love to come during the holiday decoration time!!!!!!

  8. Robin says:

    I meant to add — that yarn looks amazingly soft!

  9. jennygirl says:

    I love to walk on my lunch. You have to get away from your desk for mental health reasons.
    Lately though, I have been knitting on my lunch, and walking after work. Long story.
    I can’t wait to see what this sweater will be. The yarn is beautiful.

  10. Jill R. says:

    That is a fantastic way to relieve stress!

    And you even got some beautiful pictures to remind yourself to hopefully do it more often.

    Way to go!

  11. Ren says:

    great pictures of the city. i’m glad to hear the walk worked as a stress reducer. : ) can’t wait to see the finished knit… the yarn is gorgeous.

  12. kim says:

    What great pictures. I firmly believe in getting away for a little bit during the day. It makes all the difference. I had to zoom in on your Wall Street picture because I swore that suit was my cousin. How funny. I love the colors in that yarn, so I’m sure it will be fabulous.

  13. Christianne says:

    Nice Photos – I can’t believe those people wouldn’t move for you! It’s nice to have someone to walk with and makes the time go faster. Looking forward to seeing how that knitting turns out!

  14. donna lee says:

    I tend to eat at my desk and not take a formal lunch. I’d probably feel less stress if I left the office and walked around. I work in downtown Philadelphia around the corner from the historic section. It’s really rather beautiful but most often crowded with tourists. I have taken some knitting to the courtyard of the building on nice days. And now that no one’s allowed to smoke there, it’s much nicer.

  15. James Thomas says:

    Re:

    “…it’s too bad we didn’t start this when it was warm out…”

    I live in Minnesota… winter descends rapidly and un-forgivingly here. To cut the stress down, though, my wife and I still do things outdoors when it’s cold.

    It never seems worth it at first, but after we’re all bundled up and breathless in the cold air, it feels soooo good!

    Great post,

    -J.T.

  16. rhoda says:

    isn’t it amazing to see what lies outside your office?? i tend to not take a lunch as well and just eat and work while the kids are having another class. though i have started ‘lunching’ with a fellow coworker and while she eats, we chat and I knit. 🙂

  17. Mar says:

    WOW, you really took those with your iPhone? they came out great…the sky is so blue.

    Awesome job on the shawl…..

Leave a Reply

