Local finds

Apparently this weekend was my weekend for trying new places and all of them were so great that I’m sure I’ll be going back…

Yesterday, Chris and I went to Why Knot Knit  – I think this opened a few months ago, and we wanted to check it out.  It really was a cute shop – pretty small, but a nice selection of yarn.  I bought a couple of things

880 882

Berroco Comfort DK – I think I got caught up in the price on this one.  In looking this link up, I just realized that this is 50% nylon/50% arcylic – for some reason I thought it was a wool blend.  I, um, don’t really usually buy or knit with acrylic.   I’m not snobby about it, but just prefer wool.  I really can’t believe it didn’t look at the label – it was so damn cheap that I just got caught up in the moment!   I bought 6 of the brown, and 5 of the tan – to make someone a cardigan (I wasn’t sure what color she’d like).  Unfortunately – I didn’t buy enough of either to actually make the sweater (once I got home and checked the pattern).  Sigh.  I’m feeling like an idiot at this point – but the yarn is pretty and I’m sure I’ll find something to do with it.  Maybe socks for the kids or something.   

I 878

I was apparently in a brown mood yesterday because the shop had this beautiful roving that I just had to get.  I just love the colors – very autumnal, and I think it will be beautiful spun up.  Now if I could just start spinning again! 

So there you go – the yarn shop was cute, and I’d definitely go back.  But maybe next time I’ll actually look at the label.

Last night we went out to dinner with friends – we went to a restaurant that we hadn’t been to before but that our friends raved about.  And wow – what a great place!  The food was amazing (I had the most amazing duck), and we had a great time.  Definitely will be going back.

I had breakfast with my sister this morning – and she is such a good sport that she let me measure her in the parking lot of the restaurant.   I’m sure we looked a little odd, but now I have her measurements since she’s requested a sweater (and hopefully can find her better yarn in the right amount!) .  I have the pattern picked out, but won’t show it yet since she occasionally reads this.   I really need to finish some projects though – the count is starting to creep up no matter how hard I try.  Maybe it is a good thing that the Berroco yarn worked out the way it did – I’m sure I’d have cast on!

Today, Larry and I took the dogs for a walk at Roaring Rock Park.  We have lived in this area for 13 years, and just found this little park online last weekend while I was looking for new places to walk.  So we tried it today.  It was beautiful – I wish I had pictures to show you but I forgot my camera, and although we took some pictures on Larry’s phone, something is wrong and he can’t get them to me.  It was really gorgeous out in the woods – and a very challenging trail for us and the dogs.  But we had a good time, and came home tired but happy.

All and all, a very good weekend.  Very active for me, but I did get enough down time to nap and knit too.  I hope your weekend was good too!

14 Responses to Local finds

  1. Christianne says:

    I did the same thing – I thought I read that it had wool in it, but when I went to the berroco site to link – I saw it was all acrylic. I feel the same way – but I’ll give it a go. Thanks for the link on the resturant, I was wondering how good it was. And don’t feel too bad about the park – the parking area was only put in about 8 years ago…..LOL!

  2. deborah says:

    that yarn is very popular at my LYS. Go to the Berroco website, there is a lot of pattern support.

  3. Lisa says:

    I haven’t bought any comfort yet but I really like it too…and was also surprised at the content. I think it is a great working yarn and the world has room for acrylic too right?

    Sounds like a lovely weekend!

  4. lorent says:

    I’m in love with that roving! Can’t wait to see it spun up. Hopefully you’re better than I am at actually sitting down at the wheel and finishing things…

  5. Missy says:

    I really like the earth toned colors you picked out. I do the same thing too often. I love to bargan shop.

  6. hakucho says:

    Could you use both the colors and make a striped or color work (mosaic) sweater? I’d say it must be pretty nice yarn if you thought it was wool. I bet it would work up nice and would be easy care 🙂

  7. rhoda says:

    the roving is gorgeous!

  8. donna lee says:

    I love the colors of the roving you chose. I seem to gravitate toward those kind of earth/autumn colors. That’s why I chose a roving of the month club as a mother’s day gift. I have gotten colors I would not have necessarily bought but now that I have them, I like them.

  9. Denise says:

    I don’t usually knit with acrylic either, but I do find that with nylon it is a super soft yarn. Bet they’d make great mitts or neck warmers 😉

  10. tiennie says:

    Beautiful fibers. I love the neutral earthy colors. I bet that you’ll find something to make with that yarn.

  11. Opal says:

    I have a project on the backburnert that’s using Comfort DK. It’s actually a pretty nice yarn. I was surprised it was an acrylic too.

    Love the roving! I’m spinning up an autumnal brown fiber right now too!

  12. Robin says:

    I LOVE THE COLOR OF THIS ROVING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. jennygirl says:

    You’re not the only one when it comes to that Berrocco comfort. It’s so reasonably priced. I wonder how a garment would feel…would ity be too warm?

  14. Sourire11 says:

    I’m actually knitting a baby sweater out of the comfort now! It’s pretty decent. I wanted a wool blend but my mom and the shop owner laughed at me because baby clothes that aren’t superwash are apparently a bad idea. Anyways the yarn is a bit splitty but the cables are showing up great. And it’s super soft. Pretty good for an acrylic!

    also I’m drooling over that roving.

Leave a Reply

