Rhinebeck 2008

I went to Rhinebeck yesterday – I had been undecided about it all week, but Larry finally convinced me that if I didn’t go I’d regret it afterwards.  Its not that I don’t enjoy stuff like this, but I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately, and just wasn’t sure that I was in the right frame of mind for Rhinebeck.   But I got ready, wore my obligatory piece of knitting (my Gust scarf), Larry had his Cobblestone, I charged my camera and off we went…

It was a beautiful fall day yesterday – just gorgeous.  As we drove up the highway north, the leaves on the tress were beautiful – gorgeous shades of reds, golds, greens, oranges….fall is my favorite season – I love the colors, the way the air smells…

863

Ok, full disclosure – this is actually my backyard.  I had the best of intentions to take pictures at Rhinebeck and didn’t take one.  It was just so overwhelming – the people, the fiber, the animals, sounds – I get a bit overloaded and just didn’t think about taking pictures. 

The yarn was gorgeous – but the festival was really crowded.  And my funk followed me there because I just didn’t see anything I really wanted to buy.  Yep – I had cash in my pocket and spent 4 hours there and didn’t buy anything.  I saw pretty yarn everywhere, and looked at a lot.  But I just didn’t like anything enough to buy it.  Or I already had something similar (if not the same) in the stash.  And the more time went by, and I didn’t have anything (unlike the other people that had bags and bags of stuff), I think it just became more difficult.  I didn’t want to buy any spinning fiber because I have a bunch of fiber I haven’t spun yet (and I have something coming in the mail that is going to increase my fiber stash by a huge amount). 

I know there are worse problems in the world than not being able to buy something at a fiber festival – but it really was sort of sad.    Larry bought some goat cheese so the day wasn’t a complete waste!  And we did have a good time walking around together, talking and just being out in the beautiful autumn day. 

There was one stall that I kept on thinking about though – Ellen’s Half Pint Farm.  I have some of her sock yarn, but I’ve always just drooled over her other yarn.  She has gorgeous colorways, and I was looking at her merino/silk yarn.  While I was thinking about it, I saw a sweater she had done up  – I asked about it and it was done in an alpaca/silk blend.  I loved the sweater so I found the yarn.  It was a lot more than I’d normally pay for yarn for a sweater.  So I walked away.  At the end, of the four hours, right before we were leaving, I decided that since I hadn’t bought anything else, I’d go back for another look.  I’ve wanted this yarn for years, and maybe this was the perfect year to splurge and buy it.

859

Isn’t that nice?  1600 yards of DK weight alpaca/silk.  The colorway is Fall Leaves – how perfect!  This yarn is so soft and so pretty.  I was looking at this colorway in other yarns – and it was more vibrant – I think the alpaca must tone it down a bit – it reminds me of the end of fall when the colors aren’t as bright as they are in the beginning – but still beautiful.

865

The yarn is already in balls now, and I’m going to cast on for the sweater this morning (so much for project monogamy!).  The pattern is for a cardi, and the yarn is used doubled so this should be a quick knit (once I get used to using needle sizes from 9 to 13!).  I think its going to make a perfect sweater for the fall and winter.  I’m so excited about it, and although I didn’t come home with bags of stuff, I’m very happy with my haul!

861

My cold finally went away, and I’m feeling much better.  I’ve been working hard on my knitting projects, and hope to get them all done by the end of the month – we’ll see what the new sweater does to that plan!  And then its time to use some of the other pretty yarn I’ve received lately…and time to start another sweater too!

OK, I’m off to cast on – have a great Sunday!

30 Responses to Rhinebeck 2008

  1. Bridget says:

    I was there, and had a great time, though I came home with just one yarn purchase, which is stuff i love, but still -one thing???

    Unfortunately, I was part of a bus group, and the trip otherwise was a disaster. So I don’t know that I’ll make it again next year.

  2. kim says:

    Oh, I wish I had known you were there; I would have said hello! I found myself wandering around looking for that special purchase that never really materialized. I did buy some lovely note cards and some obligatory alpaca. It was a beautiful day, and since I had never been before, I was so happy that I went.

    Your yarn is a great find!

  3. Kim says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely day ‘window shopping’.

    Your yarn looks heavenly – incredibly soft, no doubt.

  4. There’s nothing wrong with just looking! I went to Oregon Flock & Fiber and bought no yarn, but I don’t stash. I enjoyed a gorgeous fall day, and the company of the PDX Knit-Bloggers.

    But you enjoyed the lovely day, and came back with autumn yarn. Perfect!

  5. Stephanie says:

    That’s your backyard! That’s amazing. I am too used to urban areas and that surprises me.

    You know, it’s not a bad thing to not get grabbed by everything. If you had bought a lot of stuff, you wouldn’t feel like it was okay to buy the luxurious alpaca/silk that you really, really like. So it all worked out for you!

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better!

  6. Cookie says:

    I’m so glad you’re starting to feel better.

    Ya know, I don’t think there is anything wrong with being picky about what yarn you purchase. You bought something beautiful, that you want and are looking forward to working with. In my mind, that is so much better than being one of those people who is buying anything and everything they can get their hands on. Who wants to get home with a carload of yarn and wonder what to do next.

  7. Oiyi says:

    Um..I was one of those people that bought a lot at Rhinebeck. My friends were joking that the yarn and fiber I bought was bigger than me. I’m under 5 ft tall.

    I stopped by Ellen’s booth and indeed her stuff was gorgeous. But I had already unloaded a bunch of cash at Brooks Farm, so there was no way I could buy anything at Ellen’s. Oh well, next year.

    It was overly crowded. There were some booths where I left because I was frustrated with not being able to check out the yarns. The line to pay was so long that it blocked all the yarns. I went back to the main building in the late afternoon, and it was not crowded at all. You could actually breathe.

  8. Rachel says:

    Your new yarn is breath taking, which sweater/cardi are you going to knit with it?

    Your back yard looks like my best dreams, so beautiful, lucky you!

    Oh and in my view a nice day out with your honey and some good goat cheese would have been quite enough to declare it a great day.

  9. Elysbeth says:

    Sometimes it’s easier to savor one purchase, instead of feeling overwhelmed by many.

    Lucky you, Rhinebeck.

  10. Opal says:

    If anything can lift a person out of a funk, it’s that gorgeous yarn you walked away with and the start of a new project! I hope you’re in the midst of new project bliss at this very moment. 🙂

  11. tantej says:

    I can’t believe that’s your backyard. When can I come visit!

    I’ve yet to make it Rhinebeck, I’m hoping by next year I’ll have car and can just drive on up.

    The yarn looks luscious. Can’t wait to see the cardi!

  12. Christianne says:

    I’m glad you made the trip – it was a nice festival, if a bit crowded at some booths. The weather was beautiful, too. Have fun with that gorgeous yarn!

  13. Awesome Mom says:

    I would love to go to a fiber festival sometime they sound like a lot of fun. I am sorry that your funk ruined your fun. You did get a beautiful yarn, I wish I could feel it.

  14. hakucho says:

    Glad you had a nice day at Rheinbeck. Your yarn is gorgeous…can’t wait to see your sweater 🙂

  15. donna lee says:

    That is beautiful yarn. I am not fond of crowds and will probably never make it up to Rhinebeck although my husband keeps reminding me how much I would enjoy it. I’m not sure. I’m trying to aim for Maryland S&W next year since I missed this year because of surgery. I hear it’s less crowded.

  16. Denise says:

    Shortly after reading about your cold last week, I got a really bad cold. I told my family I caught the cold on the internet! I went to Sheep and Wool today, and I was astounded at the crowds. I bought some stuff, but not as much as in prior years.

  17. nvrenough says:

    Gorgeous yarn. I can’t wait to see the cardi. I was at Rhinebeck for both days and got some nice yarn only with something in mind…..I think.

  18. Lisa says:

    I love fall too – must be the cozy knitter in me! Those trees in your backyard look lovely.

    As for Rhinebeck – lucky you that you got to go and enjoy a lovely day with hubby – and ended up with something you are really excited about.

    Now what did you buy your stash I wonder?

  19. Linda says:

    Absolutely gorgeous yarn! I’m with you, the crowds were a bit overwhelming. I didn’t even see that lovely yarn. Enjoy knitting your new sweater!

  20. tiennie says:

    You have beautiful fall colors to enjoy in your backyard! Sorry you couldn’t find anything to get at Rhinebeck.

  21. Suzanne says:

    That yarn is beautiful!

  22. Ina says:

    Lovely yarn! For me, a lot of the fun of Rhinebeck is just being there and seeing what’s new. Shopping is secondary – my stash really could use serious knitting down.

  23. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I’m so glad you got that. I have some of her sock yarn, and I would not have been able to resist that-

    Think of it as a souvenir.

  24. Sourire11 says:

    Fall is my fav. too. Such a pretty time of year…

  25. Wanda says:

    Reading your post from the beginning, I was starting to feel bad that you didn’t even feel like buying anything. But when you are able to splurge on something nice like that yarn, at least you didn’t go crazy. Didn’t buy anything else, so you could splurge on that one nice yarn purchase.

  26. misa says:

    I think that is exactly the same yarn and colorway that Deborah fondled for at least a half and hour. Good choice.

  27. Mar says:

    LOL on the pic of the backyard…Don’t be in a funk…just think, it could be worse you could have an incomplete bathroom? 😀

    Think yummy italian food!!!

  28. weezalana says:

    Well now that’s one spectacular backyard!

    For a second I thought you might not have bought anything, and I was starting to worry about you… 😉

  29. Susan says:

    I’ve been in the same boat. Last year at Stitches. I just couldn’t make a decision and came home with little. I do like your choice in sweater yarn. Very pretty!

  30. rhoda says:

    love the backyard shot! 😉 hmm…i’ve seen that colorway (fall leaves) here before, haven’t I (or maybe something like it!). Either way, I love the colorway too!

Leave a Reply

