Eternal

I am now at the stage with my cold where it feels like it will never go away – that I’ll never be healthy again.  I swear it actually feels like its getting worse again, but I try to remind myself that colds do take a long time.  Larry is pushing Vitamin C on me and swears it will help – what is your rememdy?  Because if I don’t start feeling better soon, I may just go crazy!  Its been over a week, and its time – especially since we are having Indian summer and its beautiful out – and the only thing I want to do is sleep.

Friday was my birthday – and I had a really nice day.  I took the day off and went golfing.  It was a gorgeous day out, and we had a good time – after we had lunch on the deck.  Just so nice to be outside in the sun after being cooped up at work all week.

I got lots of wonderful gifts from my family – cookbooks, wine, movies, chocolate – all my favorite things.  I also got a little bit of yarn…

855

This is Merino Laceweight from the Woolen Rabbit.  The colorway is Black Velvet and it is gorgeous! 

857

This is Opulence by the Woolen Rabbit – it is a silk/merino blend.  Its a sport weight, and I have about 600 yards.  I love this yarn – I want to make either the Foliage shawl or maybe the Heartland Lace.  I really want to cast on for this – I was so tempted on Friday night to just bail on current projects and start a new one.  The yarn is just gorgeous. 

Larry also gave me a light studio to use to take pictures of the blog now that I get home when its dark out.  I took these pictures with it – and forgot to take a picture of itself!  I will next time – it is very cool, and I think it will hep me capture colors accurately.

So there you go – all in all a very nice birthday.  Life would be perfect if I could get rid of this cold and start feeling more like myself. 

I bought a pattern the other night – Fair Enough – I think this will be my next project.  I think it is so cute and would be great for this winter.  I just need to find yarn for it  – I have yarn in the stash, but think it may be too scratchy.  I am going to Rhinebeck next weekend so maybe I’ll find some yarn for it there. 

OK, I should get going  – lots to do today.  I hope you have a great rest of the weekend!

26 Responses to Eternal

  1. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- What a lucky ducky to get Woolen Rabbit for your birthday.

    Too bad you’re feeling crap- my remedy is Echinacea- 1000 mg 3x a day. I also take 1000 mg each weekday and skip the weekend. I think it helps.

  2. Denise says:

    I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling so sick still. Are you getting plenty of fluids, along with vit C? The vitimin C is supposed to shorten the duration of your cold. If you don’t feel better soon, you might consider going to the dr? A head cold for me makes me very congested because I have asthma, then I end up with a sinus infection. This has been going on for months for me and I’ve now been diagnosed with chronic sinus infection and am on antibiotics for a month!
    Happy Belated birthday, mine is next Saturday 🙂
    Your man looks lovely in the Cobblestone, and he doesn’t look like he has short arms at all! Oh, and the Cobblestone’s lovely too 😉

  3. Rebekah says:

    Hope you feel better soon. At least you have some beautiful new yarn to console yourself with. go ahead and snuggle it like we snuggled stuffed animals when a child.

  4. Cookie says:

    Belated Happy Birthday Wishes!

    Have you tried ginger tea? Always works for me. I hope you feel better soon.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Happy belated birthday! Sorry you were sick on your birthday though. 😦 I tend to take vitamin C daily, whether or not I’m sick — I’ve heard that that’s the only way it really helps shorten a cold. But being sick, I’d just drink lots of hot tea (look for a ‘cold care’ tea even), and broth (chicken noodle soup with real chicken broth! mmm) and steamy showers. Those are the things that make me feel best when I’ve got a cold.

  6. hakucho says:

    Happy Birthday a little late 🙂 Looks like you had a wonderful birthday with lots of nice presents.

    Sorry you still aren’t feeling well. I’m feeling much better and my neck is better too. I’m still tired, but ask my family –I’m always tired 🙂 One thing we swear by in our family is coldeze (I get the walmart equate brand). Start taking them at the first sign of a cold. I think it does make the cold go away faster and makes the cold less severe.

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend. Rest up and hope you feel better real soon …you don’t won’t to miss Rheinbeck!!

  7. Christianne says:

    Hope you feel better soon – I used to take Airborne, but now I just take theraflu – that seems to work really well. I know someone once told me a cold is a week coming, a week staying and a week going. That sucks.
    Your birthday gifts sound wonderful – I’m interested in your lightstudio – I need one – but have the tent already – does it come with the lights? And that yarn. To. Die. For.

  8. jennygirl says:

    Happy Birthday Weekend! Sorry you didn’t feel up to par. Lately the colds I have been getting have been lasting a week or so, instead of three days. I don’t know what it is, because I’m not into all that sanitizing stuff either. Like George Carlin, germs are good for the immune system.
    I like to use Vicks vapor rub and decongestants.
    And chap stick for the lips.
    Feel better soon.

  9. Awesome Mom says:

    Happy birthday! Lovely yarn!

  10. Rachel says:

    Hmmm,,, The Woolen Rabbit,,, so pretty!

    I am sorry this stupid cold don’t want to leave you alone! nothing wise to advise about getting rid of it. I just drink a lot of hot tea with fresh lemon and honey and bitch until it goes away.

  11. Jennifer says:

    Oh, I hope you feel better soon!

    Happy Birthday, you scored some lovely gifts!

  12. madalyn says:

    As soon as I feel a cold coming on, I run to the drugstore and buy some zinc — usually in the form of Cold-Eeze (http://www.coldeeze.com/). I do think it helps, although it’s important to take it early. So, since your cold is pretty advanced already, it might be a bit late for zinc. 😦

    Hope you feel better soon!

  13. lorent says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! I wish I had some cold remedies for you, but I don’t. Stay in bed, drink some tea, be pampered, and pet some yarn.

    That Black Velvet yarn is soo beautiful. Curse my yarn diet!

    Does the light thing help with the photos? Does it take up a lot of space? I really need to improve my blog photos.

  14. kim says:

    That Black Velvet is gorgeous! Happy belated birthday. It sounds as though you had a great day despite your cold. Feel better soon…

  15. tiennie says:

    Happy happy birthday! Glad you had a wonderful time and got some great gifts. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  16. Leigh says:

    Happy belated birthday – mine’s up this Friday! And – *hug* – thanks for thinking of me and my Mira Roo.

  17. lilypily says:

    Happy Birthday for Friday!! Glad it was a good day. 🙂 Hugs.

  18. Lisa says:

    Happy birthday Jeanne!!! Those are terrific presents and a light box – my heart got all fluttery for you – Larry is definitely a gem (don’t tell him I said so or his head won’t fit through the neck of that awesome Cobblestone).

    Sorry to have disappeared – time seems to be slipping by lately!

  19. lynne says:

    Kim’s yarns are so beautiful. I’m starting Fair Enough this week! I’ll race ya!

  20. Opal says:

    Happy Belated Belated Birthday! I love your swag! I’m especially jealous of your light studio.

    As for colds? I’m usually pretty stubborn and I just ride them out. I really hope you start to feel better soon. >.<

  21. Ren says:

    happy birthday! great presents, too! : ) i hope you feel all better soon… stupid colds!

  22. Ina says:

    Happy Birthday! Hope you feel much better soon!!

  23. weezalana says:

    Happy (oops, belated!) Birthday!!!! That yarn has quite the sheen, shiny!

    Hubster sleeps and sweats it out for a day and he’s fine. I ignore all the advice out there, lie on the couch, don’t get enough sleep and whine for five days.

  24. Wanda says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! Lovely yarny goodness too.

  25. rhoda says:

    happy belated birthday. wow, a light studio! what a great gift. 🙂 love opulence-it has a nice sheen to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

