New project

Once I got Cobblestone done, I realized I was down to two projects – a chevron scarf and Cleite.  Cleite is my commute knitting so I need something for home knitting.  I know I really should have gone back to the chevron scarf (started in January) but it is sort of hard to get excited about something that I already made once before – I have no idea why I wanted to do another one since this is truly an eternal pattern.  I thought about it and decided that since I had basically cleaned out the knitting basket, it was ok to start something new. 

I’ve wanted to make Honeycomb for a while – I even had some Silky Tweed in the stash.  So I started it on Sunday and got about halfway through the first repeat of the pattern after the ribbing.  And I kept on stopping to look at it.  And I finally had to admit it – I just didn’t like it.  The pattern calls for Silky Wool – and maybe the Tweed made the difference – but the pattern was obscured and it just didn’t feel right.  So I frogged it.  But I wanted to use the yarn, so I looked for a new pattern.  And after going through Ravelry, my books, my magazines, I finally found one I wanted to do…

850

This is the Aleita Shell, from Interweave Knits Spring 2008 (Ravelry).  I know – doesn’t look like much now – but it will soon!  The original pattern called for a linen yarn, but I think it will be great in Silky Tweed which is a silk/cotton/wool blend.  The colorway on this is sort of odd – the color card says purple, but its more of a wine.  I think it will be beautiful with black pants and a black shirt underneath.  And perfect for work.   I’m really enjoying knitting this – I really like this yarn.  I made Hypoteneuse from it and it turned out really well – I really should buy more (well, I should buy more of Silky Wool since Silky Tweed has been discontinued). 

I have one more day of work as I took Friday off.  So tomorrow is my Friday – and I’m really happy about it.  I’m starting to feel better, but between catching up from being off sick, and being sick, I’m really tired.  But Friday will be here soon  – and Monday is a holiday so I have a nice, long four day weekend!  I have lots of plans for the weekend – and plenty of down time planned too, so I’m really looking forward to it.

OK, off to knit – have a great rest of the week!

15 Responses to New project

  1. rhoda says:

    you only have two projects left in your basket??? I’m so envious! May I send you a few of mine? lol.

  2. Opal says:

    i actually like the shell a lot more then the honeycomb, but that’s just me. i love the yarn you chose.

    only two projects? *faints*

  3. weezalana says:

    I do keep hearing how the Chevron Scarf is the black hole of knitting. I should probably start mine now, so I can wear it…next winter…

  4. Denise says:

    That shell is pretty. I am looking for a snappy vest for a present for a teenager and I will keep that in mind. I had considered the honeycomb one but it looks like a lot of knitting.

  5. jennygirl says:

    You are well on your way.
    Both the shell and the vest should make for great quick projects.
    Have a great long weekend!

  6. Ren says:

    i love the color of yarn you’re working with. i think i like everything tweed. : ) have a great weekend!!!

  7. chris says:

    Hmmmm – I just happen to have a load of DK waiting in the wings – hmmmm. I’ve been looking at that pattern for ages.

    I’m sure it’s going to look just great on you!

    Happy Day before your Birthday!!!

  8. Rachel says:

    Lovely color!

    Have a great long weekend and a very happy birthday, Mazal Tov 🙂

  9. Missy says:

    Hope you are having a great long weekend. I can’t wait to see this knitting project progress!

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- We should all take this weekend and work on our projects and just do what makes us happy.

    I’m a suck for a nice tweed yarn.

  11. Punkin says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a nice comment about my socks. I have enjoyed looking at your knitting projects. The Cobblestone is gorgeous, and the display of your lace shawls is brilliant.

  12. LindaB says:

    Happy Birthday & long weekend off!

  13. hakucho says:

    The shell is very cute. Can’t wait to see more…

    Glad you’re feeling a little better. My cold’s much better too, except my neck has been killing me. I need a whole new body…sure wish I knew where to get one 😉

  14. tiennie says:

    That silky tweed is just beautiful!

  15. Wanda says:

    I know what you mean about the Chevron Scarf. I knit one and it seemed like it took forever and I don’t have any desire to make another one. One day you’ll finish it. Aleita will be gorgeous in that color of Silky Tweed.

Leave a Reply

