Cobblestone

837

I know – two posts in one weekend…but I finished the sweater and just had to show it off (and projects aren’t really done until they’ve been blogged)….

827

No, Larry isn’t crying – he was just overcome that I finally finished the sweater.  OK, he’s not – but it was a good picture of the sweater – and what’s more important?  A good picture of him or a good picture of the sweater? 

Details…

Pattern:  Cobblestone, Interweave Knits Fall 2007
Yarn:  Cascade 220, Midnight Heather (color 9449)
Started:   December 25, 2007
Finished:  October 5, 2008

834

I am really pleased with the sweater and the fit on him.  Do you remember where I started with this sweater?    I was so traumatized by the experience of knitting the completely wrong size and having to frog the whole thing  – body and sleeves – that it took me almost two months to re-start.  So I’ve really been knitting this sweater for a year.  So I can’t even begin to tell you how good it feels to have this done.  And have it fit. 

I do love the yarn – and I’m so glad that I switched from the Skye Tweed I had started the first one in – this one is so soft and the color is so nice.  I just love working with Cascade 220 – really a great yarn.  I really liked the pattern too (now that its done) – love that its knit in the round with minor seaming.  I think its a great pattern, and I’d recommend it highly. 

830

I had mentioned that the sleeves were too long and that I had to rip them back.  Hmmm….I found out that you can’t rip back from the cast on edge – you have to pick it out.  I did that for a little bit yesterday and got about 1/100 of an inch so I knew that I had to find another way ….

826

Yep, I cut both and picked up the stitches and just re-knit the cuff.  It was a little stressful doing it, and the second one went a lot better than the first.  But it worked out in the end, and Larry is happy with his new sweater.

833

Some projects just go well from the start, and are easy.  This one was a pain in the ass from the start – but I have to say – I think I learned a lot from it.  I learned to actually believe measurements, to check gauge and adjust for it (my stitch gauge was fine, but my row gauge was off – leading to the sleeve issue), and to fix my knitting mistakes (cutting the sleeves) rather than giving up or making someone wear a sweater that doesn’t fit well.  I know that next time I start a sweater I’ll take a little more time and make sure I’m doing it right from the beginning.

I’m finally feeling better today and am finally back to being active – I even made a cake for dinner!  I’ve already started my next project (and I just realized that I didn’t do a gauge swatch …so much for starting right from the beginning – that didn’t last long, eh?). 

OK, off to knit on the new project – have a great week!

28 Responses to Cobblestone

  1. Stephanie says:

    It looks GREAT! Congratulations on finally finishing it! No more worries about it sitting in your knitting basket, woo hoo!

    I also can’t wait to see what you’ve started next!

  2. weezalana says:

    It turned out fab! And it looks great on him, too – matches his eyes!

  3. Rhonda says:

    Congratulations, it looks fabulous. I’ve had to cut sleeves back too. But what a learning experience. Can’t wait to see what’s next.

  4. Christianne says:

    Waaahoooo! It looks wonderful – although I was wondering if it had given Larry a headache – but then you esplained that look on his face. It really does look nice – can I have the skye tweed now? Glad your feeling better, too.

    Swatches? Who needs stinkin swatches!

  5. hakucho says:

    Yikes…you sure are brave to cut BOTH of the sleeves!! Not sure I’d have the guts to do that!! The result is PERFECT and looks so nice on Larry. I bet it is his new favorite sweater. The color is wonderful 🙂
    You should be very proud of yourself, great job!!

    Glad you are feeling better. I’m a little bit better, but still feel really run down. I can’t wait to feel good…I have so much to get done.
    Take care and have a nice evening…happy knitting on your new project…yay 🙂

  6. Rachel says:

    Your Cobblestone and your man both look really nice 🙂

  7. Ren says:

    wow, jeanne, the sweater looks great! i’m so glad you persevered through all the problems with it. it looks well worth the effort! : )

  8. Cookie says:

    It’s fabulous!

    Well done! I’m so glad you were able to fix the sleeves. For a while there, I thought you would need to get yourself a long armed husband. *L*

    It looks lovely on Larry and really makes his eye color pop! 😀

  9. Awesome Mom says:

    It turned out great! I will never have to knit a sweater for my husband, he hates them with a passion. I think he looks good in sweaters but the only time I could get him to wear one was when we were dating, the second we got married the sweaters were gone.

  10. dawn says:

    That’s a lovely sweater, it looks warm and cosy (it’s cold here this morning). I think I’d like one for me!

  11. kim says:

    The sweater looks great on him and seems to be the perfect color. Great job!

  12. Kim says:

    beautiful! what a great fit.

  13. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- The color and style couldn’t be more perfect.
    I think it’s a success all around.

    What’s next?

  14. dragonxser says:

    wow – what a beautiful seater! Well done 🙂

  15. Opal says:

    The Cobblestone looks fantastic on Larry! And yes, it’s more important to get a good picture of the sweater then the model. 😉

  16. donna lee says:

    I have admired that sweater but all of that plain stockinette stitching has me a little intimidated. I just know my husband would love it because of its simplicity so I think I’ll have to just bite the bullet and buy some yarn.

  17. Missy says:

    I think that it looks awesome. By the way you hubby looks like a clothing model. LOL

  18. lilypily says:

    It looks great! Good on you for sticking with it and finally finishing. Larry looks pleased with it too. 🙂 Always a bonus huh?! 🙂

  19. rhoda says:

    yay!!!!!!! so glad to hear that you conquered your cobblestone and larry looks great in it. definitely a good color choice. I totally agree with Cookie–the color does make the color of his eyes pop! 🙂

  20. Jennifer says:

    What a handsome Cobblestone! That’s a great pattern, and picked a lovely color for your hubby.

  21. tiennie says:

    Haha! You understand us so well. We want pictures of the knitting and not the model! J/K! Handsome man, handsome sweater!

  22. Shea says:

    Looks fantastic! Is his hand tattooed or is that a hand stamp? 🙂 I just had to ask – my two year old is really into hand stamps right now. tee hee.

  23. rebekahsyarn says:

    Very Very Nice! I love that picture of him, it looks like he’s saying – why oh why do I have to be put on the blog. Or at least that is what my hubby would be saying.

  24. Fantastic! It looks great! I can’t believe you just cut off the bottom of the too-long sleeves, though. What bravery .. impressive!

    Congrats on a gorgeous FO!!!

  25. jennygirl says:

    This turned out beautifully! Great job too, regardles of the speed bumps along the way.
    Swatch? What swatch? 🙂
    Glad you’re feeling better too.

  26. lucy says:

    Hey Congrats for such a great knit!

  27. Lynne says:

    A great sweater…and it makes Larry’s eyes look even bluer!

  28. Wanda says:

    even though you had to start Cobblestone over, it is perfect now. That shade of blue is perfect for your hubby. He has beautiful blue eyes!

Leave a Reply

