A short armed man

I had no idea when I married Larry that he had freakishly short arms…

825

And no, it has nothing to do with the fact that my row gauge has been off on this sweater the whole time.  I’m going with the freakishly short arm theory.

I will be ripping the sleeves back 5 inches and re-knitting the cuff.  Sigh.  But I think I’ll get that done this afternoon, zip through seaming the underarms, weaving in ends – and this sweater will be taking its bath by 5:00.    And I’ve already picked out my next project – so I hope to start that tonight.

Thanks for all the wishes to feel better – I’m on day three and DayQuil just made it worse.  Sigh.  I am getting a lot of knitting done though, so I guess it all balances out. 

Have a great Saturday!

 

\

9 Responses to A short armed man

  1. Ren says:

    oh no! at least it is a relatively short amount to rip out and reknit… good luck finishing up and i sure hope you feel better.

    oh, and i’m clearly behind since you already commented on it, but you won an award on my blog. : )

  2. Rachel says:

    That is too bad! did you try pulling those arms a bit? heheheee,,,

    And what is that next project I want to know.

    I hope that bug (whatever it is) will decide to leave you soon and you will get better!

  3. Opal says:

    Eeks! What happened to Larry’s arms? You need to rubberize them and grow them a few inches instead of ripping that beautiful sweater! 😉

    Feel better soon!

  4. LOL! I had to shorten sleeves for DH, too. Maybe he and Larry are related? But mine was not a top down sweater, so I cut off the cuff, picked up stitches, and knit down anyway. There was no way I was going to take the sleeve out after I’d sewn it in!

  5. hakucho says:

    Oh, boy feel for you with the ripping out part, BUT the sweater looks fabulous. Glad you are not too upset about it.,..that helps 🙂

    Hope you feel better real soon. I thought I was doing better this morning until I started with some coughing fits…now my head is killing me. We are a good pair 😉

  6. Steven says:

    A friend of mine had the same problem! (See pictures here. Mayb it’s the pattern and not the DH.

    I’ve had the same issue for sweaters I’ve knit for myself, and I always thought I had ape arms. My problem usually arises from me trying to block the body of a sweater wider, forgetting that doing so can affect the arm lenght.

    Sorry you have to rip, but just be thankful this was knit down from the shoulders!

  7. Christianne says:

    Poor Larry’s Arms. Maybe they became shorter after having to hang up that Quilt Rack?

  8. tiennie says:

    Yes, it’s definitely the arms and not the knitting! 🙂

  9. Shea says:

    I completely read the title wrong. For some reason I was expecting a short man carrying around a gun. Silly me!

    Just think about the future – think of all the time you’ll save knitting for the hubby on his next sweater. That’s 5 inches saved on each arm!

Leave a Reply

