Early present

817

I had mentioned to Larry that I needed to find a place to keep my shawls – I don’t like folding them up because they get all squished and wrinkled, and I didn’t think hanging them in my closet was a good idea either.  I had been throwing them over a chair in my bedroom – but they always fell or dragged on the floor – not a good solution.  And I definitely wanted to keep them away from the cats – who would like nothing better than a nap on lace. 

The other night, I came home to find an early birthday present…

818

Larry found a wall quilt hanger that works perfectly for my shawls.  I love it!  There is plenty of room for more, and I love looking at all the shawls  – although I really do need make some that are not blue don’t you think?  Good thing the current one in progress is red!  I couldn’t be happier with my gift.

Larry is such a good guy – which makes me glad that I’ve been working on his sweater (and didn’t blow it off to start something new).  I finished the second sleeve on Tuesday.  Today I’m home sick from work – it started yesterday at work, and I felt so bad this morning that I decided to take off (and thanks to the guy on the train on Tuesday that sat next to me and coughed and sneezed for 45 minutes!).  I have spent the day napping, drinking tea and watching movies – and knitting a bit. 

821

I initially had some issues getting my mind around the short rows.  Robby (blogless) had mentioned a post on Knitters Review about them that was helpful, as was the article on Knitty.  I finally figured it out, and it seems to be coming along fine (once again, it really helps to just trust the pattern!).

822

The color on these pictures is a bit off – but I can’t seem to capture it – this is a much better picture of it.  I am really happy with this project now, and I’m so glad that the end is in sight.  And it is getting colder here so it will great to have it ready for him to wear.  I’m really enjoying knitting it – and it is making me feel better (except when the aspirin wears off and I feel like crap again). 

OK, I’m off to have another cup of tea and watch a movie.   Have a good Friday!

32 Responses to Early present

  1. Stephanie says:

    That’s a great way to store your shawls! What a nice surprise.

    Get better soon!

  2. Steven says:

    Great idea for hanging up the shawls! Hope you feel better soon.

  3. Cookie says:

    What a lovely and thoughtful gift. I’m so glad you’re getting closer to the end of that sweater.

    Feel better!

  4. Bridget says:

    How pretty! And what a great idea – I know it would have never occurred to me …

    Hope you’ll feel better! I have a cold this week, and finally today I’m feeling like a human being again.

  5. Ren says:

    what a great present! you can admire your beautiful shawls all the time. : )

    good luck finishing up the sweater and get well soon!

  6. hakucho says:

    Can my husband take some lesson from Larry on present buying?

    That rack is unbelievably awesome, gorgeous, fantastic and so on and so on. Wow …I’m really impressed 🙂 All your beautiful work showcased superbly 🙂

    Enjoy!

    Feel better real soon…I’ve got a bug too and feel lousy…is cold season starting early or what?

    hugs 🙂

  7. Shea says:

    Love the new quilt rack! That’s a brilliant idea. And how romantic was it that he did it all on his own? My hubby doesn’t have a romantic bone in his body and would never dream of doing somthing like this unless I shoved it in his face.

    By the way, hope your cats aren’t attracted to long drape-y things. My cats would see the ends of those shawls as something to grab. Then again, so would the puppy. 🙂

  8. Robby says:

    love, Love, LOVE the quilt rack for your knitted treasures! I’m going to start looking for a unique way to copy that, if you know what I mean. Glad you cleared the short row hurdle. Gorgeous blue!

  9. Angela says:

    what a great idea! my knits (shawls, scarves, mittens) are stuff in a tub in the coat closet – i’ll have to show my hubby this post so he might get an idea of a super christmas gift idea! (btw, i love the green shawl especially!)

  10. weezalana says:

    What a fab rack!

    Okay, that didn’t come out right…

  11. Emilee says:

    What a great idea. Beautiful and functional!

  12. Kudos to Larry for a great gift! What a perfect idea. And the bow on it is very sweet!

  13. Christianne says:

    What a wonderful present! You are just sailing right through Cobblestone. Feel Better – sorry to hear you were home sick.

  14. Jennifer says:

    What a wonderful gift! Your shawls look lovely displayed that way.

  15. kim says:

    What a thoughtful gift for such beautiful knitting!

  16. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- You mean to tell me that shawls aren’t meant for cats to lay on?

    Feel better soon.

  17. lucette says:

    Your shawls look so great just like works of art, which thery are.

    Get well soon.

  18. Missy says:

    Wow, that is really beautiful, and your shawls look awesome on there. You are so talented. I love the sweater that you are making for your husband as well. My little one who is 4, saw the picture and said “blue shirt… pretty”! Got that one trained well don’t I? Hope you are feeling better! Have a great weekend!

  19. lorent says:

    What a great idea! Not only do you keep your shawls handy, but you get to admire them all the time, too. Maybe I’ll hint to my hubby…

  20. Rachel says:

    I hope you get better soon.

    Both your man and your early present man are fabulous 🙂

    Just yesterday I joined that KAL and decided to rip off a sweater I started for Joe and knit the cobblestone for him.

  21. Rachel says:

    ooops, can you please erase the extra man there,,, thank you 🙂

  22. jennygirl says:

    Larry is such a gem! Enjoy your new shawl rack, as you look at it with pride.
    Hope you feel better soon 🙂

  23. lilypily says:

    Hope you feel better soon. I hate it when people cough and splutter around me. Blaaah. Your shawl hanger is gorgeous. Larry is not only very thoughtful, but very clever too. That really is thinking outside the square! 🙂

  24. Denise says:

    Nice cobblestone! and thanks for the comment on my scarf. The colorway is 207 and I hadn’t seen it before.

  25. Josiane says:

    What a great idea, and a wonderful gift too! How nice that he could take your list of shawl storage needs, put them all together, and come up with the perfect solution!

  26. Opal says:

    What a fantastic present and a fantastic idea! I need to get me a few of those. It makes an awesome wall decoration too!

  27. Susan says:

    He’s definately a keeper if he came up with that gift! What a great idea. Your finished shawls look beautiful!

  28. rhoda says:

    what a wonderful and thoughtful gift. 🙂 hope you feel better soon!

  29. tiennie says:

    What a great place for your pretty pretty shawls!

  30. Natalie says:

    Great idea for the shawls!

    I’m thinking that might be a good idea for in our bathroom – we need somewhere for more towels. 🙂

  31. Lynne says:

    What a fabulous present! Well done Larry.

    And the shawls look so pretty hanging there.

  32. Robin says:

    What a great way to display your shawls! A very thoughtful gift.

Leave a Reply

