Surprise!

Yesterday at knitting, group I got the nicest surprise….blogless Elise gave me a pair of socks….

809

Elise is an amazing knitter, and is also a wonderful designer.  I had brought some sock yarn I didn’t want to the group a while ago – and she took some and gave it back to me yesterday in the form of these beautiful socks.

This is a seed stitch, cable pattern and I really love it – Elise didn’t write the pattern down, but I think I’m going to try and copy it.    Elise is thinking about putting her patterns up on Ravelry – I hope she does – she’s really creative and I’d love to make her designs.

808

I don’t remember the name of the yarn – I bought it online.  It really is very nice, and I think these socks will be perfect this winter.  Thanks, Elise!

814

As I have mentioned, I’m trying to finish some of the WIPs I have in my knitting basket – so I finally got around to starting the second sleeve on Cobblestone….and I’m about half way done with it.  I am using Cascade 220 on this sweater and I really do love it.   

813

I read ahead in the directions for the sweater to the yoke part – with short rows.  I’m a bit confused and hope that once I get there, and start doing it, it will just flow.

It has been raining here like crazy today – I’m so glad that I’m staying in.  I putzed around the house for a while, made oatmeal raisin cookies – and now its time to put my feet up and finish the sleeve. 

Have a great week!

16 Responses to Surprise!

  1. hakucho says:

    Wow, I thought your new socks were awesome when I saw the 1st shot, but then… a big surprise…the side cables!! Gorgeous!! I sure do hope your friend shares the pattern 🙂

    Cobblestone is coming along very nicely. Looks like a joy to knit…good luck getting it finished. I can’t wait to see more….

    We’ve been very wet here too. I made beef stew today, but that was all I had the energy for. Oatmeal cookies sound very good to me right now…I wish it was earlier in the day. Guess they’ll have to wait for another day 😉

  2. Christianne says:

    All I know is that I’ll be handing Elise some yarn next time I SEE her…..LOL. They are really nice and look like they would be very warm. It seems like you are well on your way to finishing up Cobblestone!

  3. lorent says:

    Those are beautiful socks! I don’t know about where you are, but it’s been cool and rainy here, so I got to wear some of my handknit socks already. They really are heavenly. Can’t wait to see how the Cobblestone turns out, too.

  4. Kim says:

    Wow – your socks are beautiful. Isn’t it amazing when someone loves you enough to make a handknit pair of socks for you?

  5. Robby says:

    As I recall someone else had some questions about the shortrows in Cobblestone. There were a couple of threads about it on Knitter’s Review. I believe the knitter ended up contacting Jared Flood who kindly answered about the pattern. If you want to check out Knitter’s Review, it was in the “Stuck on a Pattern” section on the board.

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Those are terrific- how generous of her.

    I’m not a big fan of the short row technique, but Jerod’s directions should be easy to follow.

    You have a terrific week as well.

  7. Missy says:

    I love the cables in those socks. How pretty. Just in time for the cooler weather.

  8. tiennie says:

    What a nice surprise!

    When you get to the yoke part of cobblestone, it will make better sense once you are knitting it. Great color!

  9. Ren says:

    what nice socks! how very sweet of your friend to knit them up for you! : )

    good luck on your cobblestone, too!

  10. Denise says:

    Awww, that was so nice for your friend to knit you socks with the yarn you gave her. They look lovely and comfy too. Keep going with the cobblestone, it will look great when it’s finished.
    🙂

  11. donna lee says:

    What a nice gift! The color of the socks is perfect for the pattern. The pattern reminds me of the knee socks I wore as a child.

    I had a hankering for home made cookies all weekend but was not ambitious enough to make them.

  12. Opal says:

    Those socks are gorgeous! I do hope she posts the pattern up on Ravelry.

    That Cobblestone is going to be fantastic. I love the color you chose.

  13. bonitapita says:

    Isn’t getting a gift like this out of the blue such a treat! We are lucky people!!!

  14. Steven says:

    Beautiful socks! How neat that you gave this yarn away and it came back to you (insert metaphor about true love here!). And lovely work on the Cobblestone — I have a friend who knit this as her first adult sweater and she loved it. The sleeves kind of got away from her, though.

  15. hakucho says:

    Check out my blog…you just won an award 🙂

  16. rhoda says:

    what a great pair of socks!! I, too, have nominated you for an award. 🙂 Check it out!

Leave a Reply

