Totally Autumn

Last Saturday, I finally cast off – and Sunday I wove in the ends and took pictures…and six months after I started it, Totally Autumn is finally done!
791

Pattern:  Totally Autumn, Knitty Fall 2007
Yarn:  SeeJayneKnitsYarns, Superwash Worsted.  Chili with Jalapenos colorway
Started:  March  4, 2008
Finished:  September 13, 2008

I bought this yarn because I fell in love with the colorway.  I had a very good experience with her yarns, and while doing my normal drooling over my Etsy favorites, I saw this yarn online and just had to have it.   The colorway online looked like it was shades of red, brown, gold – perfect for my family room with its red couch.   The colorway when I got it was not so much red but much more brown – but I still loved it.  The yarn is soft and squishy and perfect for a throw.  I’m so glad I finally got it done – now that the nights are getting chillier it is the perfect time to have this available for snuggling. 

793

I enjoyed the pattern – not too challenging so I could watch TV, but not so boring that I wanted to scream (well, not too much).    I did this exactly as the pattern called for  – same number of repeats, and it is a nice size.  Not too small, not too big.  Perfect for snuggling on the couch on a cold winter day!

So that’s another WIP done, and this one freed up a lot of room in my knitting basket.    I think I’m going to get back to Larry’s Cobblestone next – just a sleeve and the yoke and I’m done.  I’m also still working on Cleite – just about on the sixth repeat!  If I could stay awake on the train in the morning, I’d probably get more done on it. 

I did start a pair of socks last weekend (needed something for knitting group) but I ripped it out a day later – just wasn’t feeling the love on the pattern – I got the increase direction wrong every single time.    I’ll have to try the pattern another time, but for now I’m looking again for the right pattern.  I was using Trekking Pro Natura – a superwash wool/bamboo blend.  Love the yarn, though – so I really do need to find something to make with it.

OK, off to try to get through all the blogs I’m behind on.  I’ll leave you with two people that apparently like the new throw…

799

Have a great week!

26 Responses to Totally Autumn

  1. Lauren says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! I’m busy packing so I’ve had no time for my needles and was craving one of your posts for a shot of knitting. Just in time! Thanks 😉

  2. Great throw. And I love that last picture!

  3. Jeannie says:

    What a beautiful throw! The color suits the name of it perfectly too.

  4. Stephanie says:

    Totally Autumn looks great! Man, wish I’d had the forethought to start knitting one of those six months ago. Then again, the weather has been warming up again… but it will be cool again soon enough. Must be lovely to snuggle under.

  5. travellersyarn says:

    Its lovely, the variegated yarn works so well in the pattern.

    You’ve inspired me to go and knit!

  6. Rachel says:

    Ohhhh,,, I love your throw and the photo of the two other people that love it 🙂

    I had the same experience with a sock on my very very long flight to Israel. I had enough time to knit almost to the heel of one sock, rip it after deciding it is too large and knit another one almost to the same point just to find out in Israel it is too small,,,, yes there was a very long delay in that flight!

  7. weezalana says:

    It’s absolutely beautiful! Really stunning – and such a perfect colorway! I love it when things come together like that!

  8. jackie says:

    Autumn is my favourite of all. A beautiful colorway, and i bet your little girl and her pal love it very much.

  9. lilypily says:

    It’s beautiful Jeanne. Perfect timing!

  10. dawn says:

    This is lovely. The colours look stunning, just what you’d expect an Autumn wrap to be knitting with. I was checking this, and other patterns by Anne, just yesterday.

  11. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I love it. Jayne is a wonderful dyer- I just happen to have some of her lace and sock yarn in my stash.

    Love the picture of Ciera and friend.

  12. donna lee says:

    I, too, just ripped out a sock because the pattern was way too big, even at the smallest stitch count. I made it two repeats (14 stitches) smaller and now it will be perfect. I like bamboo sock yarn but it does get fuzzy after a while.

    The Autumn colors are gorgeous. It made me think of pumpkins.

  13. Kim says:

    It turned out just lovely. I’ve wanted to make this since it came out and you’ve just up-ed my desire to get it on needles. The last photo is adorable!

  14. Lisa says:

    Oh! Snuggly looking – Its dropping down to freezing here tonight so that throw looks particularly appealing!

  15. nvrenough says:

    Gorgeous throw and I adore the colors. Reminds me of the change of seasons that are coming soon. Love the pics!!

  16. Ren says:

    wow! the throw is beautiful! also, what a cute dog! make me miss my dog now that i’m not at home.

  17. Missy says:

    Wow that is absolutely beautiful!

  18. Oiyi says:

    Wow, it is beyond beautiful! That colorway is gorgeous.

  19. chris says:

    It’s Beautiful – and just in time for the chilly nights! Sounds like cobblestone will be done soon too.

  20. Chrissy says:

    Beautiful! I love lace in fall colors knit with heavier yarn. It just screams fall!

  21. tiennie says:

    It’s gorgeous! Absolutely beautiful colors.

  22. lobstah says:

    Just in time for “totally autumn”. That last photo is way too cute!

  23. Opal says:

    Totally Autumn is stunning and so are your photos!

  24. hakucho says:

    Your throw is stunning!! Very beautiful. I bet you feel really good though now that it’s finished and just in time for the cold snap 🙂

  25. rebekahsyarn says:

    Absolutely breathtaking. And I love that picture of your daughter and dog, too cute.

  26. jennygirl says:

    This is beautiful! And Ciera wears it well honey.
    Great job! I think you’ll be able to wear this to work too!

Leave a Reply

