Online knitting

You are reading this because you belong to the online knitting community – you may be just someone who reads blogs, or message boards, or you may be someone who has a blog, facebook page, ravelry page, my space, or whatever.  I have been part of the online knitting community ever since I started knitting – starting slowly just browsing, then joining Knitters Review, reading blogs, making my own blog, joining Ravelry – the works.  I am not sure that I’d be the knitter I am today without all that – I’ve learned so much online, and have used the information and recommendations from other online knitters to to fix problems, start projects and buy yarn (too much of that I’m afraid!).  I think its amazing that I read and communicate with people all over the world, and share this common interest with so many people.  And I’d like to think that I’ve made friends along the way too….

OK, where am I going with all that?  I posted that I had signed up for the Wollmeise sock club – and then I posted that I declined to join because I didn’t want to spend the money on it.  I think I posted that I really wanted to see the yarn and hoped that someday I’d be able to get my hands on some.  And then the nicest thing happened.    I got an email from Lorraine who said she had some that she’d be willing to trade me for.  Wow!  I couldn’t believe it – this yarn is so hard to find, and here was someone out of the blue offering me some!  We figured out the deal, and this week I got the nicest package…

779

Gorgeous!  Just so beautiful – I love the vibrant colors.   This is Sockenwolle 80/20 (80% Merino/20% Nylon) – colorway is am kalten Polar.  I just love it.  And I’m really torn – part of me wants to use it immediately.  Part of me wants to put it in my stash forever. 

782

This is 100% superwash – colorway is Miss May.  Just so beautiful.  And soft.  And gorgeous.  Again – I want to use this…and yet….if I use it, it will be gone.

I can see why people are crazy about this yarn – the colors really are beautiful.  I think I’ll be stalking it a little bit more now that I see what its like. 

Lorraine also included on more thing in the package…

785

Blue Moon Fiber Arts Silkmo – the colorway is Lucy.  I was shocked to have this added bit – but love it.  It would be perfect for a lacy scarf.  Its really pretty – and its the first time I’ve seen anything but Socks that Rock from Blue Moon.  I really should try their other yarns, eh?

Thank you, Lorraine – I am so blown away by how nice you were to offer to trade so I could get this yarn.  Really – if you ever need something, you just let me know.  Can I come take you out to dinner?  Watch your cat while you are on vacation?  Anything!  Thank you again!

I am so glad that I’m part of this community – and really – not just for the great yarn.  It really is nice that there is so much information, patterns, reviews out there  – not to mention the people that have done what you are doing and don’t mind sharing what they did  – or willing to share yarn with other knitters.  I know that kniitters are just people – but doesn’t it seem that knitters are just nicer than non-knitters?

I still haven’t heard about the work from home thing – the meeting went well on it – but its complicated by the fact that we have a new executive and everyone is waiting to hear what she’s like, and if she approves of working from home.  I really hope to hear this coming week – but I appreciate the good thoughts.

I’m just about done with Totally Autumn  – I’ve been working on it every night this week, and will be done tomorrow I think.  I have knitting group today, but its too big to bring along.   But I do have tomorrow (unless its nice and we golf!).  It was nice working on it this week though – it was sort of chilly at night so it kept me warm while I was knitting it. 

OK, I am off – have a great weekend!

22 Responses to Online knitting

  1. Cookie says:

    What a wonderful package and how lovely that Lorraine was willing to share with you.

    I think I love that Silkmo. o.0

    Happy Weekend!

  2. rebekahsyarn says:

    I must admit the internet knitting community is amazing. In fact I just couldn’t stay away. I was happy for my summer break, but just felt the need to reconnect. See the projects, look at the yarn, etc.

    Oh this is REbekah (Knit Knack). Although I started a new fresh blog.

    Oh and in repsonse to your previous post, my favorite thing about the Ravelry Stash thing, was downloading it to excel afterwards! Of course I need to update it. There’s always something more that needs to be done. 🙂

  3. Stephanie says:

    You’re right. Being in the online knitting community is really great, and people here are the best.

    Which is of course just another argument that knitting increases patience and friendliness. How I love knitting.

    And what gorgeous yarn! I wouldn’t mind trying Wollmeise some day too… 😉 I suppose it’ll be easier to find when I’m in Germany next year though. I may look for it.

  4. Awesome Mom says:

    I had to wipe the drool off of my keyboard. That is some amazing looking yarn! I would keep it and pet it for a good long while while I find the perfect pattern for it. That is what I do with all my fancy scmancy yarns.

    I love the knitting community. There are so many diverse and amazing people out there that share the same hobby. It blows my mind sometimes.

  5. I think once you try the Wollmeise, you will have four favorite sock yarns! What about the smell? Nothing beats the smell of Wollmeise.

  6. weezalana says:

    Knitters rock. No two ways about it. 🙂

    Oh, and go ahead and knit with the Wollmeise. The yardage is quite generous, so you’ll have some left over to pet. 😉

  7. chris says:

    You are so right – this community is just wonderful. And what a nice way to find something you’ve been wanting and making a new friend in the process!

  8. Bridget says:

    That is beautiful yarn – enjoy it no matter what!

    And the online knitting community is pretty amazing, I agree. Within that, Lorraine is one of the best!

  9. rhoda says:

    well, that was really nice of lorraine!! we’re all lucky to be apart of the online knitting community. 🙂 can’t wait to hear about the wollmeise! i LOVE your bmfa silkmo in lucy! that is going to be pretty all knitted up. 🙂

  10. Susan says:

    I can see how you might want to tuck it away and pull it out on special occasions but it would be nice to see it knit up as well! Working from home, I so want to do this.

  11. MB says:

    WOW, that is really beautiful yarn…what are you going to make with it (that is of course providing you don’t decide to hide it in your stash) 🙂

    As you know I am a knitter poser but I must say that envy the camaraderie (sp?) amongst all of you, how generous you are while I don’t know Lorraine I think it was pretty awesome of her to barter with you.

  12. jennygirl says:

    You are spot on about online knitters, and the community. I don’t why that is, but knitters are just awesome. Maybe becasue we are all givers in one way or the other.
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!
    And that yarn is absolutely beautiful!

  13. hakucho says:

    There is no doubt in my mind…knitters are the nicest people!!

    Your new yarn is beautiful!! Will look forward to seeing you knit with it!

    happy knitting 🙂

  14. Stephanie says:

    Hi! I don’t know if you’ve gotten one of these before but I’ve nominated you for a Brilliant Weblog Award on my blog. Thanks for being so Brillante!

  15. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Gosh, you are so cute- by all means use the Wollmeise and have the full experience. I think Claudia washes it in something, and she includes gummi bears, but unfortunately, I ate them!

    I just happened to buy it at the right time- so I do have more. I traded away alot as well.

    My motto is “Share the wealth”, and if I can stuff Kitten Chow in an envelope and overnight him, you can look after him- but you’ll be sorry!

  16. Lisa says:

    Well since I just got a totally fabulous prize package from you….amen to everything you said sister!!!! 😉

    Seriously – I agree about the community making a huge difference for me personally. The online knitters have made me braver about what I knit, able to make better choices and gave me the knowledge and courage to reach out to local knitters too.

    And that Wollemeise? drool….

    (oh and I have to do way more laundry cause I drool all over myself all the time)

  17. Kim says:

    I must have been one lonely woman before becoming part of this aweosme knitting community. Wow! Lorraine is an angel to send you that Woolmeise. It is hard ot get! And that Silkmo! Gorgeous. Go ahead & knt with the Wollmeise. But I knw what you mean about being hesistant to knit with it. It is “”I’m not worthy!” yarn.

  18. Missy says:

    That is really nice of her. I also love the new on line friends I have made. The yarns she sent you are beautiful. I can’t wait to see what you make with them. Have a great week.

  19. Ren says:

    the knitting community is really just fabulous. i love the colors of the wollmeise, too. : )

  20. Shea says:

    Of course knitters are nicer than non-knitters, I thought that was a given! At least that’s what I tell the husband and two boys anyway. 🙂

  21. Opal says:

    What an awesome trade! I love knitting with Wollmeise. 🙂

  22. Jennifer says:

    The knitting community can be a lovely, supportive place! What a lovely set of yarny goodies.

Leave a Reply

