Fiber Festival

OK, so I know that when I uploaded my stash to Ravelry I said a couple of things….I said that I knew I had a lot…and I said that having it in Ravelry would help me manage it…and that I wouldn’t buy anymore yarn because I have a lot of nice yarn that I should use….you know, blah blah blah.

I knew I didn’t mean it and that was before I went to the Endless Mountain fiber festival this weekend with friends from knitting group…

Rather than killing you with a bunch of pictures, I thought I’d give you a slide show and then tell you what they are (you can see individual pictures in Ravelry)…

  1. The green lace weight is from Twisted Fiber (Ravel her!) – it is about 500 yards each skein of alpaca laceweight goodness (I got two skeins).  This was a great stall, and I got a couple of things from her….highly recommend.  Gorgeous yarn and very very good prices.  (She is going to be at the Garden State Breeders festival too if you are in the area).
  2. The brownish roving is also from Twisted Fiber – it is 2 oz of superwash merino, so soft and its going to be gorgeous (although everyone else thinks it looks like um….crap).
  3. The multi-colored ball is actually roving – 68 grams of a wool/cotton blend.  Also from Twisted Fiber.  I can’t wait to spin this – I haven’t done cotton before and I think its going to be fun.
  4. The orange/brown varigated yarn is a mohair/wool blend from Persimmon Tree Farm.    250 yards of DK – I’m thinking lacey scarf for the fall. 
  5. The red yarn is a laceweight from Aisling Yarns.  It is just gorgeous – its about 670 yards, so I will be looking for a good pattern for it (and sort of wish I had bought two for a bigger shawl).
  6. Finally, last but not least – the gray yarn is 665 yards of sport weight alpaca.  I love this yarn – I’ve been carrying it around with me ever since I got home – I love the color, and the softness…love alpaca!  I’m not sure what I’m going to make – initially I was thinking hat/scarf, but I am now thinking maybe a shawl. 

So that’s it…not too bad, right?  I was pretty happy with my haul – I kept within my budget but got some really nice local yarns and roving.  The show also had a small amount of fiber animals  – there were angora bunnies everywhere.  I almost was tempted to be impulsive and bring a beautiful grey one home – but then I thought about it and decided against it (and the total lack of enthusiasm when I called Larry to talk about it helped too!). 

It was a great show  – again, not too big but it had a good selection of local yarns and fibers.  We had a great time – everyone bought gorgeous yarn.  I’d definitely go to this festival again – and it got me in the mood for more fiber fesitvals!

I am really behind on blog reading – so if you’ve posted, and I haven’t commented, please be patient – I’m getting there!    Hope to get caught up tonight.  I did have my meeting with my senior VP, but he wants to think about letting me work from home  – so good thoughts are really appreciated!  No idea when he’ll decide, but I hope its soon.

OK, off to read blogs – I have something exciting to show you next time (well, it was exciting for me!).  Meanwhile, have a great week!

20 Responses to Fiber Festival

  1. Cookie says:

    Still thinking good work-from-home thoughts for you.

    However, now I want a bunny. /sigh

    I’ll get you for this. ;^)

  2. Denise says:

    I see it now 🙂 That bunny is so cute!
    I

  3. That green lace weight is gorgeous! Someday I’m going to a fiber festival, they look like such fun.

  4. Awesome Mom says:

    My husband would never let me go to anything like that with out him. He knows that I would end up coming home with too much stuff. I love the yarn you bought!

  5. dawn says:

    I really like the green laceweight, it’s a perfect shade of green. You’re far more restrained than I would be (especially the bunnies!)

  6. Opal says:

    What a perfect haul! Not too big, not too small. Just the right size. I think the gem of the haul is your roving, but then you know how I am about spinning fiber. 😀

  7. chris says:

    Cute bunny! He could be Max’s friend! Nice purchases – can’t wait to see what you knit up.

  8. donna lee says:

    Thanks for the heads up on the Breeders Festival. Maybe we’ll go to that one since I think we will not make it up to Rhinebeck this year. Lambertville is a do-able drive.

  9. Missy says:

    I love all of the new yarn. Have fun with it.

  10. Jennifer says:

    Ooo, that’s a nice haul, plus anytime one can attend a fiber festival is awesome!

  11. Ren says:

    what great yarns! i hope you get to start working from home! : )

  12. tiennie says:

    Fun slideshow! I want to go to one of these fairs/festivals some time!

  13. Jennygirl says:

    LOL! I think you did a fine and reasonable job in purchasing yarns. And it was local buying you know? To hell with the stash thing! Unless you are not paying your mortgage to buy more yarn, then I think you’ll be okay.
    Good luck with your boss.

  14. weezalana says:

    Nice haul! Maybe they should just take out the word “mountain” and call it the “endless fiber” festival. 😉

    Good luck and wishes that you get to work from home!

  15. Lisa says:

    What fun! You are going to have lots of fun with that haul of “Fiber Therapy”. Hope the “work from home thing goes well”.

  16. Lisa says:

    Excellent haul!!! Love those angoras too…but man do they make me sneeze!

  17. nvrenough says:

    Can’t wait to see the cappuccino fiber spun up. Love all of your yarn too. Have a great weekend.

  18. Rachel says:

    Hmmm,,, pretty!
    I think I am lucky I live far away from most fiber festivals 🙂 it makes it much easier to be good with my yarn diet,,, hehehhe

  19. lobstah says:

    Dude, I’m in love with your Ravelry stash! Great stuff in there 😀

  20. hakucho says:

    I’m very behind with my blog reading as well…

    You really hit the jack pot…awesome yarns and fibers 🙂

    I know exactly what you mean about the angora bunnies, They are so cute. I know I was very tempted when I saw some at a fair a couple of years ago. Reality hit me though before we left the fair.

    happy knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

