Harris Tweed Socks

Isn’t it funny how short weeks always seem extra long?  This work week was only four days, but wow – it was at least 3 months long.  I suppose part of it was trying to catch up from vacation, but still – working late, working early, working on the train – I am really ready for the weekend.  Whew!  I have a meeting on Monday with my senior VP to present a business case so I can work from home two days a week!  Two days of not having a 5 hour commute (round trip) would really help me in a lot of ways…work, health, life…and of course, knitting (although the knitting benefit probably won’t be in my business case).  Wish me luck!

This morning I slept in a little, got up and finished the socks….

753

Pattern:  Harris Tweed (Ravel it)
Yarn:  Socks that Rock, Lightweight, Lenore colorway 
Started:  August 28, 2008
Finished:  September 6, 2008

754

I really enjoyed this pattern – it was easy, mindless and somehow interesting – so I never got to that stage of “I’d rather do anything else than knit this sock”.  And they went fast.   This will definitely be a pattern that I make more than once.  And the yarn – I love it.   Socks that Rock has got to be in my top three  favorite sock yarns – I love the feel, the colors.  Although my pictures originally showed this as a light color – it isn’t.  It really is a pretty dark colorway, and Larry is pretty happy with his socks (although to be honest – he likes pretty colorful socks generally – no typical black/blue/brown guy socks for him!).

757

All in all, I’m pretty happy with the socks, and now its time to get back to working on the the shawl.

As I said, I’m very happy is the weekend.   Today is errands, hair cut, chores – and we were going to go to a movie, but now it looks like tonight is going to be horrible here (thanks, hurrican Hanna!), so I think we’ll stay in and just relax.  Tomorrow I’m going to a fiber festival with friends from the knitting group (I’m so glad the hurrican is hitting today, not tomorrow).    I’m looking forward to going – I think its not a huge festival, but I think it will be a lot of fun (and a warm up for Rhinebeck?).  I’m not planning on buying much, but hopefully will see something local and unusual.

OK, I’m off – have a great weekend!

24 Responses to Harris Tweed Socks

  1. Awesome Mom says:

    Those do look a lot less girly in those pictures. You did a great job!

  2. Cookie says:

    Lovely socks! I had to print out the pattern after you mentioned it the other day.

    Good luck on your Monday meeting!

  3. Suzanne says:

    I love the socks!!

  4. Ren says:

    the socks look great and you’re definitely right about the colors looking less girly. good luck with your meeting!!!

  5. Ren says:

    i apologize if i end up with a duplicate comment. wordpress seems to seriously be hating me right now.

    the socks look great and you’re definitely right about the colors looking less girly. good luck with your meeting!!!

  6. melanie says:

    I love that pattern and shall Ravel it immediately! Very, very nice (non-girly) colours!

  7. rhoda says:

    wow. those came out really, really nice..and not girly at all. larry knows what he’s doing. 😉 my short week went quickly (thank goodness!) sorry to hear yours didn’t go as quick..

  8. So STR is one of your three favorite sock yarns…inquiring minds want to know what the other two are!?!

  9. weezalana says:

    Those turned out great! I recently got a skein of that colorway in a swap (mine is blackish-red instead of purple), which might become armwarmers.

    Hope Hanna bypasses you! Be safe!

  10. Jennygirl says:

    Nice socks!
    This week did take forever. Busy busy and not enough knitting time for me! Hope the meeting goes well. Fingers crossed.

  11. hakucho says:

    Oh, boy did you knit those socks fast!! They’re beautiful 🙂

    Have fun tomorrow at the fiber fest 🙂

  12. Christianne says:

    Nice socks! Have fun tomorrow and good luck Monday!

  13. Lisa says:

    Hope the festival was fun! The socks look great.

    I don’t know if I would love or hate a five hour commute. All that free knitting time…

    Lisa

  14. Good luck with your presentation, a 5 hour commute must be hellish. That is such a great sock pattern, nice and simple with out the extra dash of boring is so hard to find.

  15. Kim says:

    You should be happy – those socks are gawgeous!

  16. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Larry must be pretty secure in his manhood to wear that color- which I admit are more masculine than I thought. They’re terrific.

    Are you going to Rhinebeck, lucky ducky?

  17. tiennie says:

    Those are great socks! Glad the weekend has been happy for you!

  18. Missy says:

    I really love the color of those socks. How beautiful.

  19. Opal says:

    Gorgeous socks! Good luck with your business case. That commute sounds like a killer. 😮

  20. Denise says:

    Strange? Bloglines shows you have a new post ‘View My Slide Show’ but it’s not showing up on your blog? it says there is a file error?

  21. jackie says:

    Socks that Rocks, lightweight is one of my favourite sock yarn too.

    Great socks, and nice colour – U did a great job !

  22. Sourire11 says:

    Those socks are great!!!

  23. travellersyarn says:

    Fabulous socks. Keep working on the Cleite! I really want to see more!

  24. Rebecca says:

    BEAUTIFUL colorway….and, I like the pattern, too!

Leave a Reply

