Stash

So it is the day before my last day of vacation…and looking back on the last week, I got more done on something I didn’t plan – and nothing done on the things I planned.  Typical.   It has been a nice week off though, and I’ve enjoyed the down time.  And I still have today and tomorrow to try to get some of those thigns that I had planned done (like finish a knitting project!).

One of the things that I accomplished that I didn’t plan was to upload my entire stash to Ravelry.  I had never really thought of doing it all because I knew it would take a while, and I wasn’t ready to face how big this thing was (or have anyone else see how big it is!).   I thought I’d put up pieces of it – but once I started, I just couldn’t stop.  And now I’m happy that it is all there.  I think it will help me manage my impulse buying a little better – now that I can see what I have, I’ll be less likely to want to buy something when I probably already have the yarn in the stash.  I also decided to part with some of the yarn I bought that I know I won’t use – my destash page.    I’m really motivated to get rid of this, so make an offer!  

Going through the stash was fun – and it made me want to start new projects.  All that wool, silk, laceweight, sock, sweater yarn…  I’d pull out a ball and think “Oh, I bought this to make…” and then I’d sidetrack to look for the pattern.  And then I’d force myself to put the pattern away, photograph the yarn and move on.   I finally couldn’t resist the lure of a new project – so I started a pair of socks.

748

This is Socks that Rock in Lenore – one of the colorways from last year’s sock club.  I always liked it but didn’t realize how gorgeous it really is until I started knitting it.  The picture shows the yarn a little lighter than it really is.  I can’t put it down – I just like it too much.  The really bad part is that these are for Larry – he picked out the yarn from the stash and no matter how hard I try, he won’t agree that these are too girly.  I really would love to buy some of Blue Moon’s laceweight for a shawl in one of the Raven colorways – maybe if I sell some stash, I’ll do it.

750

The pattern I’m using is Harris Tweed socks from Ali Green – love this pattern.  It makes a really nice texture, but is so easy that its just great knitting.  I’ve been dragging these all over this week – I think this will become one of those patterns that is just a great standby pattern. 

I really want to start a sweater next – it must be that it is the end of the summer here.  I’d like to make a very basic, very plain pullover for Larry – and I’m thinking that it might be the Seamless Hybrid from Elizabeth Zimmerman.   Any other ideas?

We went out to dinner with friends last night to a local restaurant.  The service was really slow, which at first was sort of annoying – but in the end, it forced us to slow down, take our time and spend time talking, laughing and relaxing.  We finally left three hours later – and realized that the slow service was actually a good thing!    We had such a good time, and I don’t think it would have been the same had we rushed through dinner.  It was great to spend time with our friends – we just don’t see enough of them.

I haven’t been working on the throw at all this week, but think that I’ll be working on it today.  I joined the One day a week for UFOs KAL on Ravelry – the idea is that just one day a week you work on a UFO.  I can do that!   I picked Sunday as my day, so here I am, here is the throw, so hopefully I’ll get a bit more done on it today. 

OK, I’m off.  Have a great Sunday, and if you are in the US, enjoy your long weekend!

20 Responses to Stash

  1. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I had startitis- and began yet another shawl yesterday.
    I think we all need to slow down and enjoy simple stuff again- it’s shows how we rush through everything all the time.

    Enjoy your long weekend.

    Love that STR!

  2. chris says:

    Great sock pattern – congrats on getting the stash uploaded.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Congrats on getting the whole stash uploaded! And nice socks! You sure got a lot done on them already.

    I hear you about starting a sweater. I’ve been feeling like that for about two weeks now, and finally cast on the other day. Unfortunately now I’m cruising through but have to wait for the mail to bring the rest of my yarn. 😦 I wonder if this sweater will go FAST like everything else seems to be lately…

  4. Awesome Mom says:

    Wow, you have an impressive stash!

    Those socks are so girly! My husband would not touch those with a ten foot pole. But that is a nice pattern.

  5. rhoda says:

    nice socks. maybe you’ll be able to convince larry once the socks are complete that they’re a little girly for him. the color is pretty!

  6. Cookie says:

    Lovely sock pattern!

    Thank goodness there wasn’t much lace on your destash page or I might have been in trouble. *L*

  7. lorent says:

    The Lenore looks great. Have you seen Anne Hanson’s (Knitspot) version of the Seamless Hybrid that she did for her husband? It’s really nice, and looks great on him. I keep threatening to make one for my husband, too.

  8. Ren says:

    isn’t it great to have your stash up on ravelry? : )

    i really like the sock yarn you’re knitting up… it does seem a bit girly, but i suppose you’ll have to wait and see.

  9. I think Larry is right Lenore isn’t particularly girly, even with the pink. Congrats on destashing, I keep trying but getting sidetracked.

  10. Wanda says:

    I like that sock pattern. Thanks for linking to that pattern. I can see a pair of these in my future.

  11. weezalana says:

    I’m likin’ that tweed!

    I’ve got the Cambridge Jacket from IK queued up for Hubster this fall/winter. The Cobblestone is a popular pullover as well.

  12. MB says:

    Those socks are beautiful! I think Larry just likes your socks even if you think the yarn is too girly…maybe if you tease him enough he’ll let you keep them 🙂

    MB

    p.s. thanks for the comments….ditto!!!

  13. Jeanne says:

    Hmmm…my Lenore looked nothing like that. I gave it away.

  14. Opal says:

    How I admire you for getting all your stash up on Ravelry. I think my yarn stash is pretty much under control. I haven’t bough yarn since I got back from the mainland really, but my fiber stash? That’s a whole other animal.

    I love the sock you’re working on. The colors of that yarn are so jewel-like.

  15. Sourire11 says:

    Thanks for your congratulations! We’re really excited….

    Beautiful sock, btw!

  16. hakucho says:

    I almost dislocated my jaw when I looked (and my jaw dropped) at your huge stash 😉

    Larry’s new socks are gorgeous. They are almost too pretty for a man. It’s so nice he appreciates your knitting him socks…even though you really wanted the yarn for yourself. Maybe you can get more and you can have matching socks…now that would be cute 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  17. tiennie says:

    Those are looking great!!

  18. Putting my yarn (most of it, anyway) into Rav was what prompted me to start a diet, and I have quite a bit less than you do! It’s now been over 9 months since I added to my stash.

    I love the way the HT pattern looks in that colourway. You could “accidently” knit the foot too short for Larry, and claim them for your own! 😉

  19. donna lee says:

    My husband would never wear purple even if it were darker. He will only wear black, blue or brown or white socks. I have some nice variegated blue I want to use for him. I’m hoping he won’t mind the colors. He’s picky.

  20. Susan says:

    The socks are great. They look similar to the blueberry waffle pattern, one of my favorites. I had fun looking at your stash. Sounds like a great vacation to me!

Leave a Reply

