Beach cowl

After I finished the Hedera socks, I thought about the knitting in my basket and which I should pick up and work on.  I like it all – but I was feeling the pull of a new project.    I didn’t want to start anything too big because I do want to work on my current projects, so I thought I’d do a quick, small project – like a cowl.  So I looked through the stash, and found some handspun that I had spun so long ago that I can’t find anything about what it is. 

650

This is a worsted two-ply – it is really soft.  I really wish I had written on the tag what it was, where I got the roving – but the only thing it said was 212 yards.  Perfect for a cowl.  Next I looked through a pattern book and found one I liked.  I started it – and then frogged it when I had the first pattern repeat done – way too big.  I adjusted the stitches, started it again, and it worked.  And here you go – a small project to satisfy my need to cast on something new, but one that wouldn’t take me away too long from getting the other projects done…

689

Pattern:  my own, but used the Tilting Block pattern from Barbara Walker’s Second Treasury of Patterns
Yarn:  handspun – who knows!
Started:  August 25, 2008
Finished:  August 26, 2008

I really enjoyed knitting this – I love using my own handspun, and the pattern was very easy so this was good TV knitting.  I was also surprised to see how the colors came out on this –  I didn’t think the yarn was stripey at all, but it ended up being so – but I love the green and blue mix in this yarn.

691

This is a really nice pattern – I can see using it for a lace scarf, or a pair of socks – even a hat.  Very easy, very memorizable.  There are so many nice patterns in the Walker books that it is hard to pick one – and I saw so many I’d like to try in different ways. 

688

We went to the beach yesterday – we left really late in the morning because I was iffy on going.  It wasn’t supposed to be very warm and there is nothing worse than being on the beach and being cold.  But we finally decided to go since we hadn’t been all summer – and I love the beach.  And I’m so glad we went – it was a gorgeous day and it was really nice and warm.  We had a great time – and that’s actually where I finished the cowl.

678

Cieara was a very good sport and tried on the cowl for me – nothing says fun like a wool cowl in the hot sun!    I think it says a lot that she didn’t even question it – just took it and put it on. 

I received notification yesterday that I got into the Wollmeise sock club.   I had been thinking about it ever since my last post – so I did what I decided to do – I sent her an email and declined the invite.  Although I’d love to get some of her yarn, I just don’t want to spend that kind of money.   And I knew that I made the right decision when I just felt better about it right away.  

OK, I’m off – golfing today, and of course, knitting – I’m working on Totally Autumn like a fiend – I really want to get it done.  Have a great day!

24 Responses to Beach cowl

  1. chris says:

    Very Pretty and it looks like a nice day at the beach, too.

  2. Awesome Mom says:

    Lol! I am sure that your daughter is used to the crazy knitting things that you ask her to do now. My husband is still grasping the idea of me taking pictures of yarn and FOs. He does not understand why I would want to take pictures of them.

    I love the cowl and I have that book in my wish list. I am drooling over it and hopefully this Christmas I will be adding it to my knitting book collection.

  3. Your cowl really looks like the beach, hopefully in the middle of winter when you need a little pick me up it’ll remind you of the nice weather. From what I hear a number of people declined their Wollmeise invite. You gave a spot to someone who really, really wants it.

  4. Robby says:

    :…nothing says fun like a wool cowl in the hot sun! I think it says a lot that she didn’t even question it ” ROFL Yes, it says that you have a delightful daughter, and you’re slowly luring them over to the ways of wool. Beautiful project. And I think you’ve finally prodded me into purchasing that BW tome I’ve been wanting.

  5. Josiane says:

    Beautiful cowl! The subtle striping works very well with the stitch pattern.

  6. nvrenough says:

    That is a great cowl. I love the beach and wool. It some how just fits. Great use of handspun and way to deisign a pattern…on vacation!

  7. Cookie says:

    It’s beautiful and she is a very good sport.

    I’m glad you’re feeling better now that you’ve made your decision.

  8. hakucho says:

    Love your tilting blocks cowl. Love the color, love the pattern 🙂 Best of all …you have Cieara very well trained 🙂 Gorgeous model modeling a gorgeous cowl 🙂

  9. lilypily says:

    That pattern is great for stripey yarn – yes there are still stripes, but the pattern mixes them up a bit so they are not so obvious. Cieara is a great kid. That’s a really nice photo of her too. 🙂

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Ciera looks- underwhelmed.

    E-mail me, I have some Wollmeise sock yarn in my stash- Miss May and Am Kalten Polar, that maybe we can do a deal on.

    Check my stash in Ravelry and see what you think.

  11. weezalana says:

    Lovely job on the new cowl! Very ocean-like with those gorgeous blues!

    (LOL that Cieara no longer questions the modeling of FOs. She’s learning! ;))

  12. Ren says:

    hahaha, i can just imagine how hot it must have been at the beach with that cowl on. : )

  13. Jennygirl says:

    The yarn is beautiful. I know it so squishy and warm too. Hope you had fun playing golf.

  14. tiennie says:

    Such a pretty Ciera! Such a pretty cowl!

  15. donna lee says:

    What a good sport Cieara is to put wool around her neck at the beach. It’s funny how the colors mirror the beach around you. You spin beautiful yarn. I am getting the hang of the singles but am having a hard time getting the machine to turn backwards to ply! We are both creatures of habit

  16. Shea says:

    The cowl looks great and I really love her braids!

  17. rhoda says:

    the cowl looks fantastic on cieara–is she keeping it?? the pic from the beach is beautiful too!

  18. Denise says:

    Nothing like knitting at the beach, right? This vacation, beach knitting totally won out over golf. Children objected to trying on wooly garments with bathing suits, but it won’t stay hot forever. How was your golf game?

  19. lobstah says:

    Perfect use of the handspun! I bet there is a whole bunch of people on Ravelry that would be aghast that you turned down the Wollmeise club, LOL!

  20. Margaret says:

    That stitch pattern is perfect for the subtle striping of the handspun! And even though we’ve had a sort of cool summer, we haven’t needed to wear a cowl on the beach. She is a good sport!

  21. Suzanne says:

    That is the funniest picture! Your daughter is beautiful as is your wool cowl! She’s a good sport!

  22. Wanda says:

    i can’t believe Cieara modeled the wool cowl for you at the beach, that is too funny. I’ve always loved the Tilting Blocks pattern.

  23. Opal says:

    The cowl turned out beautifully! Great pattern and great yarn. Isn’t it fun to knit your own handspun?

  24. Lucinda says:

    I love it! What a perfect combo of pattern & yarn!

    The color looks great on Cieara. She’s a good sport to model wool in the summer sun.

Leave a Reply

