Tomatoes

I’ve been busy knitting this week (no books to distract me, I guess!) – on the train, I’ve been busy with Cleite (love this pattern!), and at home, I’ve been finishing up some socks that have been sitting around…for a while…

604

These were started back in June – it is Hedera in Socks that Rock.   I am almost embarrassed to admit this, but it took me until mid-way through the leg of the second sock to finally memorize the pattern.  The whole first sock and a half I had to have the pattern right in front of me – and yet, this is a fairly easy 4-row pattern.  I’m so glad that I memorized it because it lets me knit faster while watching TV (or listening to conference calls).  I think I’ll have this done by the end of the week – such a good feeling to clean out older projects, isn’t it?  I’m sort of thinking that maybe I’ll finish up another knitting basket project after I finish these – although I don’t want to say too much because everytime I say that I start a new project.

606

Did you see that Wollmeise has a sock club now?  I have been stalking this yarn forever – I’ve never seen it in person, but it just looks gorgeous in every pattern I see knit up.  It goes for a crazy amount on eBay too – unreal what people will pay for it.  The sock club seems like a lot of money – I’m sure its really nice yarn, but still…but now I’ll admit – I got caught up in the moment and registered for the lottery!  Yikes!  So now I’m torn between hoping I get a spot…and hoping that I don’t.  I think the chances are that I won’t, so I’m not freaking out…yet!  Did anyone else get carried away and register? 

We had dinner last night with Dan and Andrew – and during the course of dinner, they both mentioned that people that don’t live in NJ have the worst opinion of the state.  And that people that don’t live here don’t realize that a large part of NJ is really nice (it really isn’t all what you see near the airport!) – and that we grow really good vegetables.  So I thought I’d show you some of our homegrown tomatoes…

608

Honestly, NJ tomatoes are really the best tomatoes around!  These are so sweet and so good – really the best part of summer. 

Why is it the week before vacation is the worst week ever?  I’ve had back to back to back meetings all week – and have a conference call tonight at 10.  Ugh.  And tomorrow I have meetings from 8:30 all the way to 7:00.  Ugh.  But the bright spot is Friday – meetings all day until 2 – and then I get to leave and go get Cieara at the airport.  And then its vacation!  Cieara has been having a much better week than I have – she’s having a great time in California and told her Dad she never wants to leave.  Hopefully she will be ok with coming home to boring NJ (maybe I’ll give her tomatoes!).

Ok, off to relax for a little before I get on my call.  Have a great rest of the week!

19 Responses to Tomatoes

  1. weezalana says:

    Those tomatoes look yummy! So nice and plump!

    I love how your Hederas are knitting up. I gots me a serious jones for that Firebird colorway!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Those tomatoes look delicious! I debated the Wollmeise sock club too, but just couldn’t justify it. I’ll have to live vicariously through those knitbloggers that get it!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Tomatoes! Why oh why does everyone else have delicious-looking tomatoes but us!!

  4. Josiane says:

    I love your Hedera! The colourway is bright and cheery, and its variegation works really well with the lace pattern. Gorgeous!

  5. nvrenough says:

    Your socks look great! And the tomatoes are making me wish I planted a garden this year. Mine never grow that size though.

  6. I didn’t plant vegetables this year; I am coveting your tomatoes! And your socks are gorgeous.

  7. Christianne says:

    Nice socks. And if you win the lottery you can give me the yarn, don’t worry. Sounds like a tough work week – glad you have vacation coming up fast!

  8. donna lee says:

    I’m not sure Cieara will be as thrilled with the tomatoes as you are! (I would be). I checked out the Wollmeise sock club and at first was flabbergasted at the price but then I saw it was for 4 months. That makes it a little better. I’ve never seen it in person and I know it looks gorgeous knitted up but I’m not sure what makes it so expensive.

  9. Love your socks! Is the NJ dislike an American thing? I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone from Canada say anything like that. When I lived in Toronto lots of people would go to the Jersey shore as part of their vacations.

    I’ve heard that some people are planning on sharing a subscription to Wollmeise, that might work for you if you win. A little bit of yarn but not all the guilt.

  10. hakucho says:

    Your socks are awesome…so bright and cheerful!

    Your tomatoes look fabulous. I miss home grown tomatoes ( yes, we used to grow them back before the groundhog invasion). The ones you buy in the store just don’t taste as good. Enjoy 🙂

  11. Terri says:

    Those socks are looking great. You make me want to go work on my socks right now, but I can’t – I have work to do now. Great looking tomatoes too! I’m looking forward to summer so I can grow my own. 🙂

  12. rhoda says:

    you know, you’ve got to stop with all this enabling!!! i didn’t even know about the wollmeise club. good lord. you know I clicked on your link right in the middle of reading your post and got as far as the sign-up page and thought..wait a minute. how much is 180 euro anyway??? lol. (try typing that in one breath!!) LOVE your hederas. I think I might have to make myself another pair now. Oh, it took me a while to memorize the pattern too so don’t feel bad! glad to hear cieara is having a wonderful time here. the weather has indeed been lovely! nice tomatoes!

  13. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- It illustrates to me what lengths people will go to when told something is unavailable. The Wollmeise thing is crazy- I managed to get some before all the craze happened- and Claudia is such a nice lady- I hate to see people profit on E-Bay from her.

    That said- lovely socks!

  14. Arleta says:

    I love the color of your socks! Mmm those tomatoes look so good.

  15. Lynne says:

    Those Hedera socks are so pretty! LOVE the colors.

  16. Opal says:

    Those tomatoes look luscious!

    Wollmeise is a fantastic yarn. I have one skein of it and I absolutely adore it. I got it from a friend who lives in Germany. I hope you win the lottery because I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

  17. tiennie says:

    Yummy tomatoes! I’ve never been to NJ but I think the bad opinion comes from those terrible movies that paint it in such a bad light. But there’s been better movies lately that show it as it is – a Garden State!

  18. Susan says:

    Tomatoes! I actually beg my neighbors and co-workers for them. The other morning a bag of them mysteriously appeared at my front door. There is nothing better! The Hedera’s look great. I just finished a pair and loved the pattern.

  19. Jennygirl says:

    That is so true about people speaking about NJ. I should know since I live in South Philly and most of my old neighborhood friends moved to south jersey.
    However, once you get past the congested areas, there really are beautiful farmlands to see in NJ. and the shore is nice off season too.

Leave a Reply

