Weekend fun and a winner…

578

We went for a walk this morning – it is supposed to rain all afternoon, so we wanted to get out before it did.  We took the dogs for a walk, and now they are all passed out on the floor.  It was beautiful in the woods – very peaceful and quiet.  We are going to go back to doing this every Sunday morning – good for us, good for the dogs. 

As I mentioned I went to Kraemer’s this weekend.  I hadn’t been there since they remodeled – it really is very nice now – it used to be sort of dreary inside, but now its nice and bright.  The yarn organization is a little odd – the yarn they manufacturer is all together – but they also carry other brands – which seem to be scattered randomly all over the store.   If there is a system, I couldn’t figure it out.  They really don’t carry much, though, beyond their own brands – I saw Dream in Color, and some various sock yarns but that was about it.  So if you are looking for a lot of selection, this isn’t the right place.  If you are looking for Kraemer Yarn though – it is a great place to see everything they have.  I did manage to get a little bit though…and apparently I’m in a brown mood this weekend…

581

This is their new sock yarn – Saucon Sock – very nice cotton blend.  They tend to stick to bright, almost primary colors – but I just loved the brown.  It will make nice socks for Larry.  The feel of it sort of reminded me of Tofutsies

While looking at the sock yarn, I saw something out of the corner of my eye.(under the baby yarn so maybe it was the baby in the name that made them put it there?) …Dream in Color Baby laceweight

582

This is about 700 yards – and I really don’t think it is laceweight – it looks more light fingering weight to me.  But this colorway is gorgeous – mostly brown, but a little blue/gold mixed in.  I think it will make a gorgeous shawl.   I think I may never go back to knitting sweaters!

We have two butterfly bushes, and yesterday was a nice bright sunny day – so the yard was filled with butterflies.  I stood under one bush for a while until they forgot about me, so I was able to get some nice pictures…

568

Well, thank you for all the good tips on getting my willpower back.  I had 30 comments on that post, so I used a random number generator and it picked Lisa (who not only has a great blog, but also dyes very beautiful roving that she sells at her Etsy store).  Congrats, Lisa – comment with your email and I’ll get your address and send along your package).  Thanks, everyone!

OK, I’m off to knit and do a little spinning.    Have a great week!

13 Responses to Weekend fun and a winner…

  1. chris says:

    Looks like a nice walk in the woods! I’m glad we were able to go to Kraemers – and I agree! It would be nice if they put prices on ALL their yarn, too!

    Beautiful shot of that butterfly – enjoy the lovely brown yarn and the lace knitting!

  2. Jennygirl says:

    Yes, I certainly do not see any sweaters in your future.
    Hope you had a great weekend.

    Congrats lisa!

  3. hakucho says:

    Very nice yarn…but that butterfly photo is just awesome. Just so lovely 🙂

  4. Opal says:

    Great yarn. That DIC is such a gorgeous color. Beautiful butterfly!

  5. lilypily says:

    Sounds like a lovely weekend. Nice yarn too. 🙂

  6. Jennifer says:

    That is a lovely laceweight! DIC baby is a more robust laceweight for sure.

  7. Jen says:

    The photo of the butterfly is great! That yarn makes my fingers itch to knit. 🙂

  8. donnalee says:

    I just read your willpower post, and I have the same addiction right now. I seem to be able to give them up for a while and then boom, right back into them. My solution is to buy the small, trick or treat sized bags and let myself eat one. Unfortunately, my husband bought a huge bag and it is sitting in the bedroom calling my name. I didn’t think I would ever want to knit a shawl but now that I have knitted two, I fear another addiction. At least this one won’t put on the pounds.

  9. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- 2 of my favorite things- walking through trees and laceweight. I thought the DIC was a little more like fingering- is that November muse?

    There’s a 3/4 acorn shawl pattern for it- but you’ll need another skein.

  10. Looks like you had a wonderful weekend. While the yarn is lovely, the picture of the butterfly is amazing.

  11. tiennie says:

    What beautiful photos. Sounds like a nice weekend.

  12. rhoda says:

    is that by your house?? it’s gorgeous! 🙂 love the baby laceweight yarn. pretty!!

  13. Lisa says:

    How bizarre – my comment never made it!

    You mean I actually WON something?? I never win anything…seriously! Coolness.

    Love that butterfly – great photo!

Leave a Reply

