Lunch time!

I haven’t done much knitting this week – I can’t say why other than work has been very busy, I’ve been tired – and I have new apps on my iPhone that have distracted me on the train (crossword puzzles, NY Times!). 

But I did manage to finish the lunch bag…

554

Pattern:  Brown Bag, Knitty
Yarn:  Knitpicks Wools of the Andes Bulky, Colorway Redwood Forest (no link – still holding the grudge)
Started: July 31, 2008
Finished:  July 6, 2008

558

I really enjoyed knitting this  – mindless knitting was just perfect for this week.  Although I really wanted to knit the shawl, I needed this bag this week – something to do at night while zoning out in front of the TV. 

I did enjoy working with the yarn, and although I’m currently “mad” at KnitPicks, I can see ordering more of it.  It is very soft and I loved how the colors worked up.  The picture above isn’t the best, but it does show how nicely this striped – except for the flap where it actually pooled in squares that I sort of liked…

I use my lunch bag everyday and really love it – and I hope my friend likes hers too.  I still have to sew on some snaps, but its done for the most part…

Except for..

560

I  finished it and couldn’t remember if you had to weave in ends before or after felting.   Apparently the right answer is before.  So now I’m going to have to figure out a way to cut this and hide it.  But I’ll figure it out and the plan is to bring it to the recipient this weekend – maybe filled with some extra tomatos, zucchini and peppers from the garden…

Thanks for all the great suggestions  by the way!  Some of the comments definitely made me laugh – I think you all think I’m harder on myself than I actually am!  But I really enjoyed reading everything, and will certainly use all of them!  Remember – one more day to enter the contest, so please – give me your ideas!

I’m happy its Friday and the weekend is here.  I’m going to Kraemer’s tomorrow with Chris and then to lunch.  And then knitting group.  And then Dan is coming to dinner for homemade carnitas.  Maybe golf on Sunday.  Or maybe a nap and/or floating in the pool – who knows!  Definitely some relaxing and knitting. 

I hope you have a great weekend!

P.S – did you see this?  How disappointing – I have always liked him – but really – what a jackass.

11 Responses to Lunch time!

  1. tiennie says:

    That is pretty!

    I agree – total jack*ss! So disappointed.

  2. Kim says:

    Great bag!

    He is a huge jerk and I guess we shouldn’t be surprised. Maybe the ability and willingness to be unfaithful it is a pre req for political office

  3. Jilliana says:

    Indeed! I think it’s both huge jackassery on his part, and some sort of sign of something wrong within our political system. It seems to me like anybody who has been able to make it all the way up to presidential candidacy had to lose a little bit of their ethics along the way in order to get there.

    As for your unwoven end, if it’s felted enough you may be able to just cut it right near the edge of your knitting. I’ve made that mistake before– felting before weaving– and I’ve just cut it as close to the surface as possible. I’ve yet to have any unravel.

  4. Jeanne says:

    Now that the bag is felted,you’ll be able to snip that end and have it disappear.

    I am disappointed in whats-his-name, too. Very. I thought he was maybe one of the good guys.

  5. Lorraine says:

    I have very little interest in politics- it’s always the same story, isn’t it?

    Here’s a tip for losing 5 lbs in 2 days- get food poisoning- ask me how I know. (I don’t recommend it)

  6. Mar says:

    I love the lunch bag!!!!

    p.s. I’m swiping the butterfly picture…nice shot.

  7. weezalana says:

    Groovy lunch bag! And the inspiration – I’m about to felt one myself!

    Yeah, I read about that on Friday and was SO disappointed. He seemed to operate on a higher moral standard than most politicians. Guess not!

  8. Jennygirl says:

    I hope his wife slaps him upside the head daily. He deserves it. I used to like him too!

  9. hakucho says:

    That lunch bag is wonderful! Sorry you had so much trouble with Knit Picks. Hopefully by the time you are ready to order again the experience will be much better 🙂

  10. Opal says:

    What a lovely bag! I’m sorry about the loose end, but I know you can fix it up just fine!

  11. rhoda says:

    nice lunchbag. I like the striping as well. Wasn’t that such a shock and a disappointment to learn the news??

Leave a Reply

