Cleaning up

As you probably guessed, it was a very long week at my house.  I don’t want to say much about it, but I think my sons are really wonderful kids, and came through this very difficult time with grace and made me very proud.  Now things are over, and I hope that they continue to be ok.  So hard as a Mom to watch them be in pain, and try to help them deal with it – but also knowing that you can’t do much other than be there for them.

OK, before I make everyone sad, how about some knitting?

539

Yes, I know – I said no new projects until I finish two.  But this really doesn’t count.  This is another Lunch Bag – a friend saw mine and requested one.  I’m using Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Bulky in Redwood Forest – this yarn is so nice!  I haven’t used Wool of the Andes before (in any weight) but I’m really enjoying knitting with it – I may have to try some in worsted!  This has been good knitting over the last few days – mindless but since I love the yarn and colorway, also calming and happy (if knitting can be happy).

I’m also working on my Totally Autumn throw  – I’m on the last full repeat, and hope to get this done in the next week.  I need to as the UFOlympics starts on 8/8, so I need to be done with this so I can start working on Cobblestone again.  I also finished the first Hedera sock, so I’ll start the second on my commute this week.  I’m feeling very good about getting these old UFOs off the needles (or close to off the needles)…it will be great to get them out of the knitting basket.  I was looking through Ravelry the other day and noticed that some people have a lot of UFOs but I think I’m good when I only have a few. 

However – although it feels good to tackle some of these…I’m really struggling against casting on for another shawl.  I have been looking at all of my patterns and books this week and think I’ve decided on the Honeybee Stole – I have some beautiful laceweight from Sheep of a Different Color in her Golden Wheat colorway that I think would be beautiful for this stole.    Of course, that was before the Twist Collective came out yesterday – I really like the Cleite shawl – I have some really nice red laceweight..hmm…and of course, I also like the Gnarled Oakwoods stole too – which would be beautiful in the Golden Wheat laceweight too.  So hard to decide – and so hard to resist casting on!

IMG_0114 (2)

The other night we were coming home, and saw a bunch of hot air balloons  –  the county fair is going on and I guess they were from that.    I love balloons and it was so beautiful to see a sky filled with them. 

I hope you have a great weekend – hopefully my next post will show a completed throw (or perhaps the beginning of a new shawl!).

20 Responses to Cleaning up

  1. chris says:

    Nice lunch bag – how did you know I wanted one? And way to go finishing those projects!

  2. Finishing things is always a great way to make yourself feel all accomplished (works for me at least) but getting there is really hard. I can’t wait to see Totally Autumn.

  3. Kim says:

    ummm…fair food! Your lunchbag will be fabulous in those colors.

  4. Cookie says:

    I am so sorry for your family’s loss. At least the kids are old enough to understand, right? Well, maybe understand is the wrong word, but you know what I mean. I’ve been thinking about all of you this week.

    I really like that lunch bag. I can see why you started it. Nothing like a quick light-hearted knit to make things a bit better.

    I’m looking forward to seeing what lace arrives next.

    xo

  5. weezalana says:

    Knitting is always happy! Except when it’s misbehaving. A little time-out usually nips that in the bud.

    I’m starting a freelance gig on-site in an office next week. Must look into the knitted lunch bag!

  6. Aim says:

    So sorry to hear about your ex. Hopefully knitting will help you help your kids get on the road to healing. Hugs to all of you.

    BTW, if you feel up to it, you’ve been tagged. See my blog 😉

  7. Lisa says:

    Hi Jeanne – hugs to you and your family. You are in my thoughts.

    Good luck with all those projects – I haven’t decided to commit to the UFOlympics (although I should!)

  8. lilypily says:

    I’m sorry you’ve had a sad time to deal with, but you are right…sometimes just being there is enough.

    I love all those shawl patterns and the golden wheat coloured yarn is particularly lovely. I don’t think you can go wrong whatever you choose. 🙂

  9. Sourire11 says:

    I’m sorry for this difficult time for you and your family.

    I think the honeybee stole will be beautiful!

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I ordered both those patterns from Twist Collective- great minds think alike.

  11. Missy says:

    I love the colors of the new lunch bag. Hope this week goes better for you and your family.

  12. Shea says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your loss. You should definitely be so proud of your sons for handling their loss with such grace. And good for you for keeping your hands busy! I’ll keep your family in my prayers!

    I love the pic of the balloons! How cool to get to see something like that above your house.

  13. nvrenough says:

    Your in my thoughts! Great lunch bag colors. I can’t wait to see all of your UFO’s finished.

  14. tiennie says:

    Best wishes to you and your boys.

    That is going to be a wonderful bag. Great photo of the hot-air balloon.

  15. travellersyarn says:

    I really like Cleite as well – Mim Felton is a genius.

    Hugs to you and your family.

  16. Opal says:

    Oh it’s hard to resist the call of a Knitspot pattern!

  17. Jennygirl says:

    I am very sorry for your loss.
    Good thoughts and prayers to you and your family.

  18. hakucho says:

    Good for you working on all your UFO’s. I love your latest lunch bag! Very pretty colorway. Your friend will love it 🙂
    Awesome balloon picture 🙂

  19. rhoda says:

    wow, that wool of the andes bulky looks really nice! I haven’t used that yarn before. glad to hear your boys made it through a difficult time. Glad you made it through as well.

Leave a Reply

