Shetland Triangle

530

I had a bit of knitting time this last week between commuting, hospital and knitting group…so I was able to finish the Shetland Triangle – and I am really happy with it.  And as always, I am just amazed at what blocking does to lace!

526

Pattern:  Shetland Triangle, Wrap Style
Yarn:  Great Adirondack Yarn Co, Sirino, Colorway – White Birch
Started:  July 9, 2008
Finished:  July 26, 2008

532

I love this yarn – I bought it at Angelfire Studios and just couldn’t wait to cast on with it.  It is a 50/50 wool/silk blend and the color is amazing, and I love the softness and sheen that the silk brings to it.    The yardage is good (675 yards) and more than enough for this – I did 11 repeats of the main pattern (increasing by 3) and probably had enough leftover to do 12…but I really didn’t want to push it and run out.  I think I’d like to get more of this yarn – it is just so nice for lace knitting.

531

This is going to be a great shawl to wear in the fall and winter – with black shirt and pants (which is what I wear most of the time to work!).  It is a little hot for right now…but I really am looking forward to colder days and nights so I can start wearing it.  I think the neutral colors will work well with more than black too though – I can also see it with jeans and more casual things. 

I really enjoyed the pattern too – very easy and I didn’t have any issues keeping track of where I was on the chart….in fact, I almost memorized it so I only had to check where I was on the chart, and I’d just knit the row.  Love lace patterns like that – I think this would be a great pattern for a beginning lace knitter – especially since the yarn is a fingering weight and not as difficult as laceweight.

528

Now I’m working on some of the WIPs in the knitting basket…and trying very hard not to look at anything on my Ravelry queue or yarn in my stash.  I have 6 WIPs at the moment – a sweater, a throw, 2 scarves, a pair of socks and a tank top.   I think I’m going to frog the tank (I’m really meh on it), but I would like to complete the rest.  I’m working on the sweater as my UFOlympics (which starts 8/8), and I’m going to bring the socks for commute knitting.  I think I’m going to intially work on the throw at home and get that done, and then we’ll see.  I’d love to say I’ll finish it all, but if I get the two big things done, I’ll be really happy.  Hard to resist the lure of a new project, and I’m really on a lace kick right now, and would like to start something new…I think either a circle or rectangle as a change from the triangle shawls I’ve been doing (although I really love doing triangle shawls!).

OK, I’m off – have a great week!  I hope I have another FO to show you very soon!

25 Responses to Shetland Triangle

  1. Christianne says:

    It’s beautiful – and you know I love that yarn. Good luck with your FO’s!

  2. travellersyarn says:

    I looks gorgeous – wear it with pride!

  3. Awesome Mom says:

    I am so going to have to make that once I get some more yarn money.

    I am in the Ravolympics and doing WIP Wrestling, I need to get some of my ufos finished and gone. Good luck with yours!

  4. Your shetland triangle is absolutely gorgeous. Love how that turned out. I agree, it’s a great lace pattern for memorizing.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Looks like rain. Beautiful rain. (I wish it would rain around here. I’m so tired of drought worrying.) So big too–definitely looks cozy!

  6. tiennie says:

    That is gorgeous!!

  7. Rebecca says:

    What a BEAUTIFUL shawl! Excellent knitting! The Shetland Triangle is one I would like to knit, too. The color you chose is perfect.

  8. Peggy says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!
    The Shetland Triangle is my favorite shawl out there, and you have done it proud!

  9. lilypily says:

    I think this is one of my favourites of all your projects. I love it. Gorgeous colour and beautiful design. It would look lovely with jeans….hmmm…maybe it is a pattern I could try for my first attempt at a shawl. :o)

  10. Opal says:

    It’s gorgeous! I love it!

  11. Elysbeth says:

    infinitely wearable!

  12. Kim says:

    It turned out so incredibly beautiful. It seems like you will get a lot of use with the color you chose.

  13. weezalana says:

    It’s gorgeous! And the color is fab, you can easily wear it with a ton of things-both cas and dressy.

  14. donna lee says:

    What a nice neutral color but still a color. It looks great and I like that it’s fingering weight. Easier to work with than lace weight.

  15. Cookie says:

    That is beautiful. Well done!

    I hope this week is easier on all of you.

    xo

  16. hakucho says:

    Another beauty! Love the stitch pattern 🙂

  17. Rachel says:

    So very very pretty 🙂

  18. Lorraine says:

    I love it- I can’t get off the lace stuff either. It’s so gratifying.

  19. Jennygirl says:

    Black pants are staple of my work wardrobe too. Makes it easier in the morning I guess.
    Another beautiful shawl, and I like the colorway of the yarn. This would look nice with a cream outfit too.
    Have a great week!

  20. Jeanne says:

    So beautiful!

  21. Kiersten says:

    Really beautiful shawl!!!!

  22. Shea says:

    That looks fabulous! I’m currently in lace weight wedding shawl hell myself. A lot to complete in a tiny amount of time. Aah!

  23. lorent says:

    Stunning. Unbelievably beautiful. The color really makes it.

  24. rhoda says:

    it is breath-taking. i too am still amazed at what a little blocking can do for lace. love the color. love everything about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

