Rollercoaster

522

It is finally Saturday – and I am so glad.  This has been a really long, rollercoaster week, and I am just exhausted.  I wanted to post, though, and I’m going to spend today and tomorrow getting caught up on everyone else’s blog. 

My ex-husband was diagnosed with cancer in February – and we got the word this week that his struggle is coming to an end.  It has been a emotional week for the boys and I – I don’t think that any of us were really prepared for this, or ready to admit that he couldn’t beat it.  I didn’t expect to have the emotions I do about it – we were married a short time (long enough to have two kids though!) and have been divorced for almost 20 years.  But it has been very emotional for me, and I’ve spent some time with him at the hospital.  If you can please send good thoughts to my kids and my ex to get them through this difficult time. 

I think I mentioned that I’ve been waiting to hear if I had a job – they are planning on offshoring the majority of my organization.   I was off yesterday but my boss called me last night to tell me that the new executive that was pushing all of this had been let go.  So it seems like we won’t be off-shored, and I guess for now things are ok again.  It is good to get rid of this major stress – it was really starting to drag me down.

On the knitting front – I have six rows to go on the Shetland shawl so I think I’ll get it done this weekend.  I hope to get it done today, blocked tomorrow and then I’ll post pictures.  I have knitting group today, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to go – I’m heading to the hospital for a bit, and then we’ll see.  I’m sort of drained and I’m not sure I’d be good company.  But then again – maybe the company of fellow knitters is just what I need.

One of the other things I’ll be doing this weekend is shredding zucchini.  We have been trying very hard to find the zucchini’s in the garden before they get too big, but look at this one..

524

Crazy.  Larry swears it wasn’t there the other day.  I have so much zucchini in the freezer already – but I’m thinking maybe I’ll make zucchini cakes today (and maybe some zucchini bread, cake, pancakes, smoothies….).  I am already offloading zucchini’s on friends – and I think they are getting scared to see us coming!  Hard to believe one plant can produce this much – and so glad we didn’t plant three like last year.  If you live in the area, and would like some zucchini please let me know – we have some in every size imaginable!

OK, I’m off – have a good weekend!

20 Responses to Rollercoaster

  1. hakucho says:

    So sorry to hear about your ex. I’ll definitely keep him and your boys in my prayers.
    Good news about your job. That sure must be a big relief 🙂
    That zucchini is huge…wow!! Looks like you’ll be very busy…sure hope you have a big freezer?
    Take care, hugs!!

  2. I’ll keep all of you in my thoughts, my mother has had cancer more times than I can count, it is always a difficult experience even when you think it won’t be. Thank goodness about your job though, I was thinking about you all week and hoping you’d have some good news.
    That is a massive zucchini, if I lived near by I’d be knocking on your door. All the zucchini around here are tiny.

  3. Jeanne says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your ex. That must be very difficult, especially for your kids. To have work stress on top of that doesn’t help. I’m glad that sorted itself out on its own.

    I swear…that zucchini must have been dropped off by aliens. There is no other explanation.

  4. Stephanie says:

    Zucchini does tend to grow like that. Huge.

    Sending positive thoughts…

  5. rhoda says:

    oh hon, sorry to hear the news about your ex. your boys and your ex are in my thoughts. good to know your job is no longer in jeopardy! that zucchini is probably about as gigantic as the one in our yard!!

  6. Cookie says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your ex-husband. I’ll be thinking about all of you. What a relief at work. Well timed, I’m thinking.

    Zucchini grow 24 hours a day and they like to hide under leaves. Those two things may help explain the large ones your family is finding.

    xo

  7. weezalana says:

    Sending good thoughts of strength to your boys and ex-husband.

    Glad to hear your job is secure! And holy cow, that is some monster zucchini!

  8. Robby says:

    The zucchini that ate NJ! Been there. Sorry that life seems to have felt the need to balance the good job news with harder personal news. I guess the new boss must not be a complete idiot if he was good enough to relieve your worries with a phone call about the job situation.

  9. chris says:

    You and yours are in my thoughts and prayers. That was decent of your boss to let you know.

    And was THAT the zucchini you were trying to give me????

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- So sorry about your ex- that is very hard.

    This is the time of year when you avoid people with a garden- you just KNOW they’ll try and give you a zucchini.

  11. trek says:

    We were given a zucchini that size from our neighbor’s garden last week. Honestly, it must be something in the water around here – Chernobyl ‘chinis.

  12. lobstah says:

    I am sorry to hear this news…I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts.

  13. jackie says:

    i love Zucchini, normally the Japanese type.

  14. tiennie says:

    Wishing your boys and your ex all the best. I’m so sorry.

  15. lilypily says:

    Sorry to hear about your ex and the boys’ dad. that’s rough. Glad about your job though. Hang in there.

  16. Opal says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your ex. Good thoughts are on the way. I’m so happy to hear about your job! What a relief.

    That is some big zucchini. *blink*

  17. Hoc Age says:

    I am sorry to hear about your ex. You and your sons will be in my prayers.
    Finally some good news with regards to your job.
    (hugs)

  18. Jennygirl says:

    I guess that’s why news comes in pairs, good and bad. Very sorry to hear about your ex-husband. It’s good that you are friends with him and can offer him support and a shoulder when he needs it most. Good thoughts and hugs your way.

    Very happy to hear that jerky pant is being kicked to curb. What goes around comes around.

  19. Sourire11 says:

    I’m so sorry to hear the sad news about your ex. Sending good thoughts out to you and your family…

  20. Ren says:

    i took a veggie gardening class a while back and it was so exciting to see the zucchini growing so quickly! a blogging friend sent me a recipe for zucchini brownies… i’ll pass it along to you if you’re interested (and if i can find it).

    i’m so sorry to hear about your ex and i will keep you and you family in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

