A perfect weekend…

First, I’d like to start by saying thank you to everyone for the support and comments on my last post – I’m happy to report that I went the remainder of the week without having anything like that said to me!  I can’t really say or do much about it right now – things aren’t looking to positive at work right now – we are hearing that at least half the group is being offshored.  So maybe I’ll go quiet and just keep my head down, work and hope for the best –  I just don’t think it is a good time to make an issue about something like that – but I’m hopeful that he got that it wasn’t a good comment to make.

So I had a bit of a rough week back at work – and to make up for it, I have to say – I just had the nicest weekend.  Yesterday we ran errands, knit, napped and then went out to dinner and mini-golfing with the kids.    We love mini-golf (however, it is torture to Cieara) and had a great time.  Followed up by amazing Italian ice.  Just a good day.  Today was golfing with the kids (and we all had a really good game!) followed by floating in the pool, beer, homemade salsa and a nap.  Can life get any better?   I have chicken cooking on the grill, and a salad with home grown peppers and lettuce – and am looking forward to a relaxing night of knitting, watching TV and having some cake.  I am relaxed, rested up and all ready for the work week!  Weekends like this remind me of how very lucky I am – the job stress is sucky, but I am really blessed to have such a great family and life.  I need to focus on that, and let the rest of the negative stuff go, eh?

We had the oddest things growing in our flower beds –

515

Aren’t those odd?  They look like sea anemone or something.  Or something worse.  I think they are stinkhorns – has anyone seen these before?  They are really freaking disturbing looking, but I don’t want to touch them to dig them up…and they are all over.   Ewww..

OK, onto the knitting – I’ve finished up my test knitting, so I’m back to the Shetland shawl….

519

The pattern calls for 8 repeats, but I have a lot of yarn left and want a big shawl so I kept on going.  I’m on 10 now, and think I have enough yarn for two more repeats after this.  Then it is the last chart and I’m done!  I hope to get this done this week – and then, I’ve decided – it is time to finish up all of my UFO’s.  No really.  Really!  No more new project – I need to finish the throw, the sweater, socks, scarf and tank.  So my goal is to get them all done in the next month and then I’ll start a new project (or two). 

OK, I’m off to finish my dinner – I hope you all had a perfect weekend too – and have a good week!

520

22 Responses to A perfect weekend…

  1. hakucho says:

    I have never seen anything like what you have growing in your garden. When I first saw them I thought they were chicken feet…very weird indeed.

    Good for you finishing up all your UFO’s. This is the first time I only have one project on the needles…not sure how much longer I can do it, but it has been rather nice.

    Glad you had such a nice weekend 🙂
    Hope this coming work week is much better for you !

  2. Debbie says:

    Jeanne, those things are NASTY! But be happy you did not have these ones in your backyard, click the link for Phallus impudicus and you will see what I mean. I found those things a couple of times in my backyard back in SD County and YUCK!

    By the way, I will make it to knitting group before the end of the year!

    Debbie

  3. Stephanie says:

    Wow, something must be in the air ’cause I had a perfect weekend, too! It’s definitely great to focus on the positives. Also, I have no idea what those things in your flower bed are, and finishing UFOs are always a good idea. 😉

  4. Terri says:

    Sounds like you have the best plan of action for work. Despite that man’s comment, I think you came out on top having spoken up. I doubt he’ll think of you as a pushover again. 🙂 As I was reading about your weekend, I was thinking how great it was that you had such a great homelife and what a perfect way to counteract all the angst from work. Sounds like a perfect summer weekend. The shawl is looking great too. 🙂

  5. Terri says:

    P.S. I forgot to say about your stinkhorns….. I think you are right about what they are. We had them growing once too. Horrible things, but hilarious looking. They were quite a talking point in my garden for a while. I think they mean that the health of the tree/shrub they are growing near isn’t all that great. Not sure what you can do about that though.

  6. Those things are creepy but I have no idea what they are. Are you just going to pull them all up? I’m glad your weekend was great, hopefully it will lead into a great work week. Your Shetland Triangle is going to be so beautiful and big.

  7. Rachel says:

    It’s the best attitude to concentrate on the positive parts of our lives!

    These things look ikky to me,,, I would have sent my d’aling to take care of them!

  8. Christianne says:

    Glad you had such a nice weekend to end the rough week at work. Those plants look weird – I wouldn’t touch them either. Can’t wait to see the finished shawl and all the other FO’s.

  9. S.M. Thompson says:

    The knitting is AWESOME!

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I had a terrific weekend too- lots of knitting.

    The shawl is lovely, and if you finish all your projects you’ll be good to go for fall- prime knitting season.

  11. weezalana says:

    OMG! I’ve never seen anything like that before! We’ve been dealing with slime mold in the yard (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slime_mould), but I think you’ve got me beat!

    Shetland is coming along beautifully! And you are going to feel SO great when you FO off all your UFOs!

  12. Punkin says:

    Hi Jeanne,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a nice comment on my handspun. It was nice to hear from you.

  13. donna lee says:

    I agree with you on the work thing but sometimes it gets to be hard to keep being the one who forgives and forgets. Maybe the ignorant one will come to realize his ignorance…..and maybe pigs will fly. The shawl looks lovely. It looks a lot like the color I’m using for my tdf project. And I have found that having a fulfilling homelife makes up for almost everything else in the world.

  14. Lisa says:

    Yewww! Suddenly I’m glad I don’t have a garden! Although I kind of like the colour of them – so wierd but inspiring?!

    I never had a chance to comment on your last blog entry – I wanted to think on it a bit – by the time I was done (it was slow thinking I guess) – you had already posted this and gotten so many great comments from others that fit with what I was thinking about anyway. Yes – very inappropriate and unprofessional! I would have felt slimy and strange about it all day. Its one of those things where you wonder if its you or them!

    Your Shetland shawl looks great btw! I’m glad you had a nice weekend and I hope your week is great too.

  15. tiennie says:

    I haven’t a clue what those are!

    You have a great attitude. Glad it was a good weekend for you! The shawl is looking really pretty!

  16. rivercitystl says:

    I think you’ve got a good plan regarding the work situation. Times are tough these days, and I suspect that many of us put up with things that we normally wouldn’t these days.

    Your shawl is pretty! Good luck on the not starting a new project thing…I totally fail at that every time I say it! Stay away from the pattern section in Ravlery is my best advice! 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  17. Peggy says:

    I’m glad your weekend was so great, it sounds really relaxing.
    The Shetland is one of my favorite shawls out there, it’s coming along beautifully!

  18. Jennifer says:

    Ooo, that Shetland shawl is so pretty!

  19. Opal says:

    I’m so glad you had a nice weekend to make up for your stinky work week. The shawl is looking beautiful!

  20. Aim says:

    Eeeeeeew, stinkheads. I have never heard of nor seen any such thing but those photos of them are disgusting! I don’t blame you for not wanting to touch them!
    Knitting is looking great!

  21. Aim says:

    I mean, stinkhorns, heh.

  22. rhoda says:

    it sounded like a perfect weekend. what’s on deck for this weekend? those stinkhorns are so weird (but such a great color!) good luck with finishing all your old wips!

Leave a Reply

