Swallowtail Shawl

511

I finished this on Wednesday, but blocked it yesterday.  I couldn’t wait to see how it turned out – this is the first time I’ve made something with 100% silk.  And I have to say – I like!

506

Pattern:  Swallowtail Shawl (Interweave Knits, Fall 2006)
Yarn:  100% Silk laceweight, Sunnyside Ellen, colorway Ocean Crest
Started:  June 22, 2008
Finished:  July 9, 2008

I am really pleased with the way this knit up.  After my initial issue with the nupps, I took all the good advice out there and knit them VERY LOOSE.  And then I was fine.  The yarn was amazing to knit with – it is so nice – soft, silky and the most amazing sheen and color.  I just loved every second I knit with it.  The pattern is really simple (once you get over the nupp trauma) and the only thing I wish is that I had added some repeats on the first chart – this is a pretty small shawl (Cieara is a lot smaller than I am).   I’m also a little surprised that it knit up so fast – two and a half weeks!  Wow!  I did most of the first chart on the train, but did the rest at home (nupps and train didn’t seem to be a good idea).

507

I was sort of iffy on this at first – I wasn’t sure if I’d keep it or give it away since it is so small.  But once I positioned it on Cieara and saw how cute it was, I decided to keep it.  I think it is definitely not a “keep you warm” shawl, but it is a nice accent.  I can see wearing this to work, and out at night. 

509

I had to show you the nupps again – aren’t those amazing?  I think I may knit this shawl again – but I think I’d like to try it with beads.  I’ve never done lace with beads and I think this would be a great first project – and the shawls I’ve seen on Ravelry with beads are just gorgeous. 

I really do like how silk and lace go together- I have some other silk laceweight in the stash – Claudia Handpaint to be exact – maybe it is time to think about using it!  Maybe after the Shetland shawl…..

I’ve had a really nice week off work – had plenty of knitting and relaxing time, as well as golfing and yarn time.  Tonight we went to the movies with the kids (we saw Hancock – very good, would recommend).   Tomorrow is knitting group, and maybe we’ll sneak in one more golf outing on Sunday.  I’m trying not to think about Monday…but I know it is creeping up and my vacation will be over.  Sigh…but I’m pretty happy with my week off so I won’t complain. 

Have a great weekend!

25 Responses to Swallowtail Shawl

  1. Rachel says:

    Oh so pretty! I especially like the photo in which it is wrapped around Cieara, lovely, very nice job and so quickly, amazing!

  2. Cookie says:

    Oh, Jeanne, it’s gorgeous! You did a wonderful job.

    Making Swallowtail bigger is really easy. I’ve done it a few times now. ;^)

    Happy Weekend!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Oh, I can’t wait to see Hancock! I didn’t know it was out already! Must tell family that it’s time to go to the movies again.

    100% silk huh? Not surprised, it looks very pretty and silky and nice. I wouldn’t give it away if I were you. 😉

  4. Ren says:

    how pretty! everyone is knitting such gorgeous things and i’m stuck on dishcloths, haha. : )

  5. Beautiful! The third photo is my favorite, it’s pretty even when it’s layered over itself.

  6. Carin says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! Great job!

  7. Opal says:

    Oh it’s gorgeous, Jeanne! I just love it.

  8. chris says:

    That shawl is just beautiful! Lovely color on your model, too!

  9. Denise says:

    That looks gorgeous, I love it draped around your neck, very classy!
    well done.

  10. Theresa says:

    Gorgeous! Great job and I love the layered look as well. Did I say great job? I have to try some silk. Must resist.

  11. weezalana says:

    Lovely! You did a beautiful job!

  12. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- It’s a nice size- you can wear it as a scarf- it drapes beautifully.

    Now, the beads- OMG you must get some beads!!!

  13. Linda says:

    The shawl is beautiful. Its on my (long) list of things to knit, and the nupps sound appealing to me, in a painful sort of way you know? Congrats!

  14. Aim says:

    That is really beautiful! I bet the drape is lovely, being that it is silk…I’m just trying my own hand at lace, and loving it; maybe silk should be my next fiber for a shawl! Thanks for sharing your pics!!!

  15. lilypily says:

    Gorgeous! The napps really are amazing. I’m glad you’ve decided to keep it. It’s so pretty.

  16. donna lee says:

    Jeanne, that came out so beautifully. The silk looks like it was designed for that pattern.

  17. lobstah says:

    Beautiful, Jeanne! I really need to make one of these, someday.

  18. bonitapita says:

    Really beautiful. I’m hoping mine will come out on the smallish side…I’m not much of a shawl wearer and I wanted something that would be a really unique scarf. I’m sure you will find a way to wear it that you like or someone to gift it to. Nice job!

  19. rhoda says:

    it is absolutely breathtaking!!!

  20. hakucho says:

    Your swallowtail shawl is gorgeous!!! The points…I mean nupps ….are perfect! Great job!!

  21. tiennie says:

    It’s gorgeous! Love that you have C modeling it.

  22. The shawl is so beautiful. Glad you’re keeping it! I just received the magazine with the pattern in a swap, and it looks like it has to go in the queue.

    PS: I love your blue knitting header picture.

  23. Jennygirl says:

    Another beautiful FO, as always 🙂

Leave a Reply

