Vacation again…with yarn

492

Yesterday, Chris and I went on a mini yarn crawl (ok, maybe not so mini!) to Down Cellar.  I really wasn’t shopping for yarn but I did have in the back of my mind that I’d like to find some fingering weight to make Shetland Triangle.  This yarn store recently moved into bigger space, so it was like going there for the first time.  I love this store – gorgeous yarn and very friendly people!  I didn’t find the yarn for the shawl, but did pick up some sock yarn (which never counts).  The yarn above is sock yarn from Cascade – it is new, and it is gorgeous.  It is superwash, but so soft and wooly.  I bought this colorway for Larry and can’t wait to start it.  I did see some Malibrigo Silky Merino in gorgeous reds, but I resisted the urge since it wasn’t what I was looking for (it would have made a great Forest Canopy though)

Chris was looking for yarn to make Phiaro, and since she didn’t see anything at Down Cellar, and I didn’t find any fingering, we decided to keep on going to Angelfire Studios.  This is another really good yarn store, and she has the most beautiful yarns.  I was drawn to the Manos Silk Blend (similar to the Malibrigo and what I made my Forest Canopy with) but again, was good and put it back.

I couldn’t resist this, though – I must be going through an orange phase….this is Dream in Color Smooshy – I made Larry a pair of socks with this and loved the yarn so I thought it was my turn.

494

I also bought this – The Great Adirondack Yarn Company Sireno – this colorway is hard to capture but it is gorgeous and so silky – and definitely out of my normal color pick.  I just had to buy it  – I thought it was perfect for the Shetland Triangle and it also has great yardage for the price!

490

It was a good thing I bought it because after I got home, I spent a little time on Swallowtail, and now I have this….

Yes, done!  I’m going to block it today..

495

I didn’t block it last night because we went out to dinner – and because I was already busy….

499

I know – so much for finishing up anything in my basket, or knitting the other shawls on my list.  I just had to use this yarn – and I love it. I’m on the fourth repeat (of 10!) so I think this will be a fast project.    Today we are just going to hang out around the house and pool, so I think I will get a lot of knitting time in. 

OK, off to soak Swallowtail!  Have a great rest of the week!

20 Responses to Vacation again…with yarn

  1. Lorraine says:

    I would have bought the Smooshy- the color is amazing.

    The Shetland Triangle will be gorgeous- and a fun thing to knit- So many shawls, so little time….

  2. Lisa says:

    Its all so gorgeous – I just want to pet the Sireno!

  3. It’s all so pretty, the Smooshy jumps off the screen.

  4. weezalana says:

    Oooo! Pretty Smooshy! I didn’t know Cascade had a sock yarn. Sadly, 220 is too scratchy for my sensitive skin. I wonder if the sock will be better?

  5. Beth says:

    Wow, you are a knitting machine! Lovely yarn and start on the triangle, and can’t wait to see the swallowtail it it’s blocked glory 🙂

  6. Kim says:

    Love your new yarn and that shawl is going to be incredible – gorgeous yarn choice. Can’t wait for the photos!

  7. Sourire11 says:

    Yarn crawls are so fun… and I totally didn’t know that cascade made sock yarn! hmmm….

  8. Rachel says:

    Lovely yarns 🙂 I am waiting patiently to see the blocked shawl.

  9. Carin says:

    I love them all! It’s nice to know that sock yarn doesn’t count when making yarn acquisitions.
    Happy, happy vacation!

  10. lucette says:

    The green skein reminds me of a forest with beautiful undertones. what fun.

  11. Opal says:

    What a successful shopping trip! I adore the yarn you picked for the Shetland Triangle. The sheen on it is amazing.

    Can’t wait to see the Swallowtail!

  12. Stephanie says:

    That’s Cascade sock yarn? Huh, I was under the impression they were only making solid colors. I love it that there’s also variegated! I also love the orange Smooshy. Oh orange. I’m starting to get back into that color, like catching up with an old friend.

  13. tiennie says:

    Can’t wait to see those finished and blocked. You do good work!

  14. Jennifer says:

    Oooo, I love Smooshy! What a vibrant colorway too.

  15. Jen says:

    Gosh, what beautiful yarn, all of it, and what quick work on beginning that shawl!

  16. Kim says:

    Love all your new yarns. I’ve got ot make a road trip to check out those yarn stores. Especially Angelfire so I can fondle the Dream in Color yarn. None of the LYSs near me carry it.

  17. Linda says:

    Great stash enhancements! The cascade yarn is gorgeous, I’m going to have to check that one out myself. I also have some dream in color that I haven’t used yet, but its very nice. My stash is so huge, I might never get around to knitting with it!

  18. rhoda says:

    love the dream in color you picked up!! I go through orange phases too. 🙂

  19. hakucho says:

    Love your yarn…sounds like a great vacation to me 🙂

  20. Jennygirl says:

    Yea for stash enhancing!

Leave a Reply

