Bamboo!

I think one of the nicest, and most dangerous things, about being around other knitters is being able to see their projects.  At the last knitting group, Jacqui had on the most amazing scarf.  It was just gorgeous and I started obsessing about it immediately.  When I came home, I went online and started shopping – first I bought the pattern and then I started looking for yarn (yes, yes, maybe I should have looked in my stash but…).  Jacqui made hers with bamboo yarn, and the pattern called for yarn made of soy.  I loved the drape and sheen of Jacqui’s so I started looking for bamboo yarn.

Theresa and Jacqui both had mentioned that they have bought yarn from people on Ravelry – so I looked and found some! (This is very dangerous and I’ve been fighting the urge ever since to look to see what people are destashing)  I bought SWTC Bamboo and got a great deal.  The yarn and pattern came a few days later, and I know that I have a lot of projects, but I had to cast on.  I just had to.

474

I am loving this yarn.  It is so soft and squishy and the sheen…sigh…just gorgeous.  And I’m really happy with the colors – very outside my normal palette, but I think it is perfect for the summer.  The pattern is the perfect mindless “i’m tired” or “i’m watching a movie” or “sure, I’ll have a martini” project – just knitting, no thinking.  I actually find it hard to put it down!

473

Isn’t it great how it stripes?  The pattern is so cool and I can’t wait to start dropping the stitches. 

I finished the budding lace chart on Swallowtail, and now I’m on the Lily of the Valley border – this is the section with the nupps.  I read all about it, and didn’t get why these were such a big deal.  Very easy to do – until I started purling back.  The p5tog – pure evil.  There was much cursing and even thoughts of just ripping out the whole thing and making something else.  But I decided to go back online and I came across a great tip (other than the usual “knit them VERY loosely!”)….someone on Ravelry said that she knit them from the cable on her Knit Picks needles – I tried that and it works.  It still is a bitch, but it works.  Evil things.    I finished one row of them and went back to the soothing mindlessness of the Phairo scarf…I do want to finish the shawl this week, so I’m going to have to get over my nupp issues and just get through it.

We had a really nice Fourth yesterday – we went golfing and I had a great game (always nice!).  Last night I made ribs ( great recipe – totally recommend it) and we watched movies.  Very low key and relaxing and just the perfect way to kick off vacation.    We are still trying to plan what we are going to do this week, but I do want a some downtime to relax, spin and knit the dreaded nupps.

Have a great weekend!

17 Responses to Bamboo!

  1. That is a gorgeous scarf (one more thing for the queue), the subtle striping on your yarn is going to work so well. Good luck with the rest of the nupps.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Very pretty scarf! Love the color variations. Have a great weekend yourself!

  3. hakucho says:

    Wow, that’s a wonderful scarf pattern… I can see why you were so anxious to get started on it 🙂

    Have a nice vacation week 🙂

  4. Wanda says:

    You are evil! I didn’t need to see that pattern. Because I have three skeins of SWTC Bamboo that I couldn’t figure out what to use it for. The original purpose was for a tank that I decided I didn’t want to make any longer, but the yarn has been lingering in my stash ever since. I might even have that magazine. I’m so going to make it. Thanks!

  5. raz11 says:

    Beautiful yarn and scarf, I especially like your friend’s version! Goof luck with those nupps.

  6. I’ve just recently been seeing and coveting that scarf pattern myself. Yours might just put me over the edge …

    And, YUM, sounds like a great Rib Recipe .. Thanks!

  7. Opal says:

    Knitting groups are huge enablers. This can be a good thing or a bad thing depending on the state of your wallet. 😀

    That bamboo yarn looks divine! I’ve seen some in person and it really is deliciously soft.

  8. I really like your knitting category of “sure I’ll have a martini” projects.
    Also, really like that yarn, it’ll be beautiful.

  9. lilypily says:

    I love knitting with bamboo yarn too. I am going to have to rip the jumper I made with it though as it is now way too big (good thing I guess) and I really want to wear it, so will reknit it in a smaller size I think. The only thing I did notice was that the finished jumper (sweater) was really really heavy in the bamboo. But…it had wonderful drape. Yeah…worth it. :o)

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Nupp is a four-letter word.

  11. Rhonda says:

    Thanks for the recipe tip. I used the Addi lace needles for the nupps and found they were great for p5tog.

  12. Jennygirl says:

    When patterns and yarn sing their siren songs, you have to just follow along. It’s what makes you happy. Nice choice of yarn.

  13. Theresa says:

    I can’t wait to see the scarf. Love the color you picked out. I have yet to try bamboo, but must try it now. Scarf is going in the queue. I do love it so.

  14. weezalana says:

    Ooo! Scarf, pretty! Bamboo, pretty! Yellow, pretty!

    Gah! P5tog? 5?!? I abandoned a sock pattern over a P3tog, I can’t even imagine trying a 5. There’d be a whoooole lotta cursing involved.

  15. chris says:

    Totally enabling. Totally. You are very bad. Very, very bad. And the knitting is very nice. And the Nupps – this could be what happens to knitters who enable so much.

  16. tiennie says:

    Glad you had a good 4th! That yarn is gorgeous!

  17. Oiyi says:

    The bamboo yarn is such a lovely color.

Leave a Reply

