Almost there….

Last weekend, we finally got around to fixing the bookcase issue in our house.  We had a bookcase full of books in the office – and it was overflowing – books were piled on top in huge piles, the back of it had come apart and books were falling out in the back….terrible.  So we bought new bookcases, fixed the ones we had and now we have a bookcase in the office that isn’t life threatening.  Always feels good when things look nice, doesn’t it?  The best part was that I got a new bookcase all to myself…for my knitting book library.

466

I know – look at those empty shelves!  I’ll have to start collecting books again….I will say that it was so nice to have all of them in one place, and I was sort of surprised when I was going through them – I had forgotten a lot of them, and spent some time going looking at all the things I want to make.  I also found duplicates.  Sigh.  The whole bottom shelf is magazines – IK on the right, everything else on the left.  Someday I will go through and pull out just the patterns I want to make, but for now, I keep them all.  At the top are two bins of leftover yarn from socks and shawls.  Not sure why I keep them, but you never know!  (Actually, I’m using two of the balls to make booties for a friend’s baby).  Anyway, I’m really happy with my bookcase, and I just love looking at it.

So…24 hours from now, I will be on vacation for a week.  I can’t tell you how slow this week has been going, but I’m finally just about there.  And I’m working from home tomorrow, so it is a great way to ease into vacation.  We aren’t going anywhere, but are trying to plan some fun things to do.  Of course knitting will be part of it, and spinning…

As you know, I have a knitting related tattoo – and I’ve been thinking that maybe I should get another one.  How cute is this one?  But I already have a sheep (what about this one?)…but then again, I think that TWO knitting tattoos might mean an unhealthy obsession (not that I’m obsessed with knitting or anything, right?)  At least this time, I’m going to take my time and really think about it (I really want to get a foot tattoo but all the warnings are sort of scaring me). 

I’ve finished the first two charts on Swallowtail, and now I’m at the charts with nupps – I’ll start those tomorrow.  I love how it looks in the silk and think it is going to be amazing.

OK, off to knit – have a great Thursday (and have a great Fourth of July if you are in the US!)

17 Responses to Almost there….

  1. raz11 says:

    Have a great 4th of July weekend and vacation!
    Don’t knit too much,,, heheheeeee

  2. Lisa says:

    Enjoy your weekend and a very happy Independence Day! I have fond memories of seeing the Beach Boys in Washington DC when I lived there.

    Your bookshelf looks awesome – I just love the strategically placed baskets of wool. They are begging to be cast on though! I love the fact that, having made all that space, you figure now you need to buy more books. How knitterly of you!

    Lisa

    P.S. I like the second tat more

  3. Linda says:

    Great looking bookcase – its so organized! And I see a cute sheep on it.

    Speaking of sheep – I’m so jealous of you and your tattoo. I’ve been wanting one for about 20 years and I’m too afraid. Now I’m too old I think. Yours is really nice…I think you should definitely get another one, especially one that is knitting related.

    Its a lot healthier obsession than some other things I can think of!

  4. bonitapita says:

    The bookshelf looks great! I’m jealous. We keep saying we are going to remodel soon which will involve built in shelves so I hate to spend the money on free standing ones…but WHEN!?!

    You totally need to buy more books!

  5. heideho says:

    Happy 4th of July. Thank you for coming to visit my blog. The bookshelves look very inviting for a fiber junkie (and who in their right mind isn’t one).

  6. Carin says:

    It’s great to have a book case dedicated for knitting. Yours looks very organized and neat, I should try that sometime.
    How cool to have a knitting tattoo! I think you should get one that has the needles with flames, since you are a fast knitter.
    Have a good vacation!

  7. donna lee says:

    I love it when the book shelves get cleaned up and look all neat. It doesn’t last in my house because we really need some more. The ones we have are overflowing.

  8. weezalana says:

    Hey, I didn’t know you had a tattoo! I’ve been pondering a second one myself for some time now. That site offers some great inspiration!

    Happy 4th and vaca!

  9. hakucho says:

    Looking at your bookcase I am so jealous of you having a book case all to yourself for your knitting books and yarn. Maybe someday? …I can hope right?

    Have a fabulous vacation…we are leaving Sunday for ours….

  10. Pixie says:

    WoOOOhoooOOO! on the bookshelf. I need to do the same thing here at our house.

    As for the knitting tattoo, I say go for it. And I’m not just saying that because my husband is a tattoo artist. (at Bonaroo in Aurora — and he gives deals to people who tell him that they knit and were referred by his wife …LOL)

  11. tiennie says:

    I think you need more knitting books and tattoos. 🙂

    Have a great 4th!

  12. nvrenough says:

    Well I love the bookshelves dedicated just to knitting. I have my own closet, hee hee. I had no idea you had a tattoo, and say you need more. I have been thinking about getting a knitting/spinning related one for awhile now, but haven’t made up my mind on a design. I also am thinking of getting one on my foot. We can go together. lol.

  13. Wanda says:

    Happy 4th to you and enjoy your vacay!

    I need to overhaul our bookcases as well.

  14. Ren says:

    yay! don’t you just love that just-cleaned feeling? hope you have a great vacation!

  15. Opal says:

    I never knew you had a tat! I’m so jealous. It’s wicked cute too.

    I’m also jealous of your bookcases. I have to figure out where to clean up to put extra bookcases. My house is a Mess.

  16. Jennygirl says:

    Love the book case. Organizing can be gratifying and scary at the same time. I have all this stuff? Ahh!
    You are a brave soul in my book for having just one tatoo. I could never do it. The pain would kill me. I would go for a small ball of yarn with the two needles. You already have a sheep, so go for something different.

  17. rhoda says:

    teehee..two knitting tattoos just might scream obsession! I’m with jennygirl though, you’re brave just for getting ONE tattoo!!

Leave a Reply

